LG G3 Receives Oversharpening Fix via Modified Kernel

Nothing is perfect, as they say. No matter how alluring or seemingly perfect, … more

APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] 4.4.2 update question

OP Tony90mr

23rd June 2014, 05:32 PM   |  #11  
Member
Brew City, WI
Thanks Meter: 8
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by NAiLs00

Well, I called and spoke with someone and AT&T has the ability to push updates manually if your phone isn't taking it. While she was waiting for the program to open, she was reading over the change log to see what all changed. She couldn't get her program to open, so she went to seek help. Unfortunately she came back and informed me that Kitkat isn't available yet, per a phone engineer. I let her know about many people receiving it already and pointed her to the S3 details on their website that says it's upgradeable to 4.4. I also showed her this:

http://www.samsung.com/us/support/Su...9&preview=true

She is going to speak with some other folks and call me back in an hour. Fingers crossed!

Alright... The rep called me back to let me know what's up! Apparently AT&T is having problems pushing the update at this time and has no ETA when they'll have their end resolved. She suggested I go to Best Buy and have them update my phone through Samsung Experience. The store closest to me has Samsung Experience, so I'll stop there after work and update you. If you happen to try it out yourself before I reply, let me know how it goes!

Now whether AT&T is blowing smoke in my face on both the update problems and Best Buy thing... I have no clue.
Last edited by NAiLs00; 23rd June 2014 at 05:58 PM.
24th June 2014, 02:19 AM   |  #12  
Member
Brew City, WI
Thanks Meter: 8
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by NAiLs00

Alright... The rep called me back to let me know what's up! Apparently AT&T is having problems pushing the update at this time and has no ETA when they'll have their end resolved. She suggested I go to Best Buy and have them update my phone through Samsung Experience. The store closest to me has Samsung Experience, so I'll stop there after work and update you. If you happen to try it out yourself before I reply, let me know how it goes!

Now whether AT&T is blowing smoke in my face on both the update problems and Best Buy thing... I have no clue.

Well, Best Buy does indeed have the Samsung Experience dude present at two locations by me. One location said they didn't know what I was talking about and to wait for AT&T to have the update available. The other location the dude immediately knew what I was talking about and proceeded to update my phone.

They use a software called Smart to do this and it said there was an update for my phone. It took about 5-8 minutes and I was done. Unfortunately the Smart software wasn't so smart, because it just reflashed 4.3 onto my phone. I also attempted to do a manual check and it said "Software Update Interrupted." He proceeded to check again to see if the update was available and this time Smart was saying my phone was up-to-date. Hmph! The Samsung rep said he'd give me a call tomorrow and let me know why their Smart software didn't have 4.4.2 available, even though it should. He wasn't sure if it would just take another week before they got it, but he would get some clarification.

So much for that one.
26th June 2014, 10:40 AM   |  #13  
Junior Member
Flag Dowagiac, MI
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
I have been having the same problem. Everyone else seems to have gotten the update on their SIII's, but me. I feel left out of the KitKat club. Hah! Even my boyfriend has gotten it and we're on the same plan. I tried going through Kies, but it keeps saying that it doesn't support my phone. I even tried manually putting in the model number and S/N through Kies, but that just wants me to update it back to 4.1, which doesn't even make sense. I also tried changing the date on my phone to a future one, but that just made the wait time longer. It keeps saying my phone is up to date and it even says so on Kies. I don't understand...
26th June 2014, 11:50 AM   |  #14  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,488
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
I hate kies. ....lol!
There are two threads in General which will help you to update manually.
26th June 2014, 11:50 PM   |  #15  
Junior Member
Flag Dowagiac, MI
Thanks Meter: 1
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DocHoliday77

I hate kies. ....lol!
There are two threads in General which will help you to update manually.

It was the only suggestion I was given on the AT&T community forums, I thought to at least try it. More of a headache than anything else. Hah!

The only problem is that I don't want to root my phone, like I have done with some of my old phones in the past, since this one is still under contract.
Last edited by Resendetra; 26th June 2014 at 11:54 PM.
27th June 2014, 11:09 AM   |  #16  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,488
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Try this thread then.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2788012
The Following User Says Thank You to DocHoliday77 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
3rd July 2014, 08:47 PM   |  #17  
Member
Brew City, WI
Thanks Meter: 8
 
75 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Well, I stopped at Best Buy again today to see if they had 4.4.2 available and sure enough, they do. He told me the update came in yesterday. I had him update my phone and I'm happy to say I have KitKat on my SGH-I747.

Everything seems MUCH smoother. Bluetooth actually works and connects on its own (instantly, too), WiFi actually seems to be working instead of saying my connection is unstable, and the phone is overall swifter at tasks like it was prior to 4.3. There is also no annoying lock screen delay like 4.3 introduced for me. So overall, I'm VERY happy with 4.4.2.



... now to see if my battery life improves!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-07-03-13-43-11.png
Views:	31
Size:	118.0 KB
ID:	2831138  
4th July 2014, 10:27 AM   |  #18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by NAiLs00

Well, I stopped at Best Buy again today to see if they had 4.4.2 available and sure enough, they do. He told me the update came in yesterday. I had him update my phone and I'm happy to say I have KitKat on my SGH-I747.

Everything seems MUCH smoother. Bluetooth actually works and connects on its own (instantly, too), WiFi actually seems to be working instead of saying my connection is unstable, and the phone is overall swifter at tasks like it was prior to 4.3. There is also no annoying lock screen delay like 4.3 introduced for me. So overall, I'm VERY happy with 4.4.2.



... now to see if my battery life improves!

Hi,

I am now living outside US and I have an UNLOCKED S3 i747 and I wanted to update my 4.3 to Kitkat 4.4. Unfortunately, AT&T dont push 4.4 update if you dont have an active AT&T account. Is there a quick and safe way to update without going through AT&T servers?
4th July 2014, 11:17 AM   |  #19  
DocHoliday77's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag HuntsVegas!!!
Thanks Meter: 6,488
 
9,195 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by icewebber

Hi,

I am now living outside US and I have an UNLOCKED S3 i747 and I wanted to update my 4.3 to Kitkat 4.4. Unfortunately, AT&T dont push 4.4 update if you dont have an active AT&T account. Is there a quick and safe way to update without going through AT&T servers?

Already answered this in a different thread. Check the General section.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes