Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,738,867 Members 41,547 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

No WiFi access via hotspot on Rooted AT&T S4

Tip us?
 
dexterousyash
Old
(Last edited by dexterousyash; 24th June 2014 at 09:53 PM.)
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 19
Join Date: Jun 2014
Cloud Search No WiFi access via hotspot on Rooted AT&T S4

Ok, thanks to k1mu's guide here
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2565758

I was able to root my phone properly. The key reason to root the phone was no access to tethering. Details for my situation:

Samsung S4, i337, MK2, andriod 4.3 from AT&T. I unlocked it and have been using with Rogers here in Canada but the tethering gives the Mobile data not available/invalid sim error.
I researched for solutions here and on google and all solutions required root, so I rooted the phone using the guide mentioned above. After that I used the method in this link

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2535141


However, since I am using non-AT&T sim, this does not work any more. Further I uninstalled all AT&T apps using ES file explorer but still no luck.
Then I figured out and tried other solutions like FoxFi, etc etc.

Then I used the framework file from the thread below which was able to turn the toggle on.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...ghlight=at%26t


Now I can see the the tethering tuned on. I can also connect to the wifi. however, it does not connect to internet. I think I am still missing some piece. I cannot post in the thread above as it is developers section. But I am lost, there is no further solution that I could find on forum or google. My mobile data works fine, I can turn on the tehter, I can connect to the hotspot, but I cannot connect to internet. It is a phone issue for sure.




I am not sure what to do in this case. Any help will be greatly appreciated.


Edit: I have tried this as well, but it did not work.

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2535141
 
dexterousyash
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 19
Join Date: Jun 2014
Does anyone think flashing with stock ROM will help? does it delete all system files altogether? But the only stock ROMs available are AT&T, so I do not see it helping much. Any ideas?
 
DeadlySin9
Old
#3  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 587
Posts: 1,205
Join Date: Sep 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dexterousyash View Post
Does anyone think flashing with stock ROM will help? does it delete all system files altogether? But the only stock ROMs available are AT&T, so I do not see it helping much. Any ideas?
If there's a tethering mod for the i337m on 4.3, try using that tethering provision instead. Otherwise, you could try flashing a ROM that uses an i337m base, but you can't flash their stock firmware directly.

Sent from my SGH-I337 running GPE
Current Device: ATT Samsung Galaxy S4 (i337)

Past Devices:
Droid Bionic (GSM Hacked)
HTC Inspire 4G (Desire HD)
Nexus One
Motorola Backflip
HTC Dev Phone 1 (Dream/G1)
The Following User Says Thank You to DeadlySin9 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dexterousyash
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 19
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9 View Post
If there's a tethering mod for the i337m on 4.3, try using that tethering provision instead. Otherwise, you could try flashing a ROM that uses an i337m base, but you can't flash their stock firmware directly.

Sent from my SGH-I337 running GPE


I have tried that tethering mod (if that means replacing the tethering.odex file in the system)
I don't know what i337m base ROM is, but if it is installing AT&T stock ROM, then won't I be in same situation again?
 
DeadlySin9
Old
#5  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 587
Posts: 1,205
Join Date: Sep 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dexterousyash View Post
I have tried that tethering mod (if that means replacing the tethering.odex file in the system)
I don't know what i337m base ROM is, but if it is installing AT&T stock ROM, then won't I be in same situation again?
I337m is the Canadian S4 model, I'm saying to use a tethering method designed for that (the two you posted were for the Verizion and AT&T but not Canadian) or try a TOM based off the Canadian firmware. That way it'll have the file for your specific carrier tethering already in it.
Current Device: ATT Samsung Galaxy S4 (i337)

Past Devices:
Droid Bionic (GSM Hacked)
HTC Inspire 4G (Desire HD)
Nexus One
Motorola Backflip
HTC Dev Phone 1 (Dream/G1)
The Following User Says Thank You to DeadlySin9 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dexterousyash
Old
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 19
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9 View Post
I337m is the Canadian S4 model, I'm saying to use a tethering method designed for that (the two you posted were for the Verizion and AT&T but not Canadian) or try a TOM based off the Canadian firmware. That way it'll have the file for your specific carrier tethering already in it.

So should I look in files such as this and flash Stock rogers 4.3??

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...9304&nocache=1
 
DeadlySin9
Old
#7  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 587
Posts: 1,205
Join Date: Sep 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dexterousyash View Post
So should I look in files such as this and flash Stock rogers 4.3??

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...9304&nocache=1
Not the stock firmware, that won't work. I mean to try and find a ROM based off that firmware/made for i337m.

Sent from my SGH-I337 running GPE
Current Device: ATT Samsung Galaxy S4 (i337)

Past Devices:
Droid Bionic (GSM Hacked)
HTC Inspire 4G (Desire HD)
Nexus One
Motorola Backflip
HTC Dev Phone 1 (Dream/G1)
The Following User Says Thank You to DeadlySin9 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dexterousyash
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 19
Join Date: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9 View Post
Not the stock firmware, that won't work. I mean to try and find a ROM based off that firmware/made for i337m.

Sent from my SGH-I337 running GPE
First of all I appreciate your patience in these replies and helping me out.

Here is my next query.

I found this custom ROM based on i337m

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2313469


This post recommended this ROM

http://www.droidviews.com/best-custo...y-s4-sgh-i337/



but they also said I need to make sure that the baseband matches. I have MK2. Should I flash that or should I just go ahead and install the ROM as no such info is mentioned in the XDA thread. Also, are there any other changes I should make before installing this new ROM using safestrap?

please let me know
 
DeadlySin9
Old
#9  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 587
Posts: 1,205
Join Date: Sep 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by dexterousyash View Post
First of all I appreciate your patience in these replies and helping me out.

Here is my next query.

I found this custom ROM based on i337m

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2313469


This post recommended this ROM

http://www.droidviews.com/best-custo...y-s4-sgh-i337/



but they also said I need to make sure that the baseband matches. I have MK2. Should I flash that or should I just go ahead and install the ROM as no such info is mentioned in the XDA thread. Also, are there any other changes I should make before installing this new ROM using safestrap?

please let me know
You'll have to look in the All Things MK2 and NB1 thread for install instructions and if it needs a modified updater-script for Safestrap. Also, the latest version is a 4.4.2 ROM so you'll either need to update to KitKat, use the KitKat Magic Toolkit, or use an older version of Goldeneye.
Current Device: ATT Samsung Galaxy S4 (i337)

Past Devices:
Droid Bionic (GSM Hacked)
HTC Inspire 4G (Desire HD)
Nexus One
Motorola Backflip
HTC Dev Phone 1 (Dream/G1)

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes