Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,192 Members 37,600 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

HTC Amaze won't turn on or charge

Tip us?
 
cowboy1995
Old
(Last edited by cowboy1995; 22nd May 2014 at 04:36 PM.)
#1  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 38
Join Date: Aug 2012
Default HTC Amaze won't turn on or charge

My Amaze was connected via USB to my Ubuntu laptop and I was testing a game I was working on. Suddenly, my computer could not recognize my device and, my device and charging light was off (the battery was at ~94%). I have 3 batteries, and none of them work when trying to power on the device. My device was S-OFF, SuperCID, rooted, and running Android Revolution ROM HD. I was using a Samsung cable if that makes a difference. I tried booting with Power+Vol. Down but that did not work. I figure it is a hardware problem, but it seems odd that it would do this all of a sudden. Can anybody confirm what is wrong with it, and maybe a possible fix? Thanks!

Edit: I get the QHUSB_DLOAD driver message.
 
cowboy1995
Old
#2  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 38
Join Date: Aug 2012
Anyone? Please help!
 
ezdi
Old
#3  
Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 74
Join Date: Dec 2010
Sorry, your phone is almost bricked. Flash chip bug makes large chunks of the entire flash unreadable. It's more likely to happen if you issue a trim command or format a partition in the wrong way. (Well, it's the right way for flash, but our chip can get borked.) Mine just happened when I was copying a bunch of data over.

You corrupted something fairly early in the boot process but not the earliest thing. Search for fixes for the qhusb and you'll find a couple things. They didn't work for me, but might for you. Even if you fix it, it might re-brick itself after a bit of usage.
The Following User Says Thank You to ezdi For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cowboy1995
Old
#4  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 38
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezdi View Post
Sorry, your phone is almost bricked. Flash chip bug makes large chunks of the entire flash unreadable. It's more likely to happen if you issue a trim command or format a partition in the wrong way. (Well, it's the right way for flash, but our chip can get borked.) Mine just happened when I was copying a bunch of data over.

You corrupted something fairly early in the boot process but not the earliest thing. Search for fixes for the qhusb and you'll find a couple things. They didn't work for me, but might for you. Even if you fix it, it might re-brick itself after a bit of usage.
Thank you for your response! You logic seems to be correct as I wasn't messing with any critical files. Please update your post if you find a solution!
 
ezdi
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 74
Join Date: Dec 2010
Did you find the post(s) I was talking about? They may work for you. It basically involves trying to rewrite the bootloader.

I ended up punting and trying to desolder the MMC chip so I could try to get my data off it. Unfortunately, it's epoxied on so it got very damaged even though I was using a pretty good hot-air reflow station, so I haven't tried soldering it to a SD-card reader.
The Following User Says Thank You to ezdi For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
cowboy1995
Old
#6  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 38
Join Date: Aug 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by ezdi View Post
Did you find the post(s) I was talking about? They may work for you. It basically involves trying to rewrite the bootloader.

I ended up punting and trying to desolder the MMC chip so I could try to get my data off it. Unfortunately, it's epoxied on so it got very damaged even though I was using a pretty good hot-air reflow station, so I haven't tried soldering it to a SD-card reader.
I have tried that numerous times to rewrite the bootloader, but to no avail. Can you post a picture, and do you think a JTAG would work?
 
ezdi
Old
#7  
Member
Thanks Meter 36
Posts: 74
Join Date: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cowboy1995 View Post
I have tried that numerous times to rewrite the bootloader, but to no avail. Can you post a picture, and do you think a JTAG would work?
Picture of the board? I think I have it around somewhere. If I can find it, sure.

In theory it should work, but I don't think anyone has publicly mapped out the pins for it and I didn't feel like trying to figure out the software side of things to connect it to the generic JTAG adapters I have access to. It's possible that one of the phone-centric JTAG makers has an adapter board, but I'm not willing to spend $bank on a phone worth barely anything.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Share Your Thoughts Anonymously with A Minimalist Social Network

Nowadays, almost everyone has a second life onthe Internet. Among the best … more

Enable Heads Up Notifications For The Sprint Galaxy S3

Heads up notifications, in case you didn’t already know, are an experimental … more

Android One Goes Live in India!

Android One is a Google initiative set to bring an AOSP-like experience tosome emergingmarkets like India, … more

XDA and LeaseWeb: Win Free Server Trial and Moto 360

As you might recall from a previousBehind the Scenesarticle we wrote, XDA’s … more