Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Low RAM

OP Sippay

23rd June 2014, 01:13 PM   |  #1  
Sippay's Avatar
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
46 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
I had this phone since 2011 it came with android 2.1 .the phone should have 512mb of RAM but always shows 312mb. I read somewhere that if I upgrade android it will change to 512mb but it still stayed the same. It was running android 2.3 gingerbread until now. I decided to install a custom ROM this year.I installed CyanogenMod 11 snapshot release. It brought so many new cool features to the phone and made it much easier to use. But the RAM is full. Apps like Facebook and Google+ are using up the RAM. Should I get an older version of CyanogenMod? Like cm10, or cm11? I think that the older versions would use less RAM to run on the phone.

Sent from my SGH-I897 using Tapatalk
24th June 2014, 03:42 AM   |  #2  
BWolf56's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Outaouais
Thanks Meter: 1,706
 
3,891 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sippay

I had this phone since 2011 it came with android 2.1 .the phone should have 512mb of RAM but always shows 312mb. I read somewhere that if I upgrade android it will change to 512mb but it still stayed the same. It was running android 2.3 gingerbread until now. I decided to install a custom ROM this year.I installed CyanogenMod 11 snapshot release. It brought so many new cool features to the phone and made it much easier to use. But the RAM is full. Apps like Facebook and Google+ are using up the RAM. Should I get an older version of CyanogenMod? Like cm10, or cm11? I think that the older versions would use less RAM to run on the phone.

Sent from my SGH-I897 using Tapatalk

You're always gonna have some RAM used. You can sacrifice your hd recording for more RAM (with another kernel). But unless you really need it, having 200 RAM being used is nothing.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to BWolf56 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th June 2014, 02:37 PM   |  #3  
Junior Member
Flag Karnataka
Thanks Meter: 11
 
17 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
You cant get whole 512MB of installed RAM as free space in this world! android OS itself consumes 40-50% RAM! Some of the exceptional ROMs like SlimROMS consume less amount of RAM. Secondly, You cant expect Apps like Facebook,Google+,Flipboard work like charm on Captivate as they consume more RAM and Cache memory for their benefit. If you want to use those kind of apps, then you should keep closing them whenever not required. You better use Greenify app from the playstore, it hibernates apps when not in use!

Hope it helps! Cheers!
5th July 2014, 04:48 AM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Flag Curitiba
Thanks Meter: 1
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2013
More
Use any KK rom with NeatKernel 1.09, works great and its very fast in any ROM. I just can't play videos in instagram and sometimes in snapchat but i can live without it. And i deleted some system apps i dont use like native keyboard, calendar, talkback, etc.
7th July 2014, 08:51 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 31
 
384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2010
The 1st gen SGS devices (including the original Galaxy Tab) only has 384mb of "real" RAM. The rest is for the graphic card. With a bigmem kernel, you can sacrifice HD recording/playback for another 30-40mb.
The Following User Says Thank You to thebulletfromhell For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes