Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,908 Members 53,415 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] LTE Help

Tip us?
 
Green1534
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Oct 2012
Default [Q] LTE Help

Hi. I just got the Z2 last week and I need some help with my LTE set up.

1. I am using my nano Sim from my HTC One M8.
2. I downloaded the att file for internet settings
3. Network Mode - LTE (Preferred)
3. The icon reads LTE

Looks like everything is working, but when I run a speed test I get terrible results. Like 0.5 mbps bad.

I have tested in various locations,but always get bad results.

Any ideas?

Thanks!
 
defsix
Old
#2  
defsix's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 393
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Green1534 View Post
Hi. I just got the Z2 last week and I need some help with my LTE set up.

1. I am using my nano Sim from my HTC One M8.
2. I downloaded the att file for internet settings
3. Network Mode - LTE (Preferred)
3. The icon reads LTE

Looks like everything is working, but when I run a speed test I get terrible results. Like 0.5 mbps bad.

I have tested in various locations,but always get bad results.

Any ideas?

Thanks!
LTE isn't all it's cracked up to be .. I got an LTE sim to try recently in a large city. It turned out that H+ was actually faster , LTE was 1-2Mb, H+ was 7-8Mb , however in a less populated area I got LTE upto 20Mb. It's still down to the network in the end.
 
Green1534
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Oct 2012
Thanks for the reply defsix. I tested on h+ also. Same results at 0.5 Mbps.
I know it comes down to coverage, but LTE is good in my area. I tested my wife's iPhone and got about 5 mbps at the same time I got 0.5.
That's why I'm not sure if I don't have something set up right.
So if I am getting the LTE icon is it just bad luck?
 
defsix
Old
#4  
defsix's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 65
Posts: 393
Join Date: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Green1534 View Post
Thanks for the reply defsix. I tested on h+ also. Same results at 0.5 Mbps.
I know it comes down to coverage, but LTE is good in my area. I tested my wife's iPhone and got about 5 mbps at the same time I got 0.5.
That's why I'm not sure if I don't have something set up right.
So if I am getting the LTE icon is it just bad luck?
I'm assuming you have the correct settings on your phone ? Network settings etc.
 
Sango2
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 291
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC / Seattle, WA
Did you call AT&T to register the IMEI of the phone to provision it?
 
farfromovin
Old
#6  
farfromovin's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 379
Posts: 1,812
Join Date: Aug 2011
I've heard from several folks on att that you have to call them to set it up.
Tmobile Note 2- powered by XDA magic.
 
Sango2
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 47
Posts: 291
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Vancouver, BC / Seattle, WA
Drop by an AT&T store to see if you can get a new SIM card. Yours maybe outdated such that the newer one which could have newer information to support other towers.

I'm actually to change my SIM card up because one area I usually go to is a bit weak and they did look at my SIM card info and told me mine was an older one and try getting a new one.
 
Kmac_thp
Old
#8  
Kmac_thp's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 77
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Elkton, MD
If you did all the updates on the phone it shouldn't even show LTE but 4G instead. From my understanding one of the updates broke the LTE symbol so it doesnt show anymore. Mine never says it and I live in an LTE Att area.
"A mans game charges a mans price."

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...