Post Reply

[Q] Why can't I recompile modified apk?

27th June 2014, 05:53 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
I am trying to add 1% battery mod to my ROM. I decompiled my SystemUI.apk perfectly with the latest version of apktool. I modified the files I needed then I went to recompile using
Code:
apktool b -f -d SystemUI.apk SystemUI-new.apk
Here's (poor) screenshots of my errors:




I tried manually installing apktool in /usr/local/bin and I also tried Apk-Multi-Tool version 2.0. I'm running the latest version of Mint (17 I believe) and everything is up to date, including Java JRE. I cannot find any related help on Google so any help that u can give is greatly appreciated. Thx
27th June 2014, 07:18 AM   |  #2  
siMp0lMaN's Avatar
Senior Member
Baguio City
Thanks Meter: 890
 
294 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick_73

I am trying to add 1% battery mod to my ROM. I decompiled my SystemUI.apk perfectly with the latest version of apktool. I modified the files I needed then I went to recompile using

Code:
apktool b -f -d SystemUI.apk SystemUI-new.apk
Here's (poor) screenshots of my errors:




I tried manually installing apktool in /usr/local/bin and I also tried Apk-Multi-Tool version 2.0. I'm running the latest version of Mint (17 I believe) and everything is up to date, including Java JRE. I cannot find any related help on Google so any help that u can give is greatly appreciated. Thx

your error says your lacking of resourses., you need to install also your framework_res.apk, then try to decompile/recompile.,

edit: you can use this awesome tool to decimpile/compile apk or even deodexing., Tickle My Android (TMA) by @Ticklefish here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1633333
Last edited by siMp0lMaN; 27th June 2014 at 03:54 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to siMp0lMaN For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th June 2014, 12:29 PM   |  #3  
masanamuthu's Avatar
Member
pollachi
Thanks Meter: 9
 
64 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Use apkmultitool for a better experience. In this u dnt gve any command lines. There is a numbers for decompile & recompile . Hit >>>>>>> THANKS

Sent from my GT-S6102 using XDA Free mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to masanamuthu For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th June 2014, 04:10 PM   |  #4  
Ticklefish's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 3,500
 
3,949 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by airupthere_23

your error says your lacking of resourses., you need to install also your framework_res.apk, then try to decompile/recompile.,

edit: you can use this awesome tool to decimpile/compile apk or even deodexing., Tickle My Android (TMA) by @Ticklefish here:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1633333

Say my name and I appear...

It's hard to know quite what the problem is here as the screenshots are missing most of the error message. Including the first error, which is often the key to solving the problem.

By the looks of things though, I would say that you haven't added your png files. These error messages are all saying that you have a reference to image files in your xml..but no actual image files.

(Oh, and TMA isn't available on Linux...yet. But if the OP has access to a Windows PC, I can definitely suggest it!)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Ticklefish For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th June 2014, 04:58 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ticklefish

Say my name and I appear...

It's hard to know quite what the problem is here as the screenshots are missing most of the error message. Including the first error, which is often the key to solving the problem.

By the looks of things though, I would say that you haven't added your png files. These error messages are all saying that you have a reference to image files in your xml..but no actual image files.

(Oh, and TMA isn't available on Linux...yet. But if the OP has access to a Windows PC, I can definitely suggest it!)

Ha thx so much I think that's it I forgot to put my pngs on the system ui.
28th June 2014, 05:50 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Fixed one issue, now I got these:



I didn't even modify the public.xml file...
28th June 2014, 05:57 PM   |  #7  
Ticklefish's Avatar
Recognized Themer
Flag UK
Thanks Meter: 3,500
 
3,949 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nick_73

Fixed one issue, now I got these:

I didn't even modify the public.xml file...

You should never modify the public.xml file...

I'll be honest, it's really hard to tell what's going just from screenshots of part of the error. Can you provide the entire error message please? And it would help if you're able to provide the screen output from when you decompiled as well.

What type of phone/rom are you using?
30th June 2014, 01:19 AM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
106 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ticklefish

You should never modify the public.xml file...

I'll be honest, it's really hard to tell what's going just from screenshots of part of the error. Can you provide the entire error message please? And it would help if you're able to provide the screen output from when you decompiled as well.

What type of phone/rom are you using?

I didn't mod it...

When I get back on my computer I'll copy the whole thing

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Questions and Answers by ThreadRank