Nova Launcher Update Brings Lollipop Functionality and Feel

One of the most popular third party launcher on Android, Nova Launcher, has just … more

Check Your I/O Usage with Iotop for Android

Ever needed to check the I/O usage of apps? If so, you probably tried searching for an iotop … more

T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more
Post Reply

[Q] Sprint LG G2 Data Help

OP hiddenproject

30th June 2014, 04:24 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Hi All,

Status:

I managed 1) root the phones 2) copy over the standard "carrier" folder via root explorer 3) recopy the apns-xml file. 4) edit via adb the build.prop file.

With all these I am able to make calls and receive texts on the phone. But for the life, I cannot figure out the data problem.

I double checked my .prop file and have for sure set them to spr.

So my questions is

1) any quick ideas I can try?
2) how can i tell if AT&T or I am the issue
3) is there a custom rom which I can flash and it just "works"
4) is there a good place online where I Can sell these phones aside from craigslist?
Last edited by hiddenproject; 1st July 2014 at 06:34 AM. Reason: update
30th June 2014, 04:38 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
134 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Use my guide. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2729370

---------- Post added at 04:38 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:37 AM ----------

Tweakker from the app store will fix it
30th June 2014, 04:46 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Thank you for reply
Quote:
Originally Posted by brandonbarlow

Use my guide. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2729370

---------- Post added at 04:38 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:37 AM ----------

Tweakker from the app store will fix it

Thanks a lot for the reply. I followed your instructions. Since I was using stock 4.4.2, there was some minor adjustments that came up.

0) I flashed stock firmware and via phone notification update to 4.4.2
1) I rooted the phone
6) Done and Done
7) Done ( I also tried via adb shell )
8) I could not manually edit the build.prop file. Each time I did, it would cause a stall on reboot, never gets to boot screen. So I had to do this
via adb I set the settings to spr

9) I use radio checker to set the exact same settings

10) do I need this step for data?
30th June 2014, 05:03 AM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Lol
Sorry. I re read your suggession. Didnt see it. Lemme give it a try.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hiddenproject

Thanks a lot for the reply. I followed your instructions. Since I was using stock 4.4.2, there was some minor adjustments that came up.

0) I flashed stock firmware and via phone notification update to 4.4.2
1) I rooted the phone
6) Done and Done
7) Done ( I also tried via adb shell )
8) I could not manually edit the build.prop file. Each time I did, it would cause a stall on reboot, never gets to boot screen. So I had to do this
via adb I set the settings to spr

9) I use radio checker to set the exact same settings

10) do I need this step for data?

1st July 2014, 02:59 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
APN isssues
After I tried to add my apn number, i keep getting a com.android.phone process crash? Should i attempt the SQLlite editor change to the settings.db file? I am guessing it is trying to "call" out but it crashes

Quote:
Originally Posted by hiddenproject

Sorry. I re read your suggession. Didnt see it. Lemme give it a try.

1st July 2014, 03:54 AM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
settings.db file does not have settings
After using SQL and looking at the settings db file in, data/data/com.android.providers.settings/databases/settings.db, I cannot see the assist_dial or assist_dial_init_db_check fields.

Now I am only stuck where the phone crashes when I add an apn?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hiddenproject

After I tried to add my apn number, i keep getting a com.android.phone process crash? Should i attempt the SQLlite editor change to the settings.db file? I am guessing it is trying to "call" out but it crashes

1st July 2014, 05:43 AM   |  #7  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Very close to the Finish!
After figuring out some crashes, I still see some issues. I feel I am very close! Please help

I am getting an "unable to establish a wireless data connection"

I attach my build.prop file and also some screenshots of my apn settings. These should be the only two I need to configure right?



Quote:
Originally Posted by brandonbarlow

Use my guide. http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2729370

---------- Post added at 04:38 AM ---------- Previous post was at 04:37 AM ----------

Tweakker from the app store will fix it

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-06-30-21-37-20.png
Views:	46
Size:	95.5 KB
ID:	2826557   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-06-30-21-37-26.png
Views:	47
Size:	153.0 KB
ID:	2826558   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-06-30-21-37-33.png
Views:	45
Size:	144.1 KB
ID:	2826559   Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-06-30-21-38-15.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	126.7 KB
ID:	2826560  
Attached Files
File Type: rar build_prop.rar - [Click for QR Code] (4.2 KB, 0 views)
7th July 2014, 08:07 AM   |  #8  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Bump for any more ideas
Hi all,

Bumping for any additional ideas.
13th July 2014, 07:02 PM   |  #9  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2014
Last bump for help
Last bump for some help. Any ideas is welcome.

Quote:
Originally Posted by hiddenproject

Hi all,

Bumping for any additional ideas.


Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Sprint G2 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank