FORUMS

AOSP 5.1 Lollipop for Nexus Q

Google Nexus Q is an intriguing device released with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich. It was abandoned by … more

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (Apr 17 – 24)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Glimpse Notifications: Easier Lockscreen Notifications

Lollipop brought a revamp to the lockscreen, taking away custom widgets but … more

What Are the Best Looking Apps on Android?

As more developers are updating their apps with Material Design elements, we’re … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Fake Wifi connection when on Ethernet

13th May 2014, 02:30 PM |#1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Howdy folks, I am looking to find out if there is a way to have Wifi show as active and the primary network connection when the FireTV is actually connected via Ethernet. Many apps, specifically streaming apps, require a wifi connection and will not run without it. I prefer to run my FireTV via Ethernet due to the environment mine is in.

This type of hack or workaround would also be useful for the Ouya and any other android device that has an Ethernet port.

To sum up, I am looking for a hack or workaround that will present the Ethernet connection as Wifi to the OS or applications.

I found this document, and page 30 reference what I am looking to do:
http://www.elinux.org/images/9/98/Di...nnectivity.pdf


Thoughts?
Thanks!
 
 
14th May 2014, 08:56 PM |#2  
FrostyOrDie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 75
 
More
This would benefit our android phones as many apps won't work over carrier network to avoid data overages. I got unlimited data and get better speeds from Verizon than I do at home. If it was an app, xposed module, or some other mod, I would pay for it.

Sent from my One M8 using Tapatalk
16th May 2014, 03:49 PM |#3  
Chahk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 190
 
More
A better way would be contacting the developers of that particular app and having them fix it, so that Ethernet is treated the same way as Wi-Fi.
16th May 2014, 05:14 PM |#4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chahk

A better way would be contacting the developers of that particular app and having them fix it, so that Ethernet is treated the same way as Wi-Fi.

It is only an assumption, but I am guessing that apps such as the Xfinity TV app by Comcast are setup that way so that people can not use devices such as the FireTV and the Ouya as a replacement for renting a set top box from them. Yes, I can get around this issue by going on wifi, but why use an worst connection method when there may be another way around it? Also Androids open environment is supposed to encourage the creation of alternative ways of doing things.

Looking through other threads, there appears to be a desire for an app that spoofs wifi for people who are also only on 4G or other wireless methods. Having an app on android that could spoof a wifi connection when you are 3G or 4G wireless would be just as useful for some people.
The Following User Says Thank You to Spelvin For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th May 2014, 05:20 PM |#5  
Chahk's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag New York
Thanks Meter: 190
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spelvin

Looking through other threads, there appears to be a desire for an app that spoofs wifi for people who are also only on 4G or other wireless methods. Having an app on android that could spoof a wifi connection when you are 3G or 4G wireless would be just as useful for some people.

I can see the usefulness of such an app, but it would probably require a rooted device. As far as I know, Fire TV has not been rooted yet.
17th May 2014, 06:14 AM |#6  
FrostyOrDie's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 75
 
More
It has been rooted. But the method has not been shared yet. I believe he said it wasn't ready for release yet. Something along those lines. At any rate it will be eventually

Sent from my One M8 using Tapatalk
16th June 2014, 04:52 PM |#7  
Member
Thanks Meter: 4
 
More
Since Fire TV is rooted how do we go about faking WiFi when wired?
3rd July 2014, 12:36 AM |#8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
More
Looks like it actually exists!

http://repo.xposed.info/module/com.l...wificonnection

You need Xposed installed to run it.

Enjoy!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes