Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

No WiFi access via hotspot on Rooted AT&T S4

OP dexterousyash

24th June 2014, 06:45 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Ok, thanks to k1mu's guide here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2565758

I was able to root my phone properly. The key reason to root the phone was no access to tethering. Details for my situation:

Samsung S4, i337, MK2, andriod 4.3 from AT&T. I unlocked it and have been using with Rogers here in Canada but the tethering gives the Mobile data not available/invalid sim error.
I researched for solutions here and on google and all solutions required root, so I rooted the phone using the guide mentioned above. After that I used the method in this link

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2535141


However, since I am using non-AT&T sim, this does not work any more. Further I uninstalled all AT&T apps using ES file explorer but still no luck.
Then I figured out and tried other solutions like FoxFi, etc etc.

Then I used the framework file from the thread below which was able to turn the toggle on.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ghlight=at%26t


Now I can see the the tethering tuned on. I can also connect to the wifi. however, it does not connect to internet. I think I am still missing some piece. I cannot post in the thread above as it is developers section. But I am lost, there is no further solution that I could find on forum or google. My mobile data works fine, I can turn on the tehter, I can connect to the hotspot, but I cannot connect to internet. It is a phone issue for sure.




I am not sure what to do in this case. Any help will be greatly appreciated.


Edit: I have tried this as well, but it did not work.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2535141
Last edited by dexterousyash; 24th June 2014 at 10:53 PM.
26th June 2014, 06:26 AM   |  #2  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Thumbs up
Does anyone think flashing with stock ROM will help? does it delete all system files altogether? But the only stock ROMs available are AT&T, so I do not see it helping much. Any ideas?
27th June 2014, 07:25 PM   |  #3  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 651
 
1,307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dexterousyash

Does anyone think flashing with stock ROM will help? does it delete all system files altogether? But the only stock ROMs available are AT&T, so I do not see it helping much. Any ideas?

If there's a tethering mod for the i337m on 4.3, try using that tethering provision instead. Otherwise, you could try flashing a ROM that uses an i337m base, but you can't flash their stock firmware directly.

Sent from my SGH-I337 running GPE
The Following User Says Thank You to DeadlySin9 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
27th June 2014, 09:54 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9

If there's a tethering mod for the i337m on 4.3, try using that tethering provision instead. Otherwise, you could try flashing a ROM that uses an i337m base, but you can't flash their stock firmware directly.

Sent from my SGH-I337 running GPE



I have tried that tethering mod (if that means replacing the tethering.odex file in the system)
I don't know what i337m base ROM is, but if it is installing AT&T stock ROM, then won't I be in same situation again?
28th June 2014, 01:26 AM   |  #5  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 651
 
1,307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dexterousyash

I have tried that tethering mod (if that means replacing the tethering.odex file in the system)
I don't know what i337m base ROM is, but if it is installing AT&T stock ROM, then won't I be in same situation again?

I337m is the Canadian S4 model, I'm saying to use a tethering method designed for that (the two you posted were for the Verizion and AT&T but not Canadian) or try a TOM based off the Canadian firmware. That way it'll have the file for your specific carrier tethering already in it.
The Following User Says Thank You to DeadlySin9 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
2nd July 2014, 11:57 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9

I337m is the Canadian S4 model, I'm saying to use a tethering method designed for that (the two you posted were for the Verizion and AT&T but not Canadian) or try a TOM based off the Canadian firmware. That way it'll have the file for your specific carrier tethering already in it.


So should I look in files such as this and flash Stock rogers 4.3??

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...9304&nocache=1
3rd July 2014, 05:46 PM   |  #7  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 651
 
1,307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dexterousyash

So should I look in files such as this and flash Stock rogers 4.3??

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...9304&nocache=1

Not the stock firmware, that won't work. I mean to try and find a ROM based off that firmware/made for i337m.

Sent from my SGH-I337 running GPE
The Following User Says Thank You to DeadlySin9 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
7th July 2014, 09:13 PM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9

Not the stock firmware, that won't work. I mean to try and find a ROM based off that firmware/made for i337m.

Sent from my SGH-I337 running GPE

First of all I appreciate your patience in these replies and helping me out.

Here is my next query.

I found this custom ROM based on i337m

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2313469


This post recommended this ROM

http://www.droidviews.com/best-custo...y-s4-sgh-i337/



but they also said I need to make sure that the baseband matches. I have MK2. Should I flash that or should I just go ahead and install the ROM as no such info is mentioned in the XDA thread. Also, are there any other changes I should make before installing this new ROM using safestrap?

please let me know
7th July 2014, 09:36 PM   |  #9  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 651
 
1,307 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dexterousyash

First of all I appreciate your patience in these replies and helping me out.

Here is my next query.

I found this custom ROM based on i337m

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2313469


This post recommended this ROM

http://www.droidviews.com/best-custo...y-s4-sgh-i337/



but they also said I need to make sure that the baseband matches. I have MK2. Should I flash that or should I just go ahead and install the ROM as no such info is mentioned in the XDA thread. Also, are there any other changes I should make before installing this new ROM using safestrap?

please let me know

You'll have to look in the All Things MK2 and NB1 thread for install instructions and if it needs a modified updater-script for Safestrap. Also, the latest version is a 4.4.2 ROM so you'll either need to update to KitKat, use the KitKat Magic Toolkit, or use an older version of Goldeneye.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes