Nvidia and Robotics w/ Barrett Williams – XDA:DevCon 2014

Robotics continues to dominate our videos from this years XDA:DevCon 2014 in … more

Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Top 5 Apps for 2014 + Top Xposed Mod of 2014 – XDA TV

Its that time of year where you look back and remember the things that happened … more

NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet Gets Android 5.0.1, OTA Available

The NVIDIA SHIELD Tablet is the latest Android-powered device released by famed GPU … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] boot loop does not stop help!!

OP VansHighTops

27th May 2014, 07:32 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Flag Angels Camp
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
I have no idea what happenned but I am in a "boot loop" and have pulled battery and every other soulution i have seen does not work. I cannot get into anything. I cannot plug in and run ODIN or get to download or recovery screen.... Am I toast??? will Sprint do anything if I walk in as a dummy?? I am a dummy !!

JF
Last edited by VansHighTops; 27th May 2014 at 07:40 PM. Reason: added download
27th May 2014, 07:47 PM   |  #2  
topherk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 466
 
743 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by VansHighTops

I have no idea what happenned but I am in a "boot loop" and have pulled battery and every other soulution i have seen does not work. I cannot get into anything. I cannot plug in and run ODIN or get to download or recovery screen.... Am I toast??? will Sprint do anything if I walk in as a dummy?? I am a dummy !!

JF

That doesn't sound good.

What were you trying to do when this happened?

What stage does your phone get to when trying to boot up (if you can use a camera to take a picture of it, that'd help out a lot)?

What does the phone say when you try booting into Download Mode or Recovery?
27th May 2014, 07:59 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Flag Angels Camp
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
More
Unhappy Reply
Quote:
Originally Posted by topherk

That doesn't sound good.

What were you trying to do when this happened?

What stage does your phone get to when trying to boot up (if you can use a camera to take a picture of it, that'd help out a lot)?

What does the phone say when you try booting into Download Mode or Recovery?

I cannot boot it gets the three lines of text Blue Red and Yellow

RECOVERY BOOTING
RECOVERY IS NOT SEANDROID ENFORCING
SET WARRANTY BIT : RECOVERY

Then it reboots again and again and again.... pulled battery and every other trick listed on the internet !!!
27th May 2014, 08:10 PM   |  #4  
topherk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 466
 
743 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by VansHighTops

I cannot boot it gets the three lines of text Blue Red and Yellow

RECOVERY BOOTING
RECOVERY IS NOT SEANDROID ENFORCING
SET WARRANTY BIT : RECOVERY

Then it reboots again and again and again.... pulled battery and every other trick listed on the internet !!!

Well, none of those three items are inherently bad.. The "recovery is not seandroid enforcing" is common when using a custom recovery (like twrp). The "set warranty bit : recovery" is, unless I'm mistaken, just telling Knox that your phone has a "not stock" recovery (i.e. setting Knox to 0x1). That is normal when running a custom recovery.

When it is rebooting, can you hold down the power button to turn off the phone completely? Or does it not register the power button long enough to actually do anything?

When you take the battery out and put it back in, does the phone try to start up right away or do you have to press the power button in order to start it up?

Is that literally the only text you're seeing? I get a full debug screen before that information telling me how I restarted the phone (i.e. hard reset vs. soft reset) and if the reset was caused by an error... I caught a screen shot of it down below (sorry for the picture quality, the Asus TF101 isn't well-known for it's camera quality).



Edit: Added less-potato-quality screenshot (still not great, though).

Last edited by topherk; 27th May 2014 at 08:17 PM.
28th May 2014, 01:34 AM   |  #5  
johntheman_692003's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag boondocks
Thanks Meter: 65
 
411 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
looks like you have the engineering bootloader correct? I would take out your usb plug then take the battery. wait a min or to.put it back in.hold volume down,home button,and power untill the phone vibrates then release the power button while still pressing the volume and home key.
30th May 2014, 02:32 AM   |  #6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by johntheman_692003

looks like you have the engineering bootloader correct? I would take out your usb plug then take the battery. wait a min or to.put it back in.hold volume down,home button,and power untill the phone vibrates then release the power button while still pressing the volume and home key.

This what I had to then use Odin flash your recovery it worked for me
31st May 2014, 04:59 PM   |  #7  
shaggsdclown's Avatar
Member
Flag toledo
Thanks Meter: 16
 
50 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2012
More
This happened to me. It it wouldn't boot up into recovery. The blue recovery booting words would come up and all that other stuff but then would quickly go to black screen and boot loop again so I couldn't get into recovery to do a restore or reset and couldn't even just power on the phone. The way I fixed it was 1 pulled battery 2 with battery out held down volume up, home and power button 3 while keeping these held down with one hand inserted battery with other hand. It was tricky but it let me go into down load mode where I re flashed my recovery and fixed the problem. Give it a try and I hope everything works out for you.

Sent from my SM-N900P using xda premium
The Following User Says Thank You to shaggsdclown For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st May 2014, 09:23 PM   |  #8  
Nickitt's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Kansas City
Thanks Meter: 399
 
695 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Did ya fix it yet? @VansHighTops Just out of curiosity.
28th June 2014, 04:40 AM   |  #9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Hello, this is my first time posting here. If I should be posting somewhere else, please let me know. I'm having the same exact problem. I have KitKatKiller ROM installed. I opened up ROM manager and it said that my CWM recovery had an update so I updated it (no auto-reboot, I don't know if there should have been one) and then later on I rebooted because I updated xposed framework. Ever since then it has been just boot looping saying its going into recovery and that's it. I've tried all the above suggestions and nothing. Any more ideas?

EDIT: It just randomly started working. Sorry for crying wolf. (Note: It looped for about 30 minutes) Thank you all!
Last edited by thatguy450; 28th June 2014 at 05:00 AM.
29th June 2014, 06:29 PM   |  #10  
Skunk Ape1's Avatar
Recognized Contributor / Recognized Themer
Flag Killeen
Thanks Meter: 5,000
 
3,442 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by thatguy450

Hello, this is my first time posting here. If I should be posting somewhere else, please let me know. I'm having the same exact problem. I have KitKatKiller ROM installed. I opened up ROM manager and it said that my CWM recovery had an update so I updated it (no auto-reboot, I don't know if there should have been one) and then later on I rebooted because I updated xposed framework. Ever since then it has been just boot looping saying its going into recovery and that's it. I've tried all the above suggestions and nothing. Any more ideas?

EDIT: It just randomly started working. Sorry for crying wolf. (Note: It looped for about 30 minutes) Thank you all!

Never use Rom manager.

Sent from my SM-N900P using Xparent Green Tapatalk 2

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes