Learn to Sync Files Between Android And PC with Unison

Dropbox and similar cloud services are great if youre planning to keep your files … more

OnePlus Indian Ban Lifted, Android One Expanding – XDA TV

Android 5.0.1 Lollipop is available for the Nvidia SHIELD Tablet! That and … more

Nvidia and Robotics w/ Barrett Williams – XDA:DevCon 2014

Robotics continues to dominate our videos from this years XDA:DevCon 2014 in … more

Speed Up Deodexing with JoelDroid Batch Deodexer

Android 5.0 Lollipop brings many under-the-hood changes like changing the default compiler … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Change "Serial Number" or "System Identifier" (Unsure What To Call It?)

OP Dvdxploitr

23rd June 2014, 08:01 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Okay, some apps, such as FeaturePoints, tie itself to the system somehow. Like no matter how many times you clear the system data, wipe cache, etc....it keeps that information on your phone. I guess it goes by serial # or something. But I have FeaturePoints on my phone but the referral code I used it linked to someone I don't wish to support anymore. The only way I can input another referral code is to be able to start over as if the app has never been installed on the device. I know Apple uses a UDID which can be changed via a Jailbreak tweak. I used to use Grindr Xtra for like 30 days by changing my UDID every time I wanted to use it. Other apps do the same thing I believe....so is there any way to change the serial # or UDID (if thats what its called on Android) to make it think the app is being installed on a device for the first time?
24th June 2014, 05:30 AM   |  #2  
jcfunk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 250
 
408 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
Android I'D can be changed by Titanium Backup app, paid version, you maybe able to find other way to change

Sent from my DOWNGRADED EVO 3D
24th June 2014, 09:33 AM   |  #3  
roaming4gnome's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcfunk

Android I'D can be changed by Titanium Backup app, paid version, you maybe able to find other way to change

Sent from my DOWNGRADED EVO 3D

This. Manage android id in titanium backup menu gives the option to generate new random number.
Last edited by roaming4gnome; 24th June 2014 at 09:37 AM.
25th June 2014, 02:32 PM   |  #4  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Well, I tried it.....$5.99 and it didn't do what I wanted. I was wanting it to ask me to sign up with FeaturePoints again, but it didn't....it loaded it up as it normally would....I even deleted the app and re-installed it after changing ID...
11th July 2014, 04:53 PM   |  #5  
jcfunk's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 250
 
408 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dvdxploitr

Well, I tried it.....$5.99 and it didn't do what I wanted. I was wanting it to ask me to sign up with FeaturePoints again, but it didn't....it loaded it up as it normally would....I even deleted the app and re-installed it after changing ID...

Is it tied into your Facebook acct. or Google acct. ?
11th July 2014, 07:40 PM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
97 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by jcfunk

Is it tied into your Facebook acct. or Google acct. ?

I think its tied to your phone serial #.....You do have to tell it your G+ or FB account, but even putting in a different one doesn't make a difference (I've tried with two Google accounts and 2 FB accounts)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes