Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Unlock Htc One m8 - Without all techincal stuff

OP sweetpoison

24th June 2014, 10:11 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Hi Fellow Members,

Forgive Me I donot Understand Any technical Android words like Bootloader, S-OFF, Root Etc

In Short I am a Prospective ANDROID NOOB!!!

Would appreciate your help in the following matter.


I would like to buy a HTC ONE M8 from the US.

The only deals I can get within my price range are BAD ESN Sprint and Verizon Phones.


I Intend to use the phone on GSM Networks in the United Kingdom.

Can you please answer the following questions


1) It is my understanding that when you insert a sim in a cdma phone (Sprint or Verizon) It will always ask for an unlock code?

2) Cant I just buy an unlock code off the internet without having the need to Boot,Rom,S-Off? and just unlock the phone to all GSM Networds Throughout the world. (Except US)?

3) Did any just try the unlock code? Did it work for anyone here With a BAD ESN? I dont mind spending a few dollars to get the phone unlocked.

4) Once unlocked through unlock code. Will it remain unlocked even if I Change Sims?

Please bare in mind The phone is for Use outside the US.

Can you fellows Please guide me regarding the same.

Thank you very much.
Last edited by sweetpoison; 24th June 2014 at 10:16 AM. Reason: Extra Queries
24th June 2014, 11:28 AM   |  #2  
forelli's Avatar
Senior Member
Kashyyyk, Galactic Empire
Thanks Meter: 89
 
1,040 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetpoison

Hi Fellow Members,

Forgive Me I donot Understand Any technical Android words like Bootloader, S-OFF, Root Etc

In Short I am a Prospective ANDROID NOOB!!!

Would appreciate your help in the following matter.


I would like to buy a HTC ONE M8 from the US.

The only deals I can get within my price range are BAD ESN Sprint and Verizon Phones.


I Intend to use the phone on GSM Networks in the United Kingdom.

Can you please answer the following questions


1) It is my understanding that when you insert a sim in a cdma phone (Sprint or Verizon) It will always ask for an unlock code?

2) Cant I just buy an unlock code off the internet without having the need to Boot,Rom,S-Off? and just unlock the phone to all GSM Networds Throughout the world. (Except US)?

3) Did any just try the unlock code? Did it work for anyone here With a BAD ESN? I dont mind spending a few dollars to get the phone unlocked.

4) Once unlocked through unlock code. Will it remain unlocked even if I Change Sims?

Please bare in mind The phone is for Use outside the US.

Can you fellows Please guide me regarding the same.

Thank you very much.

Just put more money in it and buy it either in the UK or in mainland Europe...
The Following User Says Thank You to forelli For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th June 2014, 12:21 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 47
 
201 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetpoison

Hi Fellow Members,

Forgive Me I donot Understand Any technical Android words like Bootloader, S-OFF, Root Etc

In Short I am a Prospective ANDROID NOOB!!!

Would appreciate your help in the following matter.


I would like to buy a HTC ONE M8 from the US.

The only deals I can get within my price range are BAD ESN Sprint and Verizon Phones.


I Intend to use the phone on GSM Networks in the United Kingdom.

Can you please answer the following questions


1) It is my understanding that when you insert a sim in a cdma phone (Sprint or Verizon) It will always ask for an unlock code?

2) Cant I just buy an unlock code off the internet without having the need to Boot,Rom,S-Off? and just unlock the phone to all GSM Networds Throughout the world. (Except US)?

3) Did any just try the unlock code? Did it work for anyone here With a BAD ESN? I dont mind spending a few dollars to get the phone unlocked.

4) Once unlocked through unlock code. Will it remain unlocked even if I Change Sims?

Please bare in mind The phone is for Use outside the US.

Can you fellows Please guide me regarding the same.

Thank you very much.






1) It is my understanding that when you insert a sim in a cdma phone (Sprint or Verizon) It will always ask for an unlock code?

Sprint does not prompt for an unlock code (100% sure about that). As far as i know, Verizon is already sim unlocked for non US carriers.

2) Cant I just buy an unlock code off the internet without having the need to Boot,Rom,S-Off? and just unlock the phone to all GSM Networds Throughout the world. (Except US)?

No, it will not work. There is no unlock code prompt for SPRINT.

3) Did any just try the unlock code? Did it work for anyone here With a BAD ESN? I dont mind spending a few dollars to get the phone unlocked.

I have tried to purchase a SPRINT unlock code, i got the unlock code, and then i was refunded because there is no way you can enter that unlock code.


4) Once unlocked through unlock code. Will it remain unlocked even if I Change Sims?

As stated above.


The best approach should be to buy an unlocked device. However one other approach should be to buy a Verizon/Sprint phone, and then buy $25 sunshine S-OFF. After that you can SIM unlock using the following thread:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2708567

I did it on a Sprint M8, however it had a clean ESN.
The Following User Says Thank You to blackice666 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th June 2014, 12:37 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by blackice666

1) It is my understanding that when you insert a sim in a cdma phone (Sprint or Verizon) It will always ask for an unlock code?

Sprint does not prompt for an unlock code (100% sure about that). As far as i know, Verizon is already sim unlocked for non US carriers.

2) Cant I just buy an unlock code off the internet without having the need to Boot,Rom,S-Off? and just unlock the phone to all GSM Networds Throughout the world. (Except US)?

No, it will not work. There is no unlock code prompt for SPRINT.

3) Did any just try the unlock code? Did it work for anyone here With a BAD ESN? I dont mind spending a few dollars to get the phone unlocked.

I have tried to purchase a SPRINT unlock code, i got the unlock code, and then i was refunded because there is no way you can enter that unlock code.


4) Once unlocked through unlock code. Will it remain unlocked even if I Change Sims?

As stated above.


The best approach should be to buy an unlocked device. However one other approach should be to buy a Verizon/Sprint phone, and then buy $25 sunshine S-OFF. After that you can SIM unlock using the following thread:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2708567

I did it on a Sprint M8, however it had a clean ESN.

Thanks mate.
24th June 2014, 12:53 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Ealing
Thanks Meter: 315
 
3,863 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
I'd be very cautious if I were you. The radio bands for the Sprint and Verizon M8s are different (see here). Whilst they both look ok to me for 3G usage, you may find that one or the other (or both) might never work on UK 4G networks.

Regards,

Dave
The Following User Says Thank You to foxmeister For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th June 2014, 02:27 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
302 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Don't cause yourself problems. If you are in the UK buy within the UK or you'll have warranty problems. There are just as good deals available in the UK if you buy outright. You can buy brand new on eBay for around 450
Last edited by ashyx; 24th June 2014 at 06:43 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to ashyx For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th June 2014, 02:50 PM   |  #7  
BerndM14's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 419
 
1,168 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ashyx

Don't cause yourself problems. If you are in the UK buy within the UK or you'll have warranty problems. The are just as good deals available in the UK if you buy outright. You can buy brand new on eBay for around 450

That's one of my main concerns when it comes to my M8...Also imported my device from the UK to South Africa. So I'm really!!!!! Hoping all stays well and the device doesn't have problems, exactly because of possible warranty issues
The Following User Says Thank You to BerndM14 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
10th July 2014, 09:23 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by sweetpoison

Hi Fellow Members,

Forgive Me I donot Understand Any technical Android words like Bootloader, S-OFF, Root Etc

In Short I am a Prospective ANDROID NOOB!!!

Would appreciate your help in the following matter.


I would like to buy a HTC ONE M8 from the US.

The only deals I can get within my price range are BAD ESN Sprint and Verizon Phones.


I Intend to use the phone on GSM Networks in the United Kingdom.

Can you please answer the following questions


1) It is my understanding that when you insert a sim in a cdma phone (Sprint or Verizon) It will always ask for an unlock code?

2) Cant I just buy an unlock code off the internet without having the need to Boot,Rom,S-Off? and just unlock the phone to all GSM Networds Throughout the world. (Except US)?

3) Did any just try the unlock code? Did it work for anyone here With a BAD ESN? I dont mind spending a few dollars to get the phone unlocked.

4) Once unlocked through unlock code. Will it remain unlocked even if I Change Sims?

Please bare in mind The phone is for Use outside the US.

Can you fellows Please guide me regarding the same.

Thank you very much.

From my understanding Sprint phones are tricky, because they don't come unlocked.
I bought a Verizon M8 last week from the US (God ESN) an I'm using it with no problems on a Italian GSM network (Vodafone). The only issue I had was that tethering didn't work but i flashed Viper ROM and everything now works great including tethering.
I now want to buy one for my wife and I found a great, almost new Verizon M8 (450$) with a bad ESN. Does anybody know if i can use this on Vodafone in Italy?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes