Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] New SDCard not working

OP mobilecj

8th May 2014, 03:53 AM   |  #11  
Captain_Throwback's Avatar
Retired Moderator / Recognized Contributor
Flag Bensalem, PA
Thanks Meter: 11,219
 
10
12,342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rydah805

That didn't work on my one or my buddies one either. It'll format but won't read the card in exFAT.

Why is it a waste though?

Sent From My HTC One (M8)

You're killing the read/write speeds on the card with FAT32 when compared to exFAT.

I have a 128GB card formatted exFAT and it works fine in my device.
The Following User Says Thank You to Captain_Throwback For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2014, 04:39 AM   |  #12  
mobilecj's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 12
 
221 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2009
More
Yea I tried again and it didn't read Sprint is sending me a hk m8 replacement maybe it'll work in that one.

Sent from my 831C using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
8th May 2014, 05:40 PM   |  #13  
Rydah805's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Ventura County, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,183
 
3,867 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain_Throwback

You're killing the read/write speeds on the card with FAT32 when compared to exFAT.

I have a 128GB card formatted exFAT and it works fine in my device.

Go stock and tell me if it works... Please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilecj

Yea I tried again and it didn't read Sprint is sending me a hk m8 replacement maybe it'll work in that one.

Sent from my 831C using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I'm thinking it won't work stock, and needs to be enabled in kernel? Thats what the Verizon guys have to do. (FAT32 or enable exFAT in the kernel...)
8th May 2014, 06:33 PM   |  #14  
Captain_Throwback's Avatar
Retired Moderator / Recognized Contributor
Flag Bensalem, PA
Thanks Meter: 11,219
 
10
12,342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rydah805

Go stock and tell me if it works... Please.

I've never used anything but stock kernel.

exFAT is enabled by default. When you format the card in Settings - Storage, it formats the card exFAT.

Last edited by Captain_Throwback; 8th May 2014 at 06:36 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Captain_Throwback For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2014, 07:12 PM   |  #15  
Rydah805's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Ventura County, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,183
 
3,867 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain_Throwback

I've never used anything but stock kernel.

exFAT is enabled by default. When you format the card in Settings - Storage, it formats the card exFAT.

Hmmm...:/ wonder why it doesn't for me. It'd make sense for it to work. When i put it in the phone and format it, it does format in extFAT, but the phone doesn't mount it like that...
8th May 2014, 07:17 PM   |  #16  
Captain_Throwback's Avatar
Retired Moderator / Recognized Contributor
Flag Bensalem, PA
Thanks Meter: 11,219
 
10
12,342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rydah805

Hmmm...:/ wonder why it doesn't for me. It'd make sense for it to work. When i put it in the phone and format it, it does format in extFAT, but the phone doesn't mount it like that...

So the phone formats it, but then won't mount it? That doesn't make any sense. Sounds like something isn't working right.
8th May 2014, 08:49 PM   |  #17  
Rydah805's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Ventura County, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,183
 
3,867 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain_Throwback

So the phone formats it, but then won't mount it? That doesn't make any sense. Sounds like something isn't working right.

yeah, but it mounts and reads it fine with fat32
8th May 2014, 09:05 PM   |  #18  
Captain_Throwback's Avatar
Retired Moderator / Recognized Contributor
Flag Bensalem, PA
Thanks Meter: 11,219
 
10
12,342 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rydah805

yeah, but it mounts and reads it fine with fat32

If the card is 32GB or below, that makes sense, but for XC cards, exFAT is the default format.
8th May 2014, 11:41 PM   |  #19  
Rydah805's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Ventura County, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,183
 
3,867 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2008
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain_Throwback

If the card is 32GB or below, that makes sense, but for XC cards, exFAT is the default format.

64gb

Edit: here's an SD Card Benchmark
Last edited by Rydah805; 9th May 2014 at 12:05 AM.
15th July 2014, 07:12 AM   |  #20  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
16 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
I'm seeing very poor R/W speeds from my card. It supposed to be a class 10, 64GB
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1


In the Benchmark tool, it gets detected as the Internal SD card for some reason. But regardless, this card should be performing faster, IMHO.
5MB/s read and 4 MB/s write seems very slow. In fact, if I set my pictures to save to the SD card, it gives me a warning that my SD card is too slow.

I just tried formatting via the phone menu (Settings > Storage > Format SD Card), but still pretty slow.

Any thoughts on how to speed it up? Did I purchase a bum card?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-07-14-21-52-27.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	120.6 KB
ID:	2852156  

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes