Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

S5 rooted, now what?

OP mkitchin

28th June 2014, 01:37 PM   |  #111  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
5 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
info on rooting
Quote:
Originally Posted by GlitchMob

Sure, but I cannot guarantee you won't have any issues. I managed to remove a decent amount of bloat apps and rebooted successfully. I will list them below.

- Google +
- Google Books
- Google Play Music
- Audible
- VZW protection
- Messaging +
- Amazon
- Kindle
- Amazon Appstore
- IMDB
- VZW ringtones
- VZW protection and support
- Isis Wallet

and a few more that I cannot remember. I hope this helps.

---------- Post added at 07:28 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:28 PM ----------



Wouldn't the bootloader need to be unlocked first?

hey mate can i get some help from you. Ive been and ios user for years. Ive switched to samsung and have the s5 international. All i wanted to do was delete all the bloatware from my phone to have access to the memory ram i want. What would be the steps to doing this.

Rooting first? do i need to install extra apps, files? new to this so please go easy. Only ever rooted one phone before. Cheers
28th June 2014, 02:18 PM   |  #112  
chrisbass's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Norwich
Thanks Meter: 100
 
407 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmcg86

hey mate can i get some help from you. Ive been and ios user for years. Ive switched to samsung and have the s5 international. All i wanted to do was delete all the bloatware from my phone to have access to the memory ram i want. What would be the steps to doing this.

Rooting first? do i need to install extra apps, files? new to this so please go easy. Only ever rooted one phone before. Cheers

Yes, first off root is required. I would recommend buying titanium backup pro and root explorer, two apps that I feel are root essentials. There are a couple other threads about removing bloat and which bloat is safe to remove. Sorry I don't have a step by step solution but this'll be a good start
28th June 2014, 02:23 PM   |  #113  
Senior Member
Flag SE PA
Thanks Meter: 14
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Install towelroot.apk, SuperSU v1.99r4, and Root Checker Basic (from Play store). Run the v1.99r4 SuperSU, reboot, and use Root Checker to confirm you're rooted.

I strongly recommend using Titanium backup (Play store) to first freeze the bloatware you want to remove before actually uninstalling it.

And, of course, rooting can break things. If you have doubts, don't do it.
The Following User Says Thank You to RBEmerson For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th June 2014, 06:54 PM   |  #114  
djmouse's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag atlantic city
Thanks Meter: 532
 
2,110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Donate to Me
More
Anyone got viper4andriod fx working,I've got it installed with driver,driver status is all good expect for processing,I just want to boost my system audio,followed all the set ups on the thread,maybe the kernel is not compatible?I've always used it on custom roms,any help would be appriciated,I've changed build prop like it tells you,tried compatable mode with audio settings off on viper ,tried normal mode with viper on in system sound settings,tried forcing viper ,installed as system app,and user app,I'm out of options.
29th June 2014, 08:01 PM   |  #115  
eragon5779's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 118
 
200 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by djmouse

Anyone got viper4andriod fx working,I've got it installed with driver,driver status is all good expect for processing,I just want to boost my system audio,followed all the set ups on the thread,maybe the kernel is not compatible?I've always used it on custom roms,any help would be appriciated,I've changed build prop like it tells you,tried compatable mode with audio settings off on viper ,tried normal mode with viper on in system sound settings,tried forcing viper ,installed as system app,and user app,I'm out of options.

I had an issue with it. You can't use the stock music app. I use Rocket Player and have no issues.

Sent from my ROOTED white SM-G900V using XDA Premium 4
29th June 2014, 08:22 PM   |  #116  
djmouse's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag atlantic city
Thanks Meter: 532
 
2,110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eragon5779

I had an issue with it. You can't use the stock music app. I use Rocket Player and have no issues.

Sent from my ROOTED white SM-G900V using XDA Premium 4

It works with MX player,but that when I'm playing audio or video files from srorage,but I'm looking to boost system audio like when you tap on keyboard or press back button,I know when I've used viper4andriod in custom roms and used the extra loud option,and switch between slight,moderate,or extreme I could hear it as I selected them,so with rocket player that will allow that,or it will do what mx player is already doing?
Quote:
Originally Posted by eragon5779

I had an issue with it. You can't use the stock music app. I use Rocket Player and have no issues.

Sent from my ROOTED white SM-G900V using XDA Premium 4



---------- Post added at 02:22 PM ---------- Previous post was at 02:17 PM ----------

And I have a audio uI file with all the AOSP sound like the key tick and the lock sound and few others if anyone's interested,it's just a file I made of .ogg files you just copy it to your system/media/audio/ui and combine it works perfect,and all the original sounds are still there just as a .ogg.bak. let me know if anyone's interested
30th June 2014, 01:35 AM   |  #117  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 24
 
159 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by eragon5779

I had an issue with it. You can't use the stock music app. I use Rocket Player and have no issues.

Sent from my ROOTED white SM-G900V using XDA Premium 4

It absolutely works on the stock music app.

But you didn't say if you were trying to boost speaker, bt, headphones, etc. Just put a check next to master power and extra loud if trying to boost the speaker, then restart.
30th June 2014, 05:24 PM   |  #118  
elliwigy's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 1,167
 
2,680 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by djmouse

Anyone got viper4andriod fx working,I've got it installed with driver,driver status is all good expect for processing,I just want to boost my system audio,followed all the set ups on the thread,maybe the kernel is not compatible?I've always used it on custom roms,any help would be appriciated,I've changed build prop like it tells you,tried compatable mode with audio settings off on viper ,tried normal mode with viper on in system sound settings,tried forcing viper ,installed as system app,and user app,I'm out of options.

my rom is severely debloated (only 618mb) but i have not added viper yet.. ricks rom has viper installed and working.. its on my to do list

Sent from my SM-G900V using XDA Premium HD app
30th June 2014, 10:00 PM   |  #119  
djmouse's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag atlantic city
Thanks Meter: 532
 
2,110 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ldeveraux

It absolutely works on the stock music app.

But you didn't say if you were trying to boost speaker, bt, headphones, etc. Just put a check next to master power and extra loud if trying to boost the speaker, then restart.

I've tried that,it doesn't work for me,boosting the speaker that is,are you forcing viper?using compatible mode or normal?and if in sound settings/advanced /music fx, are you using sound alive,music fx,or viper?and did you do the build prop changes,I've tried it every witch way and can't get any boost on speaker.

---------- Post added at 03:58 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:53 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by elliwigy

my rom is severely debloated (only 618mb) but i have not added viper yet.. ricks rom has viper installed and working.. its on my to do list

Sent from my SM-G900V using XDA Premium HD app

Yea I'm trying to stay as close to stock only getting rid of att bloat,I actually use a lot of the Samsung features,so with root,safe strap,and xposed I don't really need to flash a rom (yet).and I read something about not being able to flash roms with safe strap yet,or something with the slots,didn't fully look into it as I really just needed it for making backups.

---------- Post added at 04:00 PM ---------- Previous post was at 03:58 PM ----------

And I just realized I'm in the Verizon thread lol.
1st July 2014, 12:14 AM   |  #120  
tdawg0213's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 105
 
241 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
Wrong carrier
Delete
Last edited by tdawg0213; 1st July 2014 at 12:21 AM.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
root verizon galaxy s5
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes