Post Reply

Connected Gear to any Android

OP mig1401

10th July 2014, 09:49 PM   |  #21  
Member
Seattle
Thanks Meter: 12
 
48 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by leoni1980

Yes. I do it all the time. The only difference between doing it on a non Touchwiz phone compared with a Touchwiz phone is that the phone sees it as a handsfree device so will answer on the Gear by default, even if you hit the answer button on the phone. You just need to tap the little icon next to the 'End Call' button on the Gear though and it will route the call back to the handset. You can also tap the bluetooth icon on the dialer and switch the source to earpiece or speakerphone. Bit of an annoyance but not a particular problem.

I'm running a TW based ROM and I can't even get it to connect. Just hangs at connecting to gear at the setup... Did you do a clean setup or did your settings carry over when you updated?
11th July 2014, 06:48 PM   |  #22  
Junior Member
Flag St. Albans
Thanks Meter: 3
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Hi All

Just to confirm - Stock Z1 and Gear 1 updated to Tizen works OK Just had to follow the instructions to drop the .apk's in the system/app folder and install.

I do keep getting an update notification for Gear Manager, but can't update as the Updater keeps stopping (after contacting the server, so maybe Samsung are checking the phone model?). According to the Gear Manager thread I'm already running the latest version so have posted in the thread asking if someone can check.

Zaphodbb
12th July 2014, 09:20 AM   |  #23  
leoni1980's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
1,249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaphodbb1

Hi All

Just to confirm - Stock Z1 and Gear 1 updated to Tizen works OK Just had to follow the instructions to drop the .apk's in the system/app folder and install.

I do keep getting an update notification for Gear Manager, but can't update as the Updater keeps stopping (after contacting the server, so maybe Samsung are checking the phone model?). According to the Gear Manager thread I'm already running the latest version so have posted in the thread asking if someone can check.

Zaphodbb

Why does the APK need dropping in System/App? I just installed the APK straight from my Download folder after grabbing it and it works fine. Is there a reason I should put it in System/App instead?
14th July 2014, 07:47 PM   |  #24  
Junior Member
Flag St. Albans
Thanks Meter: 3
 
15 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Well I guess not - I followed the advice from another thread that stated it had to be on this folder.
Main thing is that *it works*

Have you had a notification that there's an update yet?
15th July 2014, 07:40 AM   |  #25  
leoni1980's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
1,249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zaphodbb1

Well I guess not - I followed the advice from another thread that stated it had to be on this folder.
Main thing is that *it works*

Have you had a notification that there's an update yet?

Are you talking about in the Play Store? Mine doesn't show in the Play Store. I suspect that putting it in the System/App folder is what results in the app showing up as updatable. I'm not rooted anyway though, and I suspect it'll never let you update the app through this method anyway. I just download the latest APKs when I hear of them. My battery life is so good currently though that I'm loathed to try any others! Switching from the older version of Gear Manager to 2.1 made my battery go from lasting less than a day to up to a week
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy Gear General by ThreadRank