Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,054 Members 40,339 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] how to disable the search button

Tip us?
 
mrnapolean1
Old
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 45
Join Date: Feb 2012
Question [Q] how to disable the search button

My search button at the bottom (the one right beside the back button has a tendency to press itself.
I want to disable it where when its pressed, it does nothing.

I am running a stock ATT Gingerbread ROM with root and ATT stuff removed. 2.3.5
This blue text is my signature for now until a replacement can be found.......
 
BWolf56
Old
(Last edited by BWolf56; 23rd June 2014 at 09:48 AM.)
#2  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1674
Posts: 3,781
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Outaouais

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrnapolean1 View Post
My search button at the bottom (the one right beside the back button has a tendency to press itself.
I want to disable it where when its pressed, it does nothing.

I am running a stock ATT Gingerbread ROM with root and ATT stuff removed. 2.3.5
Chances are that it's due to humidity, you could simple put it in a bag of rice for 24 to 48 hours and should be fine.

Otherwise you'll need to use something like root explorer to go edit some system file. You can google it to get the exact one.
Sent by falcon messenger while riding a laser equipped T-rex on a rocket
>>Get Dropbox right here<<
>>Rogers LTE tethering mod<<
Galaxy S III I747m
ROM: AOKP 4.4.4
Kernel: KT747
Modem: ND3
Launcher: Nova

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelendel
Jig ~ You should never need one but.. Use the condom theory.
 
mrnapolean1
Old
#3  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 45
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWolf56 View Post
Chances are that it's due to humidity, you could simple put it in a bag of rice for 24 to 48 hours and should be fine.

Otherwise you'll need to use something like root explorer to go edit some system file. You can google it to get the exact one.
How do I prevent the humidmity from getting inside my phone? It even has an otterbox commuter case on it.
This blue text is my signature for now until a replacement can be found.......
 
BWolf56
Old
#4  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1674
Posts: 3,781
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Outaouais

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrnapolean1 View Post
How do I prevent the humidmity from getting inside my phone? It even has an otterbox commuter case on it.
That's an every day thing.. like don't bring it in the bathroom when you shower.
Sent by falcon messenger while riding a laser equipped T-rex on a rocket
>>Get Dropbox right here<<
>>Rogers LTE tethering mod<<
Galaxy S III I747m
ROM: AOKP 4.4.4
Kernel: KT747
Modem: ND3
Launcher: Nova

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelendel
Jig ~ You should never need one but.. Use the condom theory.
 
Sippay
Old
#5  
Sippay's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 39
Join Date: Aug 2013

CyanogenMod allows you yo change the functions of the buttons. You can set the buttons to have no action. Cyanogenmod. Much better option than editing system files.

Sent from my SGH-I897 using Tapatalk
 
mrnapolean1
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 45
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by BWolf56 View Post
That's an every day thing.. like don't bring it in the bathroom when you shower.
I don't. I live in Texas and its naturally humid here.
This blue text is my signature for now until a replacement can be found.......
 
BWolf56
Old
#7  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1674
Posts: 3,781
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Outaouais

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrnapolean1 View Post
I don't. I live in Texas and its naturally humid here.
There isn't much more you can do, the cappy is very vulnerable to humidity.
Sent by falcon messenger while riding a laser equipped T-rex on a rocket
>>Get Dropbox right here<<
>>Rogers LTE tethering mod<<
Galaxy S III I747m
ROM: AOKP 4.4.4
Kernel: KT747
Modem: ND3
Launcher: Nova

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zelendel
Jig ~ You should never need one but.. Use the condom theory.
 
dali007
Old
#8  
dali007's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 13
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Chattanooga
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sippay View Post

CyanogenMod allows you yo change the functions of the buttons. You can set the buttons to have no action. Cyanogenmod. Much better option than editing system files.

Sent from my SGH-I897 using Tapatalk
+1 to this. Install Cyanogenmod and see what your humble Cappy is really capable of.
 
KruciFFF
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 9
Posts: 17
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Karnataka
You've two more solutions added to above ones;

1. Follow the link below. "Button Remapper", you can assign/unassign actions to your hardware buttons.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=850464

2. If you dont want to choose custom roms thenthere is an app in the Playstore called Captivate Search Button Fixer (link provided below) might fix your issue.

https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...ivateSearchFix


Hope it helps! Cheers!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...