FORUMS

Sunday Debate: How Can We Get a No-Compromise Phone?

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Compromises. Come with your opinions and … more

PSA: You Can Optimize Your Note 4’s Recents Menu & RAM

The Note 4 never had the fastest Recents Menu, and despite its 3GB of RAM, … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (July 25 – Aug 1)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Voices Of XDA: Orbiting The Earth With Android

Editor’s note: This week’s feature has been written by forum … more

[Q] Changing LCD density

131 posts
Thanks Meter: 20
 
By ccelis, Senior Member on 30th June 2014, 09:38 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Hi,

Im about to buy this phone in a day or two. Just wondering if anyone has changed LCD density to about 400? Just want to make sure the stock rom is able to handle it. Thanks
 
 
30th June 2014, 11:14 AM |#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ccelis

Hi,

Im about to buy this phone in a day or two. Just wondering if anyone has changed LCD density to about 400? Just want to make sure the stock rom is able to handle it. Thanks

I doubt so.. Just few days ago I changed it to 320 and after reboot, constant fc and I can't do anything. End up sent it back to Lg.... Problem with our handset is there is no custom recovery to fall back to.
30th June 2014, 11:34 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Hi thanks for the feedback. Currently my Optimus G Pro also FC's the system on anything under 400, but is working perfectly on 400dpi so I'm wondering if anyone has tried. It's actually going to make me decide if I want to go on and buy the G Pro 2. If not I might just get the G2, or save up for the G3. Thanks
1st July 2014, 01:39 AM |#4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Have mine set at 430, running great

Sent from my LG-F350S using Tapatalk
1st July 2014, 01:54 AM |#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I have my G Pro 2 running at 355 dpi, any lower and the SystemUI will constantly crash so you'll have to flash the system again like I did once. I wouldn't suggest any lower than 350 dpi or you'll run into problems.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-07-01-10-41-57.jpg
Views:	287
Size:	79.1 KB
ID:	2826299  
1st July 2014, 12:01 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turtle_Cookies

I have my G Pro 2 running at 355 dpi, any lower and the SystemUI will constantly crash so you'll have to flash the system again like I did once. I wouldn't suggest any lower than 350 dpi or you'll run into problems.

That's very good to know. No wonder mine messed up at 320... Does changing to a non stock dpi mess up the stock apps? I remember mine when at 320 the camera view finder didn't scale properly.
1st July 2014, 12:59 PM |#7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scpion

That's very good to know. No wonder mine messed up at 320... Does changing to a non stock dpi mess up the stock apps? I remember mine when at 320 the camera view finder didn't scale properly.

Yeah the apps that didn't work properly were the camera, music app, music widget and sometimes the quick settings in the notification panel
1st July 2014, 02:35 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by scpion

That's very good to know. No wonder mine messed up at 320... Does changing to a non stock dpi mess up the stock apps? I remember mine when at 320 the camera view finder didn't scale properly.

I use xposed app settings to set the stock apps only back to 480.

Sent from my LG-F240L
The Following User Says Thank You to ccelis For This Useful Post: [ View ]
5th July 2014, 07:28 AM |#9  
Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
what app you use to change density?
i have try build.prop editor but the phone back to stock density value when reboot, whit lcd density pro i haved a kernel panic and i haved to restore whit tot (for both of software i have set 355, and the phone is rooted).
thank
3rd May 2015, 02:59 PM |#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
Running at 370.. Great.. LG apps and widgets functioning well..

360 causes widgets and LG apps to misbehave..
3rd May 2015, 10:38 PM |#11  
jabi_james's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag TehRan
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
one question..why we set lower density ? better performance or what?

Read More
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes