Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

No recovery mode please help!!

OP hrangwala95

13th May 2014, 02:14 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Hi

I had rooted my lg g2 then i went back to stock using the instructions on xda and when phone booted after flashing stock rom all my old apps and data was there but without root is this normal? So i decided to do a hard reset with the volume down and power key but it just doesnt boot into stock recovery or hard reset menu i tried more than 30 times!! What has happened to my stock recovery? Do i not have a. recovery or what? What should i do please help me. I am running kit kat on lg g2 d802 international version.

And one last question does flashing stock rom bring stock recovery back?
13th May 2014, 02:18 PM   |  #2  
bender_007's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,635
 
2,340 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hrangwala95

Hi

I had rooted my lg g2 then i went back to stock using the instructions on xda and when phone booted after flashing stock rom all my old apps and data was there but without root is this normal? So i decided to do a hard reset with the volume down and power key but it just doesnt boot into stock recovery or hard reset menu i tried more than 30 times!! What has happened to my stock recovery? Do i not have a. recovery or what? What should i do please help me. I am running kit kat on lg g2 d802 international version.

And one last question does flashing stock rom bring stock recovery back?

yes, flashing stock kdz brings stock recovery back.

The new combination is, hold power + volume down until you see the lg logo, release shortly, then hold volume up and volume down(this will perform a factory reset).

Try connecting to a pc, turn on debuging mode. Download adb, type adb reboot recovery


or terminal emulator from play store --also reboot recovery
The Following User Says Thank You to bender_007 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th May 2014, 02:28 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Hi thanks for the help the new combination is still not working do i have to get the timing perfect or what?
13th May 2014, 02:39 PM   |  #4  
bender_007's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,635
 
2,340 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Well. Is it the new 20b and 20d? Power off the phone. Hold vol down and power until the lg logo, release just for a short moment and then hold just volume up and volume down.

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to bender_007 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th May 2014, 02:57 PM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bender_007

Well. Is it the new 20b and 20d? Power off the phone. Hold vol down and power until the lg logo, release just for a short moment and then hold just volume up and volume down.

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Thankyou soooo much adb worked and i got to the recovery and did a factory reset and cache reset from there. Is this the same as the button combination reset or are the two resets different? and i did data wipe reset first then cache reset is that right?

Again thankyou so much for your help i really appreciate it.

One last question how do i wipe dalvik cache without root and custom recovery?
Last edited by hrangwala95; 13th May 2014 at 03:11 PM.
13th May 2014, 03:09 PM   |  #6  
bender_007's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,635
 
2,340 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
It's the same. They changed the combination since 20b(new 20b)
The Following User Says Thank You to bender_007 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
13th May 2014, 03:13 PM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
21 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by bender_007

It's the same. They changed the combination since 20b(new 20b)

One last question how do i wipe dalvik cache without root or custom recovery?
13th May 2014, 03:16 PM   |  #8  
bender_007's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,635
 
2,340 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by hrangwala95

One last question how do i wipe dalvik cache without root or custom recovery?

You can't. You can do a factory reset from settings or manually per APP clear caches.
14th May 2014, 12:57 AM   |  #9  
buenarc's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
270 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by bender_007

Well. Is it the new 20b and 20d? Power off the phone. Hold vol down and power until the lg logo, release just for a short moment and then hold just volume up and volume down.

Sent from my LG-D802 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

So far so good. Backup not needed.
4th July 2014, 09:13 AM   |  #10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Unhappy ROOT still shows up in download mode
I followed the very same procedure to return my phone to stock firmware, but when i enter download mode, it still shows up as "ROOT" in red in the bottom. And i'm unable to enter stock recovery or even the hard reset menu(the one where power button needs to be pressed thrice to reset).
PLEASE HELP ! I hope there is nothing seriously wrong with the device

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes