Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,466 Members 50,682 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] HTC One J (HTL22) help with root please

Tip us?
 
francisac3
Old
#11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 124
Join Date: Mar 2008
Default badly needing help

is there any way to unlock my htc j one? im on the same version as yours.. 1.54hboot and 2.21 version.. i live here in the philippines.. it would cost me so much if i take that service you provide on yahoo auction.. TIA!
 
moku160
Old
#12  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 59
Join Date: Nov 2006
I have no relation to the auction sales other than being a customer.

The only way that I know of that can S-off when you have that software version is by paying someone, I assume they do it via hardware some way....

So I am sorry but I cannot help you.
 
peckich7
Old
#13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jun 2012
Thumbs up Help with htc htl22

Hello, I have this phone and when I put in a local sim, it doesn't ask for sim pin it just says "NO SERVICE". I'm trying to figure out if it might be a settings but have no idea how to access the network settings (change network settings gsm/wcdma etc). Is there a hidden menu? Ive been searching all over the web but haven't found it yet. Thanks in advance

[QUOt TE=BadAzDB;49656088]Do you mean you don't have root access? If not then just flash supersu.zip if it's letting you flash things and you'll have root access. If you can't flash anything then try to use the toolkit to root it. If not then I would suggest formatting every partition. That should help

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app[/QUOTE]
 
Udonitron
Old
#14  
Udonitron's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 16
Posts: 472
Join Date: Apr 2010
This phone is SOL...since it is on 4.2.2 it is near impossible to downgrade and the Japanese walk through is a nightmare.
I cannot for the life of me get S Off etc all due to the CID lock down.
FFS
AT&T Lumia 1520 & Sprint HTC One M7 on Rogers
Nexus 7 v2
 
ShadowKage
Old
(Last edited by ShadowKage; 27th May 2014 at 02:11 PM.)
#15  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 6
Join Date: Dec 2010
Default Sim unlock

Quote:
Originally Posted by moku160 View Post
I bought a second hand HTL22 that was updated to the latest software and h-boot. Here are my specs

HBoot - 1.54.000
OS - 2.21.970.2

I payed someone on yahoo auctions japan[/URL] to S-Off it for me with plans to do the rest myself.

It came back with

CID - 111111111 - OK
S-OFF - OK

Upon getting it back I was able to unlock the Bootloader using the htcdev way and flash CWM and/or TWRP recoveries.

My issue now is that when I enter either recoveries, the partitions cannot be loaded nor can I sideload so I cannot root it. BUT I can boot fine into the OS...

I was thinking that its something to do with the partitions but right now I am at a loss. Does anyone have the partition table info for a stock HTL22 so I can at least compare? Really any advice would be welcome.


Thanks in advance.



UPDATE: Got everything to work and I will lay it out here - Unlock Bootloader, Root, Custom Rom, and Sim Unlock - Working on Softbank GSM

First of all everything that I did assumes that you have S-OFF and Super-CID and can adb/fastboot into your OneJ. This also assumes that all files you download will be put into the same folder as your adb and fastboot commands

1. Unlock Bootloader - I used the htcdec method
2. Install TWRP recovery - (Make sure you install the right recovery for your device and software version - this was my problem previously. If you install the wrong version you will not be able to mount your partitions and therefore cannot do the next step.
- Download the appropriate TWRP version from here: linkhttp://www.scottish-vinegar.com/%E5%...1%8D%E5%A0%B4/...I downloaded the 4.2.2 version
- *this step is optional and you can do it later but will save you bit of time to do it now
download SU and push it onto your device
- reboot into fastboot
- --- Your file name may differ
- reboot into recovery
3. Root your device
- Click install
- browse to your sdcard and click your superuser file (if you did not previously download and put this file on your device you will have to reboot into your OS and do it now. Please look at the second step of the recovery section for more info
- reboot
4. Install Google Edition Rom *This step is optional but I dont know if your simunlock will work wiithout it as I didnt try
- Download rom for gsm here http://www.androidfilehost.com/?fid=23060877490001371
- push or use a file manager to put it on your phone
- reboot into recovery
- wipe cache, data, system
- install
- go back to install menu again and reinstall superuser
- reboot
5. Unlock Sim - info from here
- Download this
- install it to your device

- run this command
- check your device and go into phone settings. Turn everything off except radio and set preferred network to LTE/GSM
- reboot

give it some time it should find and connect to your GSM network

So I was able to get the phone part working. However, I cant seem to get the 3G working on the phone. When I go into Mobile Data it doesnt give me an option for Preferred Network or APN settings.
 
vinsu
Old
#16  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Sep 2012
Default Sucess !! SOff , Unlocked , Super CID

Quote:
Originally Posted by ShadowKage View Post
So I was able to get the phone part working. However, I cant seem to get the 3G working on the phone. When I go into Mobile Data it doesnt give me an option for Preferred Network or APN settings.
Guys , if you need .. PM me
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Real-World Battery Saving Tips for Android – XDA Developer TV

You need Real-World Battery Saving Tips for your Android device. Our … more

Android L Will Have Data Encryption Turned On by Default

Android L, once it is eventually released, will featuredata encryption turned on by … more

Lock Apps and Functions Easily with Droid Protector

Access and security are some of the key issues facingmobile technology. Whether … more

ARChon Lets You Run Android Apps in Google Chrome Browser

Not too long ago, Google added the ability torun select Android applications on … more