Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,569 Members 44,580 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] KitKatDS Simcard Unlocking

Tip us?
 
Conner_Itayi
Old
(Last edited by Conner_Itayi; 26th June 2014 at 03:45 AM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: May 2014
Question [Q] KitKatDS Simcard Unlocking

Hey guys,

So I've got KitKatDS on my MT4GS however I need to know how to unlock the phone to use my AT&T simcard, I remember doing something with the terminal to get the unlock code, along with putting a few digits into the phone to get the IMEI number however I don't know what I put in. Along with that, when attempting to search for a network provider the phone tells me that there's a network error. Somewhere on the original thread (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2551715) there was something about it however I didn't understand exactly how to do it, so if anyone could help out, give some steps that would be great!

Thanks, Conner
 
joel.maxuel
Old
#2  
joel.maxuel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 206
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Halifax
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conner_Itayi View Post
Hey guys,

So I've got KitKatDS on my MT4GS however I need to know how to unlock the phone to use my AT&T simcard, I remember doing something with the terminal to get the unlock code, along with putting a few digits into the phone to get the IMEI number however I don't know what I put in. Along with that, when attempting to search for a network provider the phone tells me that there's a network error. Somewhere on the original thread (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2551715) there was something about it however I didn't understand exactly how to do it, so if anyone could help out, give some steps that would be great!

Thanks, Conner
Hi Conner,

This is a bit like what I had. Non-stock based ROM's (such as CyanogenMod) don't play nice with the unlock process. Normally when you boot up with the foreign SIM card in, it will ask for the unlock code before you can even get to the dialer.

To complete the unlock process, you must be on stock, or a stock based ROM. I used MikTouch (download link), and aside from the first boot taking forever (almost thought it was in bootloop), the process went smoothly. However, to use MikTouch, you will need to downgrade your recovery temporarily (or you will get an assert failure while flashing).

Hope this helps.
Cheers,
Joel Maxuel

Phone: HTC MyTouch 4G Slide (Doubleshot), S-Off, running CyanogenMod 10.1
Phone: LG Optimus F3Q (D520), stock rooted, CWM, Xposed, GravityBox
Tablet: Asus MeMO Pad 8 (ME180A), stock rooted
Retired: Samsung Infuse 4G (i997R) running CarbonROM 4.4.4

Something prove useful? Don't forget to press that little (Thanks) button.
The Following User Says Thank You to joel.maxuel For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Conner_Itayi
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: May 2014
Thanks joel, I'll give it a try, any suggestions to what I should backdate to?

Sent from my MyTouch 4G Slide using XDA Free mobile app
 
joel.maxuel
Old
#4  
joel.maxuel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 206
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Halifax
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conner_Itayi View Post
Thanks joel, I'll give it a try, any suggestions to what I should backdate to?

Sent from my MyTouch 4G Slide using XDA Free mobile app
Depending on your preference (whichever recovery you are used to, probably ClockWork) I would use either CWM 5.0.2.7 or TWRP 2.2.2.0
Cheers,
Joel Maxuel

Phone: HTC MyTouch 4G Slide (Doubleshot), S-Off, running CyanogenMod 10.1
Phone: LG Optimus F3Q (D520), stock rooted, CWM, Xposed, GravityBox
Tablet: Asus MeMO Pad 8 (ME180A), stock rooted
Retired: Samsung Infuse 4G (i997R) running CarbonROM 4.4.4

Something prove useful? Don't forget to press that little (Thanks) button.
The Following User Says Thank You to joel.maxuel For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Conner_Itayi
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by joel.maxuel View Post
Depending on your preference (whichever recovery you are used to, probably ClockWork) I would use either CWM 5.0.2.7 or TWRP 2.2.2.0
Thanks, will try. I'll let you know what happens.
 
Conner_Itayi
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: May 2014
Default New issue?

1.4 seems to help people with the 'network error' in 1.3 however when I load the new rom android continuously crashes and i have no way to access the phone apart from the cyanogen start screen and the crash notification.
 
joel.maxuel
Old
#7  
joel.maxuel's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 45
Posts: 206
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Halifax
Quote:
Originally Posted by Conner_Itayi View Post
1.4 seems to help people with the 'network error' in 1.3 however when I load the new rom android continuously crashes and i have no way to access the phone apart from the cyanogen start screen and the crash notification.
Might have been a bad download. Try downloading again, then factory reset (data, cache, dalvik) before flashing again. Hopefully that's all is needed.
Cheers,
Joel Maxuel

Phone: HTC MyTouch 4G Slide (Doubleshot), S-Off, running CyanogenMod 10.1
Phone: LG Optimus F3Q (D520), stock rooted, CWM, Xposed, GravityBox
Tablet: Asus MeMO Pad 8 (ME180A), stock rooted
Retired: Samsung Infuse 4G (i997R) running CarbonROM 4.4.4

Something prove useful? Don't forget to press that little (Thanks) button.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Google Glass XE20.1 Update Brings Improved Contacts, Head Nudge, New Cards and Commands

Ever since Google unveiled Android Wear earlier this … more

Remote Control Your Android Device with Monitordroid

The Android OS showsgreat potential in many areas. One of most interesting things that … more

Intel Partners with Unity to Support Android on Intel-Based Devices

Intel, largely known for their long-standing reputation as the king of … more

Device Review: Samsung Gear Live

Recently, Google announced Android Wear to the world. Android Wear is the Android-based initiative from … more