Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Flash firmware another model

OP breni

26th May 2014, 01:49 AM   |  #1  
breni's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 8
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2014
Hello,
I bought a T-Mobile Galaxy S5 SM-G900T recently and want to know if is it possible to flash a stock firmware of another model to my cellphone?
For example, if I flash the firmware built for SM-G900M to my phone, can it cause any damage?
Thank you very much!

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Free mobile app
Last edited by breni; 26th May 2014 at 05:02 PM.
29th June 2014, 10:01 AM   |  #2  
Kjc99's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Anchorage
Thanks Meter: 127
 
667 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
I have a Sm-g900t and this is a screen shot of my phone info.... Is my phone running a 900m firmware because my carrier sells the 900T but we do not have T-Mobile here in Alaska

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1404028801627.jpg
Views:	56
Size:	71.9 KB
ID:	2823416  
4th July 2014, 03:42 AM   |  #3  
vndnguyen's Avatar
Senior Member
Vinnitsa
Thanks Meter: 986
 
2,722 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kjc99

I have a Sm-g900t and this is a screen shot of my phone info.... Is my phone running a 900m firmware because my carrier sells the 900T but we do not have T-Mobile here in Alaska

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

To get more info of the device, try this app: Phone INFO ★Samsung★
The Following User Says Thank You to vndnguyen For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2014, 04:18 AM   |  #4  
Kjc99's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Anchorage
Thanks Meter: 127
 
667 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by vndnguyen

To get more info of the device, try this app: Phone INFO ★Samsung★

I've used it... Appears my phone came from my carrier with 900M rom, and tmo baseband... So is it possible to flash 900M rom through Odin? On a 900t?also csc says TTT which is Trinidad.... I tried stock tmo version on my phone and wasn't very happy with white dialer and Hotspot issues

Sent from my SM-G900T using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to Kjc99 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th July 2014, 05:00 AM   |  #5  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 622
 
1,978 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kjc99

Appears my phone came from my carrier with 900M rom, and tmo baseband... So is it possible to flash 900M rom through Odin? On a 900t?also csc says TTT which is Trinidad....


You asked all of these questions in a previous thread Kjc99. And I answered them at length. But you seem intent on ignoring the parts that you didn't want to accept.

Your 900T will work fine on another carrier if it uses the same frequency bands. You won't install a baseband from a 900M. You can change a ROM if you wish. And you won't get a TMB OTA with a Trinidad CSC and no OTA signal.

It's your phone, so have at it. But if you still intend to try flashing a 900M bootloader onto your 900T, you will just brick it.

.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to fffft For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes