Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Are there any roms released for the gs5 att?

OP jeffcojake

30th June 2014, 05:55 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Flag cedar hill
Thanks Meter: 6
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Is there any roms released for the Galaxy s5 att? I just installed the safestrap recovery. I was hoping to flash cyanogenmod to my phone if they have a compatible rom released for my phone. And i was also wandering if i could install a rom made for the verizon phone or lets say the international version to my phone? Or does the rom have to be made specifically for the att galaxy s5? Thank you.
30th June 2014, 06:08 AM   |  #2  
cerobles1's Avatar
Senior Member
Riverview
Thanks Meter: 74
 
347 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Bro, where have you been? Follow this thread for your question: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2794838

Sent from my SM-G900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
30th June 2014, 07:33 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Flag cedar hill
Thanks Meter: 6
 
76 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cerobles1

Bro, where have you been? Follow this thread for your question: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2794838

Sent from my SM-G900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Ok thanks, I have a few questions though. I installed safestrap, but isn't the bootloader still locked? Or did installing safestrap unlock it? And if so, can I flash a ROM directly from safestrap? Or do I have to use a computer? I thought my device is s-on since I never changed that lol. This is my first Samsung device, sorry for all of the questions.


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
1st July 2014, 06:07 PM   |  #4  
cstayton's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Waite Park, MN.
Thanks Meter: 3,627
 
2,320 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffcojake

Ok thanks, I have a few questions though. I installed safestrap, but isn't the bootloader still locked? Or did installing safestrap unlock it? And if so, can I flash a ROM directly from safestrap? Or do I have to use a computer? I thought my device is s-on since I never changed that lol. This is my first Samsung device, sorry for all of the questions.


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Yes Your Bootloader is locked
No SafeStrap did not unlock it
Yes You can flash a ROM from SafeStrap (similar to flashing any other rom)
(make sure you choose install recovery from the app first)
just reboot to recovery (through the safestrap application backup your existing rom
and flash your shinny new custom rom.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to cstayton For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd July 2014, 03:52 PM   |  #5  
btort1's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 20
 
290 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by cstayton

Yes Your Bootloader is locked
No SafeStrap did not unlock it
Yes You can flash a ROM from SafeStrap (similar to flashing any other rom)
(make sure you choose install recovery from the app first)
just reboot to recovery (through the safestrap application backup your existing rom
and flash your shinny new custom rom.

Can you do a nandroid backup of everything on your phone with safestrap?

And we can install safestrap on AT&T no problem right?
2nd July 2014, 03:57 PM   |  #6  
harlenm's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 156
 
1,814 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2007
Safestrap is just a way to get a custom recovery installed. Safestrap adds a menu to the boot up process that allows you to boot into twrp recovery. You can do anything you want there, except flash kernels.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 09:57 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:57 AM ----------

And s-on is an HTC thing, nothing to do with Samsung.

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
2nd July 2014, 04:11 PM   |  #7  
cstayton's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Flag Waite Park, MN.
Thanks Meter: 3,627
 
2,320 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by btort1

Can you do a nandroid backup of everything on your phone with safestrap?

And we can install safestrap on AT&T no problem right?

yes you can

The Following User Says Thank You to cstayton For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes