Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,914 Members 45,317 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

need help.. do i need sprint activation

Tip us?
 
YemenHero
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 28
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sana'a
Default need help.. do i need sprint activation

I recently bought sprint gs5 with bad ESN. hence I dont live in usa, o thought this shouldnt be a problem.

Ok I received the phone, I managed to activate it with our locale cdma network " no sim card used "

But I noticed some features not available such as usb tethering, hotspot wifi calling, raoming section.

I updated to NE5 but problem exists.
I finallu rooted and installed MOAR rom, usb tethering still not available. However wifi calling was there but frozen! After defrozen it, when I press on it takes me to self test mode!!

Hotspot didnt work either, I get msg saying " insert sim card"

Any great developer plz help me with those issues, also are they related to sprint activation?? Any solution to bypass.

Thanx alot in advance.

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-06-29-22-39-21.png
Views:	117
Size:	103.0 KB
ID:	2824720  
 
bryanu
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 147
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by YemenHero View Post
I recently bought sprint gs5 with bad ESN. hence I dont live in usa, o thought this shouldnt be a problem.

Ok I received the phone, I managed to activate it with our locale cdma network " no sim card used "

But I noticed some features not available such as usb tethering, hotspot wifi calling, raoming section.

I updated to NE5 but problem exists.
I finallu rooted and installed MOAR rom, usb tethering still not available. However wifi calling was there but frozen! After defrozen it, when I press on it takes me to self test mode!!

Hotspot didnt work either, I get msg saying " insert sim card"

Any great developer plz help me with those issues, also are they related to sprint activation?? Any solution to bypass.

Thanx alot in advance.

This is an LTE phone so it will want a sim for some data stuff.

That said, because it's running sprint software and not on a sprint network many things simply won't work. You would need to flash it with different software probably or change various advanced settings.

The WiFi calling takes you to self-service because for Sprint it actually adds a feature to the users account and uses a third party provider sprint uses for the WiFi calling feature. This won't work with another provider. You would need that providers stuff.

Simply put don't expect a phone from one provider on another to work 100% or perfect. You would have been better to get an international version or one with generic software.

Beyond that can't help you any, maybe others can.
The Following User Says Thank You to bryanu For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
YemenHero
Old
(Last edited by YemenHero; 30th June 2014 at 07:55 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 28
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sana'a
Quote:
Originally Posted by bryanu View Post
This is an LTE phone so it will want a sim for some data stuff.

That said, because it's running sprint software and not on a sprint network many things simply won't work. You would need to flash it with different software probably or change various advanced settings.

The WiFi calling takes you to self-service because for Sprint it actually adds a feature to the users account and uses a third party provider sprint uses for the WiFi calling feature. This won't work with another provider. You would need that providers stuff.

Simply put don't expect a phone from one provider on another to work 100% or perfect. You would have been better to get an international version or one with generic software.

Beyond that can't help you any, maybe others can.
Thanx alot for your kind replay.. I would appreciate if you advise for a developer to contact regarding sprint activation and to get usb tethering back.
Also can somebody confirm whether flashing sprint PRL then reflash stock rom will help to overcome.
 
DistrictDigital
Old
#4  
DistrictDigital's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 319
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by YemenHero View Post
Thanx alot for your kind replay.. I would appreciate if you advise for a developer to contact regarding sprint activation and to get usb tethering back.
Also can somebody confirm whether flashing sprint PRL then reflash stock rom will help to overcome.
He just said these things are tied into the phone. You will have these issues until pure AOSP/AOKP ROMs come out. Should have purchased an international version of the phone instead of purchasing a stolen phone.
~Here in this world I'm awaked with mistakes but it's love that keeps fueling me, fueling me.
Current Phone : Sprint Samsung Galaxy S5 @ Sprint
ROM : MOAR v1.0
Recovery : Philz Touch
Past Phones : Sprint Samsung Galaxy S4 Mini @ Sprint
T-Mobile myTouch 4G / HTC Glacier @ T-Mobile

__________________________________________________

Don't be afraid to give thanks to those who deserve it!
The Following User Says Thank You to DistrictDigital For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
YemenHero
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 28
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sana'a
Quote:
Originally Posted by DistrictDigital View Post
He just said these things are tied into the phone. You will have these issues until pure AOSP/AOKP ROMs come out. Should have purchased an international version of the phone instead of purchasing a stolen phone.
Thanx anyway.. although how am I suppose to know its stolen!!
I did buy this phone because its price was way lower than an international one. Besides international gs5 doesnt support cdma!!
Anyhow, the phone is fully functioning im even able to use data. For hotspot n usb tethering, I managed to use them through foxfi.. only wifi calling not working and im not really interested in.

Finally thanx for all your help. Truely appreciate it
 
DistrictDigital
Old
#6  
DistrictDigital's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 37
Posts: 319
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Colorado
Quote:
Originally Posted by YemenHero View Post
Thanx anyway.. although how am I suppose to know its stolen!!
I did buy this phone because its price was way lower than an international one. Besides international gs5 doesnt support cdma!!
Anyhow, the phone is fully functioning im even able to use data. For hotspot n usb tethering, I managed to use them through foxfi.. only wifi calling not working and im not really interested in.

Finally thanx for all your help. Truely appreciate it
Bad ESN ALWAYS means its stolen in some way or another.
~Here in this world I'm awaked with mistakes but it's love that keeps fueling me, fueling me.
Current Phone : Sprint Samsung Galaxy S5 @ Sprint
ROM : MOAR v1.0
Recovery : Philz Touch
Past Phones : Sprint Samsung Galaxy S4 Mini @ Sprint
T-Mobile myTouch 4G / HTC Glacier @ T-Mobile

__________________________________________________

Don't be afraid to give thanks to those who deserve it!
 
Drugman109
Old
#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Orlando, FL
Default WHO KNEW IT WAS BAD ESN - Sprint Galaxy S5

I have just been scammed on Craigslist by buying a Samsung Galaxy S5….I checked all the things I could :-

the ESN on Swappa.com
checked that the seller had the box and all accessories
checked that the IMEI number matched on phone and box
saw a mail document for the seller with an address on it
got a receipt
paid a "normal" price that was slightly discounted
checked the hardware using Antutu and CPU-Z
made calls and texts from the phone
checked for internet connection
checked the fingerprint scanner and software version

Beyond all this what else could I have done? Now I have an expensive toy that Sprint won't let me activate what else can I do?
 
YemenHero
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 28
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sana'a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drugman109 View Post
I have just been scammed on Craigslist by buying a Samsung Galaxy S5….I checked all the things I could :-

the ESN on Swappa.com
checked that the seller had the box and all accessories
checked that the IMEI number matched on phone and box
saw a mail document for the seller with an address on it
got a receipt
paid a "normal" price that was slightly discounted
checked the hardware using Antutu and CPU-Z
made calls and texts from the phone
checked for internet connection
checked the fingerprint scanner and software version

Beyond all this what else could I have done? Now I have an expensive toy that Sprint won't let me activate what else can I do?
Are you using the mobile inside USA?
 
Drugman109
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Orlando, FL
Quote:
Originally Posted by YemenHero View Post
Are you using the mobile inside USA?
I am not currently using the galaxy s5 due t it being blocked/blacklisted/etc. I would like to use it in the USA but if not then I would like to use it in Europe and South America when I travel for work.

Can you please help me with my expensive purchase…...
 
YemenHero
Old
#10  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 28
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Sana'a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Drugman109 View Post
I am not currently using the galaxy s5 due t it being blocked/blacklisted/etc. I would like to use it in the USA but if not then I would like to use it in Europe and South America when I travel for work.

Can you please help me with my expensive purchase…...
The device will do no good for you in USA, but it may work in other countries if their carrier provides CDMA coverage. using DFS.
I suggest that you return the device to the seller and claim your refund. specially if they didn't infrom you it has bad ESN.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes