Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,804,274 Members 39,032 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] mega 6.3 sim unlock

Tip us?
 
RandyLoDaGod
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Dec 2013
Thumbs up [Q] mega 6.3 sim unlock

Can anyone pls help me with sim unlocking my mega 6.3 sgh- m819n . I'm in the military and will very soon be headed back overseas.
 
jzsidebott
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 112
Join Date: Apr 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyLoDaGod View Post
Can anyone pls help me with sim unlocking my mega 6.3 sgh- m819n . I'm in the military and will very soon be headed back overseas.
If you are with ATT and you are in the military, all you have to do is go to ATT.com/deviceunlock, submit the request and it should ask you to upload your papers for leave.

You will then get your code within 24-48 hours.
 
RandyLoDaGod
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 2
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by jzsidebott View Post
If you are with ATT and you are in the military, all you have to do is go to ATT.com/deviceunlock, submit the request and it should ask you to upload your papers for leave.

You will then get your code within 24-48 hours.
Its the Metro PCS version but thanks for the info...

Its the Metro PCS version. But thanks for the info...
 
lobox360
Old
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jan 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyLoDaGod View Post
Its the Metro PCS version but thanks for the info...

Its the Metro PCS version. But thanks for the info...
If you had the phone activated with metro for more than 3 months, call customer service and they will give the unlock code.
 
manlapasj13@gmail.com
Old
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 34
Join Date: Feb 2014
Default Unlock

I saw a thread about unlocking which uses a certain method or setting inside our phone. Will it work on our mega
 
jzsidebott
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 112
Join Date: Apr 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by manlapasj13@gmail.com View Post
I saw a thread about unlocking which uses a certain method or setting inside our phone. Will it work on our mega
nope not for the att mega
 
sashusmom
Old
#7  
sashusmom's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 516
Posts: 1,268
Join Date: May 2008
Location: North Jersey
I went on cellunlocker site yesterday and priced the att unlock. It was $30. But make sure you activate with the original carrier before unlocking and using different sim. There is a new thing called REGION lock which samsung has started using. If you unlock before activation with the original carrier you will not be able to use your phone internationally. Cell unlocker explains it pretty well with a disclaimer about their service.

They say it applies to all USA phones released with 4.4 kitKat and all Samsung newer phones. The mega isn't specified, but all other top samsung galaxy phones are.

@ randy, thank you for your service and stay safe.
SG Note-i717 -SG Mega i527 (stock KK) iphone 5s-JB nokia 521/win8.1
SG note 8/JB TF101/dock/kitkat
It doesn't cost anything to be nice and say thank you!
 
MC FLMJ1G
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 30
Posts: 185
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: NYC
Quote:
Originally Posted by sashusmom View Post
I went on cellunlocker site yesterday and priced the att unlock. It was $30. But make sure you activate with the original carrier before unlocking and using different sim. There is a new thing called REGION lock which samsung has started using. If you unlock before activation with the original carrier you will not be able to use your phone internationally. Cell unlocker explains it pretty well with a disclaimer about their service.

They say it applies to all USA phones released with 4.4 kitKat and all Samsung newer phones. The mega isn't specified, but all other top samsung galaxy phones are.

@ randy, thank you for your service and stay safe.
If your phone has been used previously with the original carrier, this will not apply to you. However, if your device is BRAND NEW, your must activate it with the original carrier. > Seems as if it was activated just once then can be unlocked no issues. Seems this mostly applies to NEW phones...
The Following User Says Thank You to MC FLMJ1G For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
JeffATL
Old
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 468
Join Date: Oct 2009
I had my Mega on MetroPCS for 3 months though I am no longer on MetroPCS. I called them 3 times and each time they put the request in and say I have to wait 3 business days for email but they never send email.... frustrating - I do not want to spend $30 because MetroPCS is supposed to give it to me for free.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes