Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,332 Members 53,327 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

No reactivation lock for T-mobile s5?

Tip us?
 
seh6183
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 1,548
Join Date: Mar 2011
Default No reactivation lock for T-mobile s5?

I can't find it anywhere in the settings. Is this a T-Mobile only thing? I'm fairly certain the AT&T and Verizon version have this feature.
Sent from my iPhone 4
 
aooga
Old
(Last edited by aooga; 30th June 2014 at 08:26 AM.)
#2  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 835
Posts: 2,862
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by seh6183 View Post
I can't find it anywhere in the settings. Is this a T-Mobile only thing? I'm fairly certain the AT&T and Verizon version have this feature.
Only Verizon and US cellular.

http://www.phonearena.com/news/Samsu...axy-S5_id54826

EDIT: you can enable it if you're rooted by editing a file in the system/csc folder.
 
seh6183
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 1,548
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga View Post
Only Verizon and US cellular.

http://www.phonearena.com/news/Samsu...axy-S5_id54826

EDIT: you can enable it if you're rooted by editing a file in the system/csc folder.
Thank you for this but I went through every file in there and couldn't find anything for reactivation lock. I was however, able to enable the change sim notification. Any idea what file it is in?
Sent from my iPhone 4
 
aooga
Old
(Last edited by aooga; 1st July 2014 at 05:28 PM.)
#4  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 835
Posts: 2,862
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by seh6183 View Post
Thank you for this but I went through every file in there and couldn't find anything for reactivation lock. I was however, able to enable the change sim notification. Any idea what file it is in?
Try system/CSC/features.xml EDIT: This might not be what you're looking for, but it's something. Sorry I guess I was wrong in saying that it can be enabled by a csc edit.

Change it to this:


Then reboot and you should get this I security.
 
seh6183
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 1,548
Join Date: Mar 2011
I did that and got the menus enabled now. But that still isn't reactivation lock. I can't find the setting for reactivation lock.
Sent from my iPhone 4
 
aooga
Old
#6  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 835
Posts: 2,862
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by seh6183 View Post
I did that and got the menus enabled now. But that still isn't reactivation lock. I can't find the setting for reactivation lock.
It might not be toggled by a csc edit then. Why do you want it in the first place?
 
seh6183
Old
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 1,548
Join Date: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga View Post
It might not be toggled by a csc edit then. Why do you want it in the first place?
Well because it's a huge deal in my opinion. If someone steals my phone they can't get back into it even if they wipe it.
Sent from my iPhone 4
 
aooga
Old
(Last edited by aooga; 1st July 2014 at 06:11 PM.)
#8  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 835
Posts: 2,862
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: California
Quote:
Originally Posted by seh6183 View Post
Well because it's a huge deal in my opinion. If someone steals my phone they can't get back into it even if they wipe it.
If they know how to root it, they can in 2 minutes. Just boot into the bootloader, flash a custom recovery, flash a custom rom, and presto, you're in. If you're already rooted, well, that just makes it laughably easy. Apple's approach is the only really secure one.
 
seh6183
Old
#9  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 122
Posts: 1,548
Join Date: Mar 2011
I think assuming that a thief would have any understanding of rooting or flashing custom bootloaders would be a little over the top. Out of every single human being that I know only 2 know how to root a phone.
Sent from my iPhone 4
 
fffft
Old
#10  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 249
Posts: 788
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by seh6183 View Post
I can't find it anywhere in the settings. Is this a T-Mobile only thing? I'm fairly certain the AT&T and Verizon version have this feature.

Sent from my iPhone 4

I'm thinking that the part in bold could be your snag.

Seriously though, some carriers are enabling this and some are not. A serious flaw as universal availability of the feature would make it infinitely more effective.

You can enable it yourself by availing yourself to a custom ROM or by editing the properties XML. Once enabled, the menu shows up under Settings > General > Security

.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-07-01-11-37-48.png
Views:	51
Size:	187.3 KB
ID:	2827569  

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Device Review: OnePlus One

Seemingly every day, there are a bunch of new devices being released. Some are budget devices and some are … more

Browse the Internet with the Innovative Atlas Web Browser

For the most part, Chrome, Firefox, and Dolphin Browser have no real rivals among … more

Choose from Over a Thousand Battery Styles with 3Minit Battery Mod

The battery style in stock Android looks pretty dull. It doesn’t … more

Organize Your Cloud Storage Files with Unclouded

Cloud storage services like Dropbox or Google Drive have grown in popularity dramatically … more