Enable the Hidden Notification LED on the Google Nexus 6!

LED notification lights have existed on Android devices since the very beginnings … more

MX Player Ready to Rock on Lollipop

A good video player should be reliable and free. One of the XDA Community Apps, MX Player, meets both of … more

How to Disable Data Encryption on Nexus 6

In late September, Google decided to step on NSA’s toes and turn on encryption by default in … more

DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ Review – XDA TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about gifts now? Youll be ahead … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Latest OS build for GTP 8.4 (SM-T320)?

OP stuartv

30th June 2014, 02:47 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
344 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
I got my GTP 8.4 on Friday. There was immediately an OTA available. It came with build NAI on it. I took the OTA and now it says ND3.

Is ND3 really the latest? I thought I saw some references to a build NE5. Is NE5 for the 10.1 or 12.2 or something? Or did I just not get the latest latest?
30th June 2014, 02:51 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuartv

I got my GTP 8.4 on Friday. There was immediately an OTA available. It came with build NAI on it. I took the OTA and now it says ND3.

Is ND3 really the latest? I thought I saw some references to a build NE5. Is NE5 for the 10.1 or 12.2 or something? Or did I just not get the latest latest?

I have ND3 too. When I check for updates, it says I'm up to date. I have seen people reference a stability update. Not sure if that's ND3 or not.

Cheers,
Rich

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk
30th June 2014, 02:54 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
344 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rholm

I have ND3 too. When I check for updates, it says I'm up to date. I have seen people reference a stability update. Not sure if that's ND3 or not.

Cheers,
Rich

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk

Yeah, mine says I'm up to date, too. But, I know that these OTAs seem to usually roll out in waves, so it's possible that others could have a newer build while ours still says "up to date". That's why I'm asking. In case others have gotten a newer build already.

But, I'm glad to know you're on ND3, too, so I know TowelRoot will work with that. And you said it worked without flashing an updated kernel, right? You just downloaded and ran the TowelRoot app and that's it.
30th June 2014, 03:20 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuartv

Yeah, mine says I'm up to date, too. But, I know that these OTAs seem to usually roll out in waves, so it's possible that others could have a newer build while ours still says "up to date". That's why I'm asking. In case others have gotten a newer build already.

But, I'm glad to know you're on ND3, too, so I know TowelRoot will work with that. And you said it worked without flashing an updated kernel, right? You just downloaded and ran the TowelRoot app and that's it.

Correct. No kernel needed. I ran towel root and then installed SuperSu.

The first time I disabled knox with SuperSu. I had a few random reboots. And, when I checked for updates, it complained that the OS wasn't stock and said no updates were allowed. So, I unrooted and wiped. After running towel root, I installed SuperSu and left Knox running. No problems this time.

I like this tablet, fast and a great screen. I will install CM at some point. I just don't want to do it in the first week.

Cheers,
Rich
The Following User Says Thank You to rholm For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th June 2014, 03:33 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
344 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rholm

Correct. No kernel needed. I ran towel root and then installed SuperSu.

The first time I disabled knox with SuperSu. I had a few random reboots. And, when I checked for updates, it complained that the OS wasn't stock and said no updates were allowed. So, I unrooted and wiped. After running towel root, I installed SuperSu and left Knox running. No problems this time.

I like this tablet, fast and a great screen. I will install CM at some point. I just don't want to do it in the first week.

Cheers,
Rich

Gotcha. I'm pretty much in the same boat. I don't want to mess with my warranty in the first week.

I can see how disabling Knox might prevent it from installing updates. But, do you think disabling Knox was causing the random reboots? Or was it something about your process when you rooted the first time?
30th June 2014, 04:03 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 26
 
206 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by stuartv

Gotcha. I'm pretty much in the same boat. I don't want to mess with my warranty in the first week.

I can see how disabling Knox might prevent it from installing updates. But, do you think disabling Knox was causing the random reboots? Or was it something about your process when you rooted the first time?

I don't believe that the disabling of Knox was causing the reboots. When I restored my apps with TB, I got rid of a few. That list included Greenify, GSam Battery Monitor, and a few other system type apps. I haven't installed xposed yet (all in good time). I want to establish a stable platform first.

Cheers,
Rich
The Following User Says Thank You to rholm For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes