FORUMS

Other than XDA (of Course), What’s Your Favorite Site That Covers Android?

There is a number of other great sites that cover … more

Introducing Voices of XDA: Have Your Ideas Heard

By far the greatest assets we have at XDA-Developers are you, the developers, the eager … more

Unofficial Xposed For Lollipop Touchwiz With Flashable Zip

XDA Recognized Developer arter97 has released an unofficial build … more

YotaPhone 2 Pre-Order, Xperia Z1 Price Cut – XDA TV

Android Wear 5.1.1 OTA downloads are now available. That and much more news is … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] New SDCard not working

8th May 2014, 02:53 AM |#11  
Captain_Throwback's Avatar
Retired Moderator / Recognized Contributor
Flag Bensalem, PA
Thanks Meter: 12,876
 
10
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rydah805

That didn't work on my one or my buddies one either. It'll format but won't read the card in exFAT.

Why is it a waste though?

Sent From My HTC One (M8)

You're killing the read/write speeds on the card with FAT32 when compared to exFAT.

I have a 128GB card formatted exFAT and it works fine in my device.
The Following User Says Thank You to Captain_Throwback For This Useful Post: [ View ]
 
 
8th May 2014, 03:39 AM |#12  
mobilecj's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Yea I tried again and it didn't read Sprint is sending me a hk m8 replacement maybe it'll work in that one.

Sent from my 831C using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
8th May 2014, 04:40 PM |#13  
Rydah805's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Ventura County, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,284
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain_Throwback

You're killing the read/write speeds on the card with FAT32 when compared to exFAT.

I have a 128GB card formatted exFAT and it works fine in my device.

Go stock and tell me if it works... Please.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mobilecj

Yea I tried again and it didn't read Sprint is sending me a hk m8 replacement maybe it'll work in that one.

Sent from my 831C using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

I'm thinking it won't work stock, and needs to be enabled in kernel? Thats what the Verizon guys have to do. (FAT32 or enable exFAT in the kernel...)
8th May 2014, 05:33 PM |#14  
Captain_Throwback's Avatar
Retired Moderator / Recognized Contributor
Flag Bensalem, PA
Thanks Meter: 12,876
 
10
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rydah805

Go stock and tell me if it works... Please.

I've never used anything but stock kernel.

exFAT is enabled by default. When you format the card in Settings - Storage, it formats the card exFAT.

Last edited by Captain_Throwback; 8th May 2014 at 05:36 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Captain_Throwback For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2014, 06:12 PM |#15  
Rydah805's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Ventura County, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,284
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain_Throwback

I've never used anything but stock kernel.

exFAT is enabled by default. When you format the card in Settings - Storage, it formats the card exFAT.

Hmmm...:/ wonder why it doesn't for me. It'd make sense for it to work. When i put it in the phone and format it, it does format in extFAT, but the phone doesn't mount it like that...
8th May 2014, 06:17 PM |#16  
Captain_Throwback's Avatar
Retired Moderator / Recognized Contributor
Flag Bensalem, PA
Thanks Meter: 12,876
 
10
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rydah805

Hmmm...:/ wonder why it doesn't for me. It'd make sense for it to work. When i put it in the phone and format it, it does format in extFAT, but the phone doesn't mount it like that...

So the phone formats it, but then won't mount it? That doesn't make any sense. Sounds like something isn't working right.
8th May 2014, 07:49 PM |#17  
Rydah805's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Ventura County, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,284
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain_Throwback

So the phone formats it, but then won't mount it? That doesn't make any sense. Sounds like something isn't working right.

yeah, but it mounts and reads it fine with fat32
8th May 2014, 08:05 PM |#18  
Captain_Throwback's Avatar
Retired Moderator / Recognized Contributor
Flag Bensalem, PA
Thanks Meter: 12,876
 
10
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rydah805

yeah, but it mounts and reads it fine with fat32

If the card is 32GB or below, that makes sense, but for XC cards, exFAT is the default format.
8th May 2014, 10:41 PM |#19  
Rydah805's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Ventura County, CA
Thanks Meter: 1,284
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain_Throwback

If the card is 32GB or below, that makes sense, but for XC cards, exFAT is the default format.

64gb

Edit: here's an SD Card Benchmark
Last edited by Rydah805; 8th May 2014 at 11:05 PM.
15th July 2014, 06:12 AM |#20  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
I'm seeing very poor R/W speeds from my card. It supposed to be a class 10, 64GB
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...?ie=UTF8&psc=1


In the Benchmark tool, it gets detected as the Internal SD card for some reason. But regardless, this card should be performing faster, IMHO.
5MB/s read and 4 MB/s write seems very slow. In fact, if I set my pictures to save to the SD card, it gives me a warning that my SD card is too slow.

I just tried formatting via the phone menu (Settings > Storage > Format SD Card), but still pretty slow.

Any thoughts on how to speed it up? Did I purchase a bum card?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-07-14-21-52-27.jpg
Views:	32
Size:	120.6 KB
ID:	2852156  
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes