Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Are ALL Nexus 7 LTE tablets SIM unlocked?

OP MoonFallsDown

29th June 2014, 10:14 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Gainesville
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
I have two Nexus 7 LTE tablets that I acquired from Craigslist. One came with a T-Mobile SIM card, the other is in a Verizon branded box and clearly came from Verizon retailer.

I was under the impression that ALL of the Nexus 7 LTE tablets are unlocked. However, when I boot the T-Mobile one, the bootloader shows a unlocked symbol at the bottom, however the Verizon one does not. I'm not sure if this is just Verizon trickery or not.

Would I be able to use the Verizon one on a GSM network? I assume the internal hardware is identical between the two.
29th June 2014, 10:21 PM   |  #2  
Wiki Admin / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 1,599
 
3,547 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
The unlock icon at boot has nothing to do with carrier locking, that's if the bootloader was unlocked.
29th June 2014, 10:24 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Gainesville
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2009
More
Was unlocked? As in, someone unlocked it and relocked it?
29th June 2014, 10:25 PM   |  #4  
skiman10's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 313
 
326 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Donate to Me
More
Yes you can use a Verizon one on a gsm network. I got a Verizon one on T-Mobile right now.

Sent from my Nexus 7 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to skiman10 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th June 2014, 04:47 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Chicago
Thanks Meter: 15
 
249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2013
My Verizon sold N7 actually works with my T-Mobile unlimited PHONE sim. I only do that at home since I don't have a case for it yet, but I have sms through xposed, the T-Mobile visual voicemail, and Vonage for outgoing calls. Tethering also only shows as data used, not tethering. I've done this many times with no issues.
The Following User Says Thank You to bob60626 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes