Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,319 Members 53,513 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Spark : Desktop mirroring and web casting apps

Tip us?
 
SteveSpark
Old
#31  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Strakon View Post
Logitech HD Pro Webcam C920

Later I'll check with another webcam that I have and see if I get the same issue
Thanks. Really appreciate it.
 
Strakon
Old
#32  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 4
Join Date: Dec 2009
Ok I just checked on another computer with a Microsoft LifeCam VX-5000 and I get the same issue

Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveSpark View Post
Thanks. Really appreciate it.
 
krelvinaz
Old
#33  
krelvinaz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 550
Posts: 2,306
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Mesa AZ
Download of notebook mirroring app was marked as malicious and blocked by Chrome.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	spark-bad.png
Views:	91
Size:	2.6 KB
ID:	2798194  
Phone: TMobile - Samsung SM-900T Galaxy Note 3 - KitKat 4.4.2 Rooted/Stock - QI Wireless
Tablet: Nexus 7 (2012) 16gb Stock Rooted - 4.4.4 w/TWRP Recovery
Droid Like Devices: Several ChromeCasts, Amazon Fire TV (rooted)
Link: ReZoundn EVO 4g LTE and HTC Droid DNA Splash Screen Web Generator
 
SteveSpark
Old
#34  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by krelvinaz View Post
Download of notebook mirroring app was marked as malicious and blocked by Chrome.
Oh. Is this happening on Windows or Mac?
 
vi6s
Old
#35  
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 48
Join Date: Jul 2012
Hello,

I have tried both the Chrome extension and the program. For the Chrome extension, it founds my FireTV. I was able to fling my tab to the FireTV, but some media sites won't work correctly. For example, for youtube, when you open a video, it will says that video can't be play in FireTV. To get around this, start the youtube video on your computer, then fling the tab to FireTV and it will work. I don't know why but that is how I make it work. It works fine for a few hours then it crashed and I have not been able to fling my Chrome tab anymore.

For the Window program, it found my FireTV and I was able to connect using my IP address. However, when i click the "Mirror" button, the app seems to launch and a black screen show up. If I play a video file, or go online to a website that has videos, sound will play through the FireTV but no picture show up, still only a black screen. I have tried this both on my desktop and my laptop. Both running window 7 64 bit up to date and got the exact same result.

Just a question, since your program does not work for my computers. What exactly does it suppose to do? Does it mirror the entire screen just like a 2nd monitor? I will be happy to provide any help or troubleshoot crash log. The app is very promising but needs a lot of work and tweak. Good job.
 
krawhitham
Old
#36  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 3
Posts: 16
Join Date: May 2014
Thought I'd give this another go since it had been updated, pretty much the same results

PC app has a 4 second delay and can not keep up with fast paced videos

My rig is a AMD fx-8350 4GHz, Radeon HD 6800, /w wired ethernet


Chrome addon can not find device
 
calvano915
Old
(Last edited by calvano915; 12th July 2014 at 10:37 PM.)
#37  
Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 36
Join Date: Jan 2009
Great casting app. The desktop mirroring doesn't work for me at all, just a blank screen. But the casting feature works great for a few test sites. The addon and desktop app both see my ftv fine (on same wifi network). I've had problems before with dlna/upnp visibility when I have one device wired and another wifi or other configs.

Running Windows 8.1 and latest FW on FTV.

Edit: Just after posting went to test again. Now the addon doesn't see the ftv. Please add IP address support to the addon as well so we don't have to depend on visibility/discovery. A device management option for the addon would be perfect where we can rename our devices and hard code their ip addresses. My reason for renaming is my FTV shows as "suppressed" and I'm assuming others would show up the same, making it difficult to know which is which. Thanks for your work so far though
 
Jboo
Old
#38  
Jboo's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 63
Join Date: Sep 2008
It is good concept but some bugs need to be worked out. Tried 3 websites so far and none of them worked including YouTube. The error I keep receiving on the tv from FTV is "Can't play this video". Also after awhile my chrome asked my to sign in again, which was weird. I'm going to uninstall this application until the bugs get worked out. I didn't really need the app, just thought it would be cool to test it out.
 
justin6162
Old
#39  
Member
Thanks Meter 6
Posts: 46
Join Date: Aug 2009
black screen only

Thread Tools
Display Modes