Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,730,983 Members 45,989 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

WARNING: There are NO Telus stock firmware files!!!

Tip us?
 
TRusselo
Old
#1  
TRusselo's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 2754
Posts: 4,682
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton

 
DONATE TO ME
Exclamation WARNING: There are NO Telus stock firmware files!!!

Just a WARNING to any telus users of the S4.

There are NO real stock firmware files if you ever wanted/needed Telus stock firmware.

www.sammobile.com
and
www.samsung-updates.com

both *show* stock firmware for Telus, but all files I have downloaded are actually BELL firmware.

upon further inspection, the *bell* firmware and *telus* stock odin files on those sites share the same file size and md5.

Just incase some noob who has never used either phone asks.... NO THEY DONT RUN THE SAME STOCK FIRMWARE.

I have confirmed this issue with samsung-updates.com, and it is an error on SAMSUNG's server side, or an error by the carrier??

I have confirmed that this is an issue for all 3 stock firmwares for the telus S4:
I337MVLUFNE1 4.4.2
I337MVLUFNC1 4.4.2
I337MVLUEMK6 4.3

If any Telus user needs to flash stock for warranty purposes, you are SOL.

If you are a telus user WITH A STOCK phone. Please let us know. We will help you pull a dump file, and we can create a stock firmware image.

thanks for reading
 
kiru
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 180
Join Date: May 2005
Have you tried to change the csc when the bell firmware is loaded?
 
htcplussony
Old
#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 28
Posts: 326
Join Date: Aug 2008
The file's the same for Bell Rogers Telus etc
 
TRusselo
Old
#4  
TRusselo's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer - OP
Thanks Meter 2754
Posts: 4,682
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Edmonton

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by kiru View Post
Have you tried to change the csc when the bell firmware is loaded?
Flashing the "telus" firmware as a whole from sammobile or samsung updates, includes the necessary CSC files. And CSC files will not affect the pre-installed carrier apps. there is an obvious issue if you have a telus phone with bell applications pre-installed, and no telus applications.

Quote:
Originally Posted by htcplussony View Post
The file's the same for Bell Rogers Telus etc
Rogers is affected by this issue as well? I really hope you are not stating that they are *supposed* to be the same. I will come to your house and slap you.
 
kiru
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 18
Posts: 180
Join Date: May 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by TRusselo View Post
Flashing the "telus" firmware as a whole from sammobile or samsung updates, includes the necessary CSC files. And CSC files will not affect the pre-installed carrier apps. there is an obvious issue if you have a telus phone with bell applications pre-installed, and no telus applications.
When I changed the csc from Koodo to Rogers... The phone resetted and then I had all the Rogers pre installed software show up. I didn't download the Rogers firmware.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes