Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,909 Members 50,057 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Flash firmware another model

Tip us?
 
breni
Old
(Last edited by breni; 26th May 2014 at 04:02 PM.)
#1  
breni's Avatar
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 38
Join Date: May 2014
Default Flash firmware another model

Hello,
I bought a T-Mobile Galaxy S5 SM-G900T recently and want to know if is it possible to flash a stock firmware of another model to my cellphone?
For example, if I flash the firmware built for SM-G900M to my phone, can it cause any damage?
Thank you very much!

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Free mobile app
 
Kjc99
Old
#2  
Kjc99's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 493
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Anchorage
I have a Sm-g900t and this is a screen shot of my phone info.... Is my phone running a 900m firmware because my carrier sells the 900T but we do not have T-Mobile here in Alaska

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1404028801627.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	71.9 KB
ID:	2823416  
*GALAXY S5*
 
vndnguyen
Old
#3  
vndnguyen's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 596
Posts: 1,441
Join Date: Sep 2009

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kjc99 View Post
I have a Sm-g900t and this is a screen shot of my phone info.... Is my phone running a 900m firmware because my carrier sells the 900T but we do not have T-Mobile here in Alaska

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
To get more info of the device, try this app: Phone INFO ★Samsung★
The Following User Says Thank You to vndnguyen For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Kjc99
Old
#4  
Kjc99's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 86
Posts: 493
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Anchorage
Quote:
Originally Posted by vndnguyen View Post
To get more info of the device, try this app: Phone INFO ★Samsung★
I've used it... Appears my phone came from my carrier with 900M rom, and tmo baseband... So is it possible to flash 900M rom through Odin? On a 900t?also csc says TTT which is Trinidad.... I tried stock tmo version on my phone and wasn't very happy with white dialer and Hotspot issues

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
*GALAXY S5*
The Following User Says Thank You to Kjc99 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
fffft
Old
#5  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 189
Posts: 579
Join Date: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kjc99 View Post
Appears my phone came from my carrier with 900M rom, and tmo baseband... So is it possible to flash 900M rom through Odin? On a 900t?also csc says TTT which is Trinidad....

You asked all of these questions in a previous thread Kjc99. And I answered them at length. But you seem intent on ignoring the parts that you didn't want to accept.

Your 900T will work fine on another carrier if it uses the same frequency bands. You won't install a baseband from a 900M. You can change a ROM if you wish. And you won't get a TMB OTA with a Trinidad CSC and no OTA signal.

It's your phone, so have at it. But if you still intend to try flashing a 900M bootloader onto your 900T, you will just brick it.

.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fffft For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes