Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,743,150 Members 44,539 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Converting to 'stock' GPE ROM

Tip us?
 
Belac77
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jun 2014
Default [Q] Converting to 'stock' GPE ROM

The only GPE ROM I've seen doesn't work on Sprint, since it is not GSM. If I use simunlock, will I be able to install a GPE ROM that has OTA updates from Google?

Thanks in advance!
 
fryguy503
Old
#2  
Member
Thanks Meter 8
Posts: 30
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Pittsburgh
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belac77 View Post
The only GPE ROM I've seen doesn't work on Sprint, since it is not GSM. If I use simunlock, will I be able to install a GPE ROM that has OTA updates from Google?

Thanks in advance!
You could install a CDMA GPE Rom, or AOSP Rom. There are many to choose from, Some Stockish, others not so much. Poke around the Original Android Dev forum.
Phone: Sprint HTC One
Rom: LiquidSmooth Nightlies
Android version: 4.4.4
HBoot: 1.5.5.0000 S-Off (Hex Edited)
Radio: 1.00.20.1108
Recovery: TWRP 2.7.1.2

Press button if I helped you somehow.
 
StormyNight
Old
(Last edited by StormyNight; 30th June 2014 at 04:59 AM.)
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 254
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Hyderabad
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belac77 View Post
The only GPE ROM I've seen doesn't work on Sprint, since it is not GSM. If I use simunlock, will I be able to install a GPE ROM that has OTA updates from Google?

Thanks in advance!
Nocturnal's GPE ROM worked for me and I was SIM unlocked on a GSM network. I was on v4.0.6 though, not sure about the latest version.

Although you won't get official updates from Google, the ROM is updated frequently. Recently @gruesomewolf (who is the developer of the ROM) shared a screenshot of him running 4.4.4 and said it should be ready for release soon.
 
luigi311
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 273
Posts: 1,291
Join Date: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Belac77 View Post
The only GPE ROM I've seen doesn't work on Sprint, since it is not GSM. If I use simunlock, will I be able to install a GPE ROM that has OTA updates from Google?

Thanks in advance!
I'm sorry but converting this device will not work because they are essentially different from the international version due to the inclusion of cdma radios. You can install a GE Rom but that's as close as it gets to getting a GE experience

Sent from my HTCONE using Tapatalk
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes