Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Can I use "Factory data reset" on MK2 rooted phone?

OP dwestall

27th June 2014, 10:00 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Houston
Thanks Meter: 2
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
I'm running MK2 rooted and recently my phone stopped charging. I've tried everything to get it to work, I'm fairly certain it's a hardware failure. I know I can probably replace the connector myself, but I prefer warranty. I've backed up everything (via cloud) and now I want to restore to factory settings. I can't use ODIN because the problem also prevents me from connecting to a computer.

Is it safe to perform the phone's "Factory data reset". Will have restore to factory setup?

Thanks.
28th June 2014, 07:08 PM   |  #2  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 652
 
1,309 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwestall

I'm running MK2 rooted and recently my phone stopped charging. I've tried everything to get it to work, I'm fairly certain it's a hardware failure. I know I can probably replace the connector myself, but I prefer warranty. I've backed up everything (via cloud) and now I want to restore to factory settings. I can't use ODIN because the problem also prevents me from connecting to a computer.

Is it safe to perform the phone's "Factory data reset". Will have restore to factory setup?

Thanks.

It should work just fine. Keep in mind the root binary is installed to system though so you might get custom flag for that.
28th June 2014, 10:26 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
14 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
I don't think factory reset works on rooted phones that have been encrypted.
30th June 2014, 04:36 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Houston
Thanks Meter: 2
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tronicus

I don't think factory reset works on rooted phones that have been encrypted.

My phone is not encrypted, but thanks for the tip.

Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9

It should work just fine. Keep in mind the root binary is installed to system though so you might get custom flag for that.

I'm only rooted and haven't installed a custom recovery or custom rom. If I factory reset, can at&t tell my phone was once rooted?
30th June 2014, 07:04 PM   |  #5  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 652
 
1,309 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwestall

My phone is not encrypted, but thanks for the tip.


I'm only rooted and haven't installed a custom recovery or custom rom. If I factory reset, can at&t tell my phone was once rooted?

Yes, the su binary will stay there and trip the custom flag. If you want to remove that, either download and flags the ODIN package for your system or use SuperSU to unroot.

Sent from my SGH-I337 running GPE
30th June 2014, 10:50 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Houston
Thanks Meter: 2
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9

Yes, the su binary will stay there and trip the custom flag. If you want to remove that, either download and flags the ODIN package for your system or use SuperSU to unroot.

Can't use ODIN, the USB port doesn't work. So, I un-rooted in SuperSU, restarted the phone, then performed the Factory Data Reset. Everything is now reset, the phone still doesn't charge, the USB port still doesn't work. However, now when I turn on the phone I get the "Custom" lock icon. Not sure what I did wrong. I guess I'll have to repair it myself now?
1st July 2014, 02:22 AM   |  #7  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 652
 
1,309 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwestall

Can't use ODIN, the USB port doesn't work. So, I un-rooted in SuperSU, restarted the phone, then performed the Factory Data Reset. Everything is now reset, the phone still doesn't charge, the USB port still doesn't work. However, now when I turn on the phone I get the "Custom" lock icon. Not sure what I did wrong. I guess I'll have to repair it myself now?

You might of still had busybox, or if you had frozen system apps or something. I'd say see if you can use towelroot real quick, install a busybox app, remove it, and then unroot again. You also need to remove safestrap if you ever had that. Before doing that, restart your phone a few times though, as sometimes it won't change immediately or will say custom after a fresh install.
2nd July 2014, 04:54 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Houston
Thanks Meter: 2
 
20 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9

You might of still had busybox, or if you had frozen system apps or something. I'd say see if you can use towelroot real quick, install a busybox app, remove it, and then unroot again. You also need to remove safestrap if you ever had that. Before doing that, restart your phone a few times though, as sometimes it won't change immediately or will say custom after a fresh install.

I never installed Safestrap, but I did freeze a number of system apps using Titanium Backup and I never unfroze them before I did the unroot and factory reset. I also had Xposed framework and Wanam Xposed module still installed, which I now understand can cause issues.

What would you suggest I do to get rid of the "custom" lock? I've restarted the phone 6-7 times and the lock is still there. Would running Towelroot still work with my situation? Is there anything else I need to do before I unroot again, like unfreeze apps or revert the Wanam Xposed settings?

Thanks for you help.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes