Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Did CM installer brick my phone?

OP sblar

27th June 2014, 10:12 PM   |  #1  
sblar's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Soft brick after CM installer

Hi guys, I could really need some help here. I tried the Cyanogenmod installer and everything went fine, except my phone was stuck in
bootscreen for too long time (never booted).
In CWM recovery I did a factory reset/wipe, reboot, but to no avail; still stucked on CM bootscreen.
I then tried to flash CM11 by recovery sideloader. This goes to 100% and recovery says "Installing update", but nothing happens.
Is it supposed to install and finally reboot by itself, or should I do something?

I tried to installed zip from SD-card, but got "E:Can't mount /sdcard". I guess that means that I can't push the .zip over ADB to /sdcard
either.

What else can I try?
27th June 2014, 11:23 PM   |  #2  
sblar's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Edit: I wiped /data and then I could suddenly push the .zip to /data/media and the, finally flash the .zip from sdcard!

Why on earth the installer didn't wipe everything from the beginning, I don't get...

Did I miss anything obvious about the wiping thing?
Last edited by sblar; 27th June 2014 at 11:26 PM.
28th June 2014, 07:03 AM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 98
 
594 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
A factory reset should do the trick normally. But if you ever get a message that you can't mount something you have to wipe that partition in recovery. I haven't used CWM in a long time. I prefer twrp as a recovery these days

Sent from my HTC One using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to nateboi81 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th June 2014, 08:28 AM   |  #4  
sblar's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Thanks, I'll remember that, should it ever happen again. What's the benefit for TWRP over CWM?
29th June 2014, 12:07 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
in Htc One i always had this problem.
I'm pretty sure you will never be able to mount SD
but its not a big problem since you can still sidepush the zip file.

and to be honest there is not much difference between TWRP and CWM . its a matter of preference.

On my Htc one i always used TWRP but on other android devices for some reason i sticked with CWM.
30th June 2014, 09:10 AM   |  #6  
sblar's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ayman.y88

in Htc One i always had this problem.
I'm pretty sure you will never be able to mount SD
but its not a big problem since you can still sidepush the zip file.

and to be honest there is not much difference between TWRP and CWM . its a matter of preference.

On my Htc one i always used TWRP but on other android devices for some reason i sticked with CWM.

Unfortunately, I was not able to sideload the image, the transfer went well, the phone said "Installing update" but nothing happened!
30th June 2014, 06:42 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by sblar

Unfortunately, I was not able to sideload the image, the transfer went well, the phone said "Installing update" but nothing happened!

i guess u will have to install back the official ruu and after it add the rom u want to flash on the sd card and flash it ...

let me know if it works with you.

GL
30th June 2014, 08:04 PM   |  #8  
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter: 4,360
 
8,128 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ayman.y88

i guess u will have to install back the official ruu and after it add the rom u want to flash on the sd card and flash it ...

let me know if it works with you.

GL

Post 2 implies op was able to flash the zip successfully after wiping /data.
30th June 2014, 09:18 PM   |  #9  
sblar's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 14
 
191 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
More
Correct, and I could probably also have sideloaded after wiping /data...

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
brick, cm11, cyanogen
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes