5,815,265 Members 39,265 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Disable lockscreen?

Tip us?
 
rootcid
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 114
Join Date: Dec 2013
Default [Q] Disable lockscreen?

Now that we have root, does someone know how to disable the lockscreen? Not the ads, just the lockscreen itself.

I remember looking for a method back when we first had root and not finding one...
 
peter_b93
Old
#2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 15
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootcid View Post
Now that we have root, does someone know how to disable the lockscreen? Not the ads, just the lockscreen itself.

I remember looking for a method back when we first had root and not finding one...
I am interested in this too. Let's see if someone knows how to do it
 
jeryll
Old
(Last edited by jeryll; 29th June 2014 at 06:22 PM.) Reason: warning about app No Lock - not working correctly
#3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 19
Join Date: Dec 2010
Lightbulb Test this

Quote:
Originally Posted by rootcid View Post
Now that we have root, does someone know how to disable the lockscreen? Not the ads, just the lockscreen itself.

I remember looking for a method back when we first had root and not finding one...
Well, here are some thing you can try, guys:
1. if you are on 8.9 HDX, you can install Apollo Gapps 1.2 ROM, there is switch in the settings (classic android switch) - I am using this right now
2. try to install and run this app (No Lock):
No Lock - warning - probably not working correctly - reported here
References, credits, etc:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1896354

P.S. I did test the app on Apollo Gapps ROM 1.2 (8.9 HDX), and it was working as expected...
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to jeryll For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
98HTTR91
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 10
Join Date: May 2012
Thanks for the tip on No Lock. Installed and it works great here.

Sent from my KFAPWI using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to 98HTTR91 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rootcid
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 114
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeryll View Post
Well, here are some thing you can try, guys:
1. if you are on 8.9 HDX, you can install Apollo Gapps 1.2 ROM, there is switch in the settings (classic android switch) - I am using this right now
2. try to install and run this app (No Lock):
https://play.google.com/store/apps/d...android.nolock
References, credits, etc:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1896354

P.S. I did test the app on Apollo Gapps ROM 1.2 (8.9 HDX), and it was working as expected...
Quote:
Originally Posted by 98HTTR91 View Post
Thanks for the tip on No Lock. Installed and it works great here.

Sent from my KFAPWI using Tapatalk
For me, with no lock enabled, the nav bar randomly disappears...
 
jeryll
Old
(Last edited by jeryll; 29th June 2014 at 06:54 PM.) Reason: edit
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 13
Posts: 19
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by rootcid View Post
For me, with no lock enabled, the nav bar randomly disappears...
Well, if you want, you can try this one (no graphic glitches for me so far (testing for cca 3 hour randomly turning screen on and off) - still on Apollo Gapps 1.2):
No lock screen
The Following User Says Thank You to jeryll For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
rootcid
Old
(Last edited by rootcid; 30th June 2014 at 06:21 AM.)
#7  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 114
Join Date: Dec 2013
Thanks ill give it a try. But it looks like it works the same way. And I guess when the notification is missing is when the glitches start...

Also looks like it breaks the magnetic switch, like no lock. So screen doesn't turn on when opening case.

Thread Tools
Display Modes