Post Reply

[Q] Rooting Verizon S4 on AT&T Network

OP pavan94

27th May 2014, 03:44 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Hi,

I have a Verizon S4 (SCH-1545) MK2 running Android 4.3. It is rooted and I flashed Hyperdrive 13 via SafeStrap. Then, I switched carriers to AT&T, but I am using the same Verizon S4. I am still running HD13.

I was wondering if I can upgrade to HD 16. I have to upgrade my base to NC5 KitKat 4.4.2 before I can flash HD16. Will me switching carriers have any effect on how I upgrade/root/flash HD16 and all roms in the future?

Thanks
28th May 2014, 01:01 AM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
bummppp
28th May 2014, 04:54 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 37
 
363 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by pavan94

Hi,

I have a Verizon S4 (SCH-1545) MK2 running Android 4.3. It is rooted and I flashed Hyperdrive 13 via SafeStrap. Then, I switched carriers to AT&T, but I am using the same Verizon S4. I am still running HD13.

I was wondering if I can upgrade to HD 16. I have to upgrade my base to NC5 KitKat 4.4.2 before I can flash HD16. Will me switching carriers have any effect on how I upgrade/root/flash HD16 and all roms in the future?

Thanks

Verizon uses CDMA and AT&T uses GSM, you may be able to get Voice working, but I highly doubt you will get an LTE connection since they are different frequencies.
2nd July 2014, 02:33 AM   |  #4  
ghost0001's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Killeen
Thanks Meter: 5
 
142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by pavan94

Hi,

I have a Verizon S4 (SCH-1545) MK2 running Android 4.3. It is rooted and I flashed Hyperdrive 13 via SafeStrap. Then, I switched carriers to AT&T, but I am using the same Verizon S4. I am still running HD13.

I was wondering if I can upgrade to HD 16. I have to upgrade my base to NC5 KitKat 4.4.2 before I can flash HD16. Will me switching carriers have any effect on how I upgrade/root/flash HD16 and all roms in the future?

Thanks

Recently, they unlocked one of the bands of LTE to allow traffic in the Verizon S4. If you check the bands on phonescoops, it will show that is is compatible with one of the LTE bands. In theory, it should get LTE in the major cities that have that band. However, Verizon likes to be stupid and lock their devices.

Verizon:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/phone.php?p=4066
GSM:
http://www.phonescoop.com/phones/phone.php?p=4058

Cellular Freqs:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cellula..._Frequency_Use

You will be able to get GSM working on your S4 with EDGE or even 3G data, but LTE is unlikely. Voice and SMS will work fine. You will have to get the APN settings for AT&T and set it up in your phone.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Samsung Galaxy S 4 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank