FORUMS

Index Project For XDA Device Subforums

Another ambitious project from the collaborative efforts of Recognized Contributors and Forum … more

The Atlas of XDA

A few weeks ago, we asked you “How Does Your Location Affect Your Life As A Power User?”. In the days that … more

New Snapdragons: Some Context & Contrast

It hasn’t been a good year for Qualcomm so far. Every device featuring the Snapdragon 810 … more

Google To Launch Next Gen Android One On July 14

The first gen of Android One devices to be launched in India in September 2014 were … more

[Q] How Much RAM is Used Upon Boot?

1,802 posts
Thanks Meter: 814
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
To get an idea of how the LG overlay compares to TouchWiz. . .how much RAM is used when you first turn on your LG G3?
 
 
30th June 2014, 07:51 AM |#2  
Member
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enddo

To get an idea of how the LG overlay compares to TouchWiz. . .how much RAM is used when you first turn on your LG G3?

I have about 600mb free (using about 1.2 GB) after boot on my international D855 (no carrier bloatware) running ART. I haven't really tinkered with it much to see how much more free RAM I can squeeze out of it.
The Following User Says Thank You to GoldfishTX For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th June 2014, 08:30 AM |#3  
daleski75's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northampton
Thanks Meter: 3,531
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldfishTX

I have about 600mb free (using about 1.2 GB) after boot on my international D855 (no carrier bloatware) running ART. I haven't really tinkered with it much to see how much more free RAM I can squeeze out of it.

Exactly the same amount as my D855 (Three branded but no bloatware)
The Following User Says Thank You to daleski75 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th June 2014, 08:37 AM |#4  
Lennyuk's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Essex, England
Thanks Meter: 1,676
 
Donate to Me
More
When you guys say no bloatware, what exactly have you removed because you could be removing different things thus the impact of your results could be quite different

Sent from my LG-D855 using Tapatalk
30th June 2014, 08:54 AM |#5  
Member
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
What I mean is that I have a non-carrier branded phone, and it has no carrier added bloatware on it.
The Following User Says Thank You to GoldfishTX For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th June 2014, 02:34 PM |#6  
Enddo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, Ga.
Thanks Meter: 814
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldfishTX

I have about 600mb free (using about 1.2 GB) after boot on my international D855 (no carrier bloatware) running ART. I haven't really tinkered with it much to see how much more free RAM I can squeeze out of it.

does any RAM usage change if you use the Google Now Launcher, or Nova Launcher and boot up?
30th June 2014, 02:44 PM |#7  
daleski75's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northampton
Thanks Meter: 3,531
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enddo

does any RAM usage change if you use the Google Now Launcher, or Nova Launcher and boot up?

Just tried the google now launcher and the ram usage is exactly the same which is odd as I would of thought it would be less with a different launcher..

---------- Post added at 02:44 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:38 PM ----------

My mates Nexus 5 has 1.2Gb free of 2Gb (600mb used) to put it into perspective, wow this G3 uses a of RAM on startup this thing should have 3Gb as default on both the 16 and 32Gb variants.
The Following User Says Thank You to daleski75 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th June 2014, 02:57 PM |#8  
Enddo's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Atlanta, Ga.
Thanks Meter: 814
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by daleski75

Just tried the google now launcher and the ram usage is exactly the same which is odd as I would of thought it would be less with a different launcher..

---------- Post added at 02:44 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:38 PM ----------

My mates Nexus 5 has 1.2Gb free of 2Gb (600mb used) to put it into perspective, wow this G3 uses a of RAM on startup this thing should have 3Gb as default on both the 16 and 32Gb variants.

thanks for the heads up, and I agree, the 3GB variant is really the only way to go

are you seeing lag in any of these launchers? I've read some people complaining about the stock UI lagging. I was hoping this would be eliminated by using Google Now launcher. Maybe a custom ROM is the best way to go. I was hoping to get all that LG software optimizations from their stock software though
30th June 2014, 03:03 PM |#9  
daleski75's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Northampton
Thanks Meter: 3,531
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enddo

thanks for the heads up, and I agree, the 3GB variant is really the only way to go

are you seeing lag in any of these launchers? I've read some people complaining about the stock UI lagging. I was hoping this would be eliminated by using Google Now launcher. Maybe a custom ROM is the best way to go. I was hoping to get all that LG software optimizations from their stock software though

I use the knock code which doesn't work with any other launcher than the G3 one and seen some lag but it's not all the time and mostly when swiping between screens on the app drawer.
The Following User Says Thank You to daleski75 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th June 2014, 05:26 PM |#10  
Member
Flag Glasgow
Thanks Meter: 26
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Enddo

thanks for the heads up, and I agree, the 3GB variant is really the only way to go

are you seeing lag in any of these launchers? I've read some people complaining about the stock UI lagging. I was hoping this would be eliminated by using Google Now launcher. Maybe a custom ROM is the best way to go. I was hoping to get all that LG software optimizations from their stock software though

Nova launcher is about the same. I don't really have any lag on the stock ui. Nova is terrible though.
The Following User Says Thank You to GoldfishTX For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes