Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,576 Members 37,616 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Used M7 has preload files missing (Sense 6 OTA problem)

Tip us?
 
nkk71
Old
(Last edited by nkk71; 29th May 2014 at 04:46 PM.)
#11  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,924
Posts: 5,890
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfpreach View Post
it is not true that someone must have caused this issue unlocking.
I have the same problem and I'm the first owner and my unit is completely stock. Mine fails in settings.apk
interesting, but weird, I could understand the /data/preload apps but settings.apk is part of /system/app .... that should definitely not happen... and impossible to change without root / unsecured kernel / custom recovery.

maybe you should contact HTC and let them know

EDIT: maybe you should check the SHA-1 on /system/app/settings.apk and compare that to the updater-script
 
dark0ne
Old
#12  
Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 30
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bucharest

 
DONATE TO ME
Hi, I also have this issue. How about if we copy /data/preload from the OTA.zip itself (after downloading)? or from an older OTA.zip
I tried that, but on a certain app, it says unexpected content... (e.g: HTCSoundRecorder.apk). Does the OTA check the apk MD5 or something?
I really want the OTA, because I can't S-OFF right now (firewater whelp, cpu rev 003). HTC__622, x.708 rom.
 
mr.mohsinbaig
Old
#13  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jun 2014
Unhappy same issue

i have exactly the same issue. mine was cid 332. latin american m7 htc one sense5.5 hboot 1.56
on update to sense 6 its stuck on 30 % with red triangle. once open their is message preload not found tunein.apk missing.

after 1.5 month the update available for my cid but cant install it. i unlock by htcdev but still s-on and not rooted. i reset factory setting from recovery \ bootloader \ phone and problem still the same.i dont want custom ROM

i check with local htc. they told me to check with america HTC help line as my phone is from american region. i dont know why i got latin american region phone in middle east. thanks to online store. HTC American region just waste my days and after all the serial and model detail they told me since you are in middle east visit their branch in Qatar. how i should visit qatar for fixing phone to get sense 6?

well check in dubai service center they told me that motherboard need to replace cost 40% of phone. since i unlock by htc itself i still need to pay for 3 month used device.


i am exhausted.
 
Seanie280672
Old
#14  
Seanie280672's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 343
Posts: 1,162
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Halesowen

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dark0ne View Post
Hi, I also have this issue. How about if we copy /data/preload from the OTA.zip itself (after downloading)? or from an older OTA.zip
I tried that, but on a certain app, it says unexpected content... (e.g: HTCSoundRecorder.apk). Does the OTA check the apk MD5 or something?
I really want the OTA, because I can't S-OFF right now (firewater whelp, cpu rev 003). HTC__622, x.708 rom.
This is actually the easiest way to do this, but you must get hold of the current software number OTA on your phone, not the one you are trying to install.

so if you currently have 4.22.401.11 for instance, you must grab this same OTA and pull data/preload and its contents, which is all of the missing apps etc, from that OTA, copy to your phone, CHANGE THE PERMISSIONS, restart your phone and re-run check for updates.

nb, you must also have stock recovery on your phone for OTA's to work.
 
ahmed blue
Old
(Last edited by ahmed blue; 30th June 2014 at 11:11 AM.)
#15  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 49
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by kuzumitaiga View Post
Hi, I require assistance. bought this used unit of M7 (normal edition) a few months back. Totally new to the Android scene before then.

It came with 4.4.2 and Sense 5.5, I had assumed it was untampered with and is fully stock.

Software version is 4.20.707.6, Asia WWE. CL308312 release keys (whatever that means)

kernel 3.4.10-g499e571

So when I had tried to update it via OTA to HTC Sense 6 (file size 666.06MB, what the.. Satan?)

I'd go through it for the first 30% and then it'd be in a red triangle with exclamation mark, which then made me press the volume and power button and got this:


showing that soundhound_freemium is missing, uhh...

It would then boot back normally and go back to the normal Sense 5.5. But I do want the Sense 6 badly and get this issue solved.

I was pretty dumbfounded with this issue as I am new to Android and everyone else is receiving their updates smoothly.

Now I choose not to proceed without the advice of XDA forumers, I wish to ask of what is the next step for me? I came across with the explanation that I'd need to do an RUU to get back to stock? Feeling pretty much dumber from that point on, there are so many RUU files around that I do not know which one I should be using? Any help on this is appreciated.

Steps done so far:

Factory reset from settings
Factory reset from recovery mode
Installing soundhound from Play Store (yea.. no difference)
Continuously attempting it at least 11 to 13 times, still the same thing over again.


BTW: I seem to be getting the app called WeChat every time I reset my phone, I wonder why... I know it's a messaging app but didn't know it'd come with the phone pre-loaded.. uh..

oh and oh, apart from OTA, any other way for me to install it from PC or something? I remember being able to update via iTunes instead of OTA for a newer version of iOS, although of course that was iOS, just wondering if it were possible for the Android as well. Hmm.. oh well


I would really appreciate all the help I can get, really want the Sense 6 UI to test, thank you very much!

Install odexed zip in twrp will fix 100%
EDIT: added bootloader image
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2799281

---------- Post added at 10:12 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:06 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.mohsinbaig View Post
i have exactly the same issue. mine was cid 332. latin american m7 htc one sense5.5 hboot 1.56
on update to sense 6 its stuck on 30 % with red triangle. once open their is message preload not found tunein.apk missing.

after 1.5 month the update available for my cid but cant install it. i unlock by htcdev but still s-on and not rooted. i reset factory setting from recovery \ bootloader \ phone and problem still the same.i dont want custom ROM

i check with local htc. they told me to check with america HTC help line as my phone is from american region. i dont know why i got latin american region phone in middle east. thanks to online store. HTC American region just waste my days and after all the serial and model detail they told me since you are in middle east visit their branch in Qatar. how i should visit qatar for fixing phone to get sense 6?

well check in dubai service center they told me that motherboard need to replace cost 40% of phone. since i unlock by htc itself i still need to pay for 3 month used device.


i am exhausted.
Install odexed zip Rom , http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2799281
Tags
preload ruu ota sense 6
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


ARChos Lets You Run Android Apps in Google Chrome Browser

Not too long ago, Google added the ability torun select Android applications on … more

Flyme OS Finds Its Way to the Google Nexus 5

Flyme OS is a heavily modified Android variantdeveloped by the Meizu team for their MX … more

MultiROM Makes Its Way to the LG G2

Over the last few weeks, we’ve seen quite a fewflagship (and former flagship) devicesget to … more