Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,633 Members 38,125 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Root with TowelRoot

Tip us?
 
Chriss123456789
Old
#1  
Chriss123456789's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 230
Join Date: Jul 2012
Default Root with TowelRoot

Can I use towelroot to root my device on firmware 4.4.2 KitKat?

I don't know if it can be possible but if it is functional on 4.2.2 then must be 4.4.2 functional with towelroot, too?
 
androidhacker007
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 61
Join Date: Mar 2014
Dude it is just easier to just use the rooting toolkit farther down in the forms or use odin

Sent from my SM-T310 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
veritasaequita
Old
#3  
veritasaequita's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 111
Posts: 640
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: new orleans
Quote:
Originally Posted by androidhacker007 View Post
Dude it is just easier to just use the rooting toolkit farther down in the forms or use odin

Sent from my SM-T310 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
I can't even believe I'm participating in this rediculous quote reply in a thread that is already in the wrong forum. Im not saying the toolkit is hard but are you just plain mental? have you seen how easy it is to root with towelroot? Ive yet to see an easier root method.
Want to find out in less than 10 seconds why Chuck Norris is the toughest man alive?
 
Chriss123456789
Old
#4  
Chriss123456789's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 230
Join Date: Jul 2012
If I root with the toolkit, do the binary counter or something else that count, doesn't count?
 
androidhacker007
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 61
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by veritasaequita View Post
I can't even believe I'm participating in this rediculous quote reply in a thread that is already in the wrong forum. Im not saying the toolkit is hard but are you just plain mental? have you seen how easy it is to root with towelroot? Ive yet to see an easier root method.
No way, Odin is easier, u put ur device into download mode then hook it up to the computer and select the right recovery file and click start. What could be easier?


Sent from my SM-T310 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

---------- Post added at 08:30 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:50 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chriss123456789 View Post
If I root with the toolkit, do the binary counter or something else that count, doesn't count?
ok the only reason you would ask that is because of keeping a warranty. so what I do is if you want to root/custom rom/binary then use twrp and back up all your custom mods and tweaks and all other apps (before using odin FLASH STACK ROM WILL WIPE ALL DATA(should include binary))then use odin and flash the stock rom, for me that worked. now i dont know a device u have so it might be different. odin might have an option to reset flash counter.
 
GAPO
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 216
Posts: 487
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chriss123456789 View Post
Can I use towelroot to root my device on firmware 4.4.2 KitKat?

I don't know if it can be possible but if it is functional on 4.2.2 then must be 4.4.2 functional with towelroot, too?
I rooted my sm-t217s on 4.4.2 just today, and it worked.
 
androidhacker007
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 61
Join Date: Mar 2014
Hey I just watched a vid on towelroot its much easier!

Sent from my SM-T310 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
GAPO
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 216
Posts: 487
Join Date: Aug 2012
Yeah Towelroot was a snap. I had a few hiccups afterwards because knox wasn't disabled. So I opened supersu, and it asked if I wanted to disable it. Once I did, everything was fine.

Sent from my SM-N900P using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
Chriss123456789
Old
#9  
Chriss123456789's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 34
Posts: 230
Join Date: Jul 2012
The Tab 3 Firmware doesn't include Knox, does it?
I have tried to root a Tab 3 8.0 WiFi SM-T310 and I can't root it with towelroot. It reboots every time when I click on "make it ra1n".
So why can't towelroot root it?
 
GAPO
Old
#10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 216
Posts: 487
Join Date: Aug 2012
I didn't see a Knox icon, but supersu detected and disabled it, and I kept getting the shield icon in my notifications panel.

Root is a helluva drug.....

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Add Timestamps to Xposed Installer Logs with… Xposed!

If talking about the most interesting projects in the last few years, we must … more

Secrecy Goes Open Source, Assures File Encryption

As some of you may remember, a while back we spoke about Secrecy, an effective file … more

[APK] Google News and Weather Gets Material Design Makeover, Minor Maps Updates

Although Google has somewhat gotten out of the habit of their … more

Software Build Automation with Jenkins – XDA Developer TV

Many members of the XDA community come to learn and begin in the exciting … more