Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Upgrading to KitKat without AT&T Sim?

OP mrh4ck

30th June 2014, 05:24 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
I just got a D800, unlocked it and it works fine with my service provider. I was trying to do the update to get it to KitKat, as its currently on JB, but when I try it tells me im not registered to the network, obviously because I don't use AT&T. What are my options to get this to update to KitKat?

I would prefer to keep the phone as stock as possible, although I am not unfamiliar with rooting and flashing custom roms, but wouldnt mind removing the stupid bloatware that came with the phone.


Any advice?


Thanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to mrh4ck For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th June 2014, 09:43 PM   |  #2  
SuperSport's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Northern California
Thanks Meter: 464
 
2,988 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2007
Donate to Me
More
I've responded to your Private Message, but thought I'd repost the info here for anyone reading this in the future.

You can use my files HERE and follow the video tutorial to put Stock ATT KitKat on your phone. You do NOT need to be Rooted, nor do you need to have the ATT Sim installed, or be on the ATT Network. It will work wherever you are located in the world, provided you can download the LARGE files needed. Again, it will be STOCK ATT ROM, so you will need to figure out your network settings.

After installing this ROM, you can use ioroot to Root your device so you can remove the ATT bloatware if you prefer.
30th June 2014, 09:55 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
11 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by SuperSport

I've responded to your Private Message, but thought I'd repost the info here for anyone reading this in the future.

You can use my files HERE and follow the video tutorial to put Stock ATT KitKat on your phone. You do NOT need to be Rooted, nor do you need to have the ATT Sim installed, or be on the ATT Network. It will work wherever you are located in the world, provided you can download the LARGE files needed. Again, it will be STOCK ATT ROM, so you will need to figure out your network settings.

After installing this ROM, you can use ioroot to Root your device so you can remove the ATT bloatware if you prefer.

Thanks for your help, worked like a charm!!
The Following User Says Thank You to mrh4ck For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes