Major Security Issues Found in New Outlook App

The Outlook app was launched yesterday on iOS and Android, and according to an IBM developer … more

LG G4 Could Feature a… 3K Display?

According to myLGphones, a version of the LG G4 will not feature neither a 2K nor a 4K display … more

What’s the Worst Android Phone You’ve Ever Owned?

All of us here at XDAappreciate just how far Androidhas come. The incredible … more

All You Need to Know About NFC Implants

Yes, this is a guide about putting an NFC chip inside your body.If you want to learn how to undergo … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Does Odin work through Bootcamp or Parallels on a Mac?

OP supremekizzle

30th June 2014, 05:03 AM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Flag San Francisco Bay Area
Thanks Meter: 731
 
1,503 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsd2000

VMware should do. It works very well on Linux.

That's what I use; until Ben Dobell can fix Heimdall for Linux for the P60X series I've just been booting into Win7 via VMWare from my Linux machine.
30th June 2014, 05:23 AM   |  #12  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpl69

Macbook Pro 13.3 2012. Mavericks updated, parallels updated with latest version. Windows 8.1 work fine with odin, but i use mainly windows xp. both configure with usb 3.0 driver.
12GB ram, 512GB SSD samsung evo (this is just for show off not relevant to update our tablet) .
i used vmware sideways with parallels but find that parallels it's more faster, reliable and more crash proof.
after you connect the tablet to mac you get the option to connect to mac or virtual machine. afterwards you allways have the option to connect/disconect the usb periferic.

I'm on a late 2013 13.3 MBP. I think back when I was trying to debug the problem I'd read that USB 3.0 and how it's handled on the latest MB might have something to do with it, but I can't recall correctly. I should probably retry just for sh*ts and giggles; was always on the most recent Parallels, VMware, and VirtualBox. That said, I've found VMware in general to be more stable on my particular machine, and quicker to boot/suspend/unsuspend. It could very well just be my imagination or preference though, nosing its way in.

And talking about hardware is never showing off, as long as you're making good use of it. OS wars, however, is another story. :P
Last edited by JustARandomGuest; 30th June 2014 at 05:36 AM. Reason: Having to wait 5 minutes to insert a missing comma has saddened me considerably... ;)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes