Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

The XDA LG QPair Developer Challenge Voting Has Begun!

It seems like it was just yesterday that weannounced that we had paired up with LGto … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Does Odin work through Bootcamp or Parallels on a Mac?

OP supremekizzle

30th June 2014, 05:03 AM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Flag San Francisco Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 728
 
1,501 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsd2000

VMware should do. It works very well on Linux.

That's what I use; until Ben Dobell can fix Heimdall for Linux for the P60X series I've just been booting into Win7 via VMWare from my Linux machine.
30th June 2014, 05:23 AM   |  #12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpl69

Macbook Pro 13.3 2012. Mavericks updated, parallels updated with latest version. Windows 8.1 work fine with odin, but i use mainly windows xp. both configure with usb 3.0 driver.
12GB ram, 512GB SSD samsung evo (this is just for show off not relevant to update our tablet) .
i used vmware sideways with parallels but find that parallels it's more faster, reliable and more crash proof.
after you connect the tablet to mac you get the option to connect to mac or virtual machine. afterwards you allways have the option to connect/disconect the usb periferic.

I'm on a late 2013 13.3 MBP. I think back when I was trying to debug the problem I'd read that USB 3.0 and how it's handled on the latest MB might have something to do with it, but I can't recall correctly. I should probably retry just for sh*ts and giggles; was always on the most recent Parallels, VMware, and VirtualBox. That said, I've found VMware in general to be more stable on my particular machine, and quicker to boot/suspend/unsuspend. It could very well just be my imagination or preference though, nosing its way in.

And talking about hardware is never showing off, as long as you're making good use of it. OS wars, however, is another story. :P
Last edited by JustARandomGuest; 30th June 2014 at 05:36 AM. Reason: Having to wait 5 minutes to insert a missing comma has saddened me considerably... ;)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes