Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,772,276 Members 44,345 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] can't unlock bootloader

Tip us?
 
doss2007
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2010
Default [Q] can't unlock bootloader

The bootloader is currently lock. everything is stock, i never root it.
whenever i try "fastboot oem unlock" and select yes on the nexus, it frooze on this "unlock bootloader ?" screen. and on the terminal it say "erasing userdata". the first time i tried i let it like that for a good hour before force shutting off, and i tri again, froze every time.
I can acces to my stock recovery but i have an error "e failed to mount /cache (invalid argument)",
meanwhile, i can't boot

any idea to fix this ?
 
Aerowinder
Old
(Last edited by Aerowinder; 28th June 2014 at 03:54 PM.)
#2  
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1207
Posts: 3,069
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by doss2007 View Post
The bootloader is currently lock. everything is stock, i never root it.
whenever i try "fastboot oem unlock" and select yes on the nexus, it frooze on this "unlock bootloader ?" screen. and on the terminal it say "erasing userdata". the first time i tried i let it like that for a good hour before force shutting off, and i tri again, froze every time.
I can acces to my stock recovery but i have an error "e failed to mount /cache (invalid argument)",
meanwhile, i can't boot

any idea to fix this ?
I've seen posts like this here and in other forums gleaned from fairly extensive searching. Nobody has an answer. I think it's a hardware problem, to be honest. The N7 2013 is plagued with them, it seems.

Can you still boot into Android? You could try to root via towelroot. From there, you could flash TWRP, or maybe unlock the bootloader with that app from the play store.

I would send it back to Google, if possible.
 

Google Firmware: Google
USB Drivers: Google | Mirror
ADB+ADB Drivers: 19.0.2 (4.4.4) + Koush Universal ADB Drivers

TWRP Official: hammerhead | flo
TWRP Holofied: hammerhead | flo

Gapps: BaNkS

Superuser: Chainfire | Mirror
 
doss2007
Old
(Last edited by doss2007; 28th June 2014 at 08:02 PM.)
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aerowinder View Post
I would send it back to Google, if possible.
unfortunately i can't boot so i will try sending it back
 
HowardZ
Old
(Last edited by HowardZ; 29th June 2014 at 08:08 PM.)
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 202
Posts: 680
Join Date: Apr 2012
You can download the latest Google nexus image for your model tablet onto your pc.

Boot tablet into fastboot mode.

On the pc run the bat file to install the binaries, and after a few minutes the tablet will have latest factory bootloader, lte modem firmware, recovery, kitkat, and the tablet will have undergone a factory data reset.
 
wantabe
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 135
Posts: 373
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Colorado Springs
Quote:
Originally Posted by HowardZ View Post
You can download the latest Google nexus image for your model tablet onto your pc.

Boot tablet into fastboot mode.

On the pc run the bat file to install the binaries, and after a few minutes the tablet will have latest factory bootloader, lte modem firmware, recovery, kitkat, and the tablet will have undergone a factory data reset.
The OP states that he was unable to unlock the bootloader. I was unaware that you could "fastboot" flash any kind of image without an unlocked bootloader! ; )
"Don't confuse me with facts, I've already made up my mind!"

AT&T HTC One X - 4.2.2 CleanROM-odexed/Xposed/ElementalX
Nexus 5 32GB
Nexus 7 32GB (2013)
Nexus 4 8GB-Moved to Better Home!
Nexus 7 16GB-Moved to Better Home!.
Nexus 7 32GB-Moved to Better Home!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes