Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,424 Members 36,016 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Complete guide to rooting z1 compact

Tip us?
 
kushal_neov
Old
#1  
kushal_neov's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 133
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Delhi
Default Complete guide to rooting z1 compact

Can anyone tell me what is the correct process for rooting my z1 compact!!
The DoomLord's guide for rooted kernel says to get a TA backup first, TA backup guide says to get a root first, zxz0O0's guide for easy root tool asks for some tr.apk...What is going on 'round here!! >_<

Its probably noobish but PLEASE if somebody knows the correct procedure by which I get a rooted phone and also I'm able to get my phone's warranty back at will, please tell me..
Thanks a loads lot...
See that *THANKS* button on the left..ya ryt there...HIT IT
 
kushal_neov
Old
#3  
kushal_neov's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 133
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Delhi
Default error while running install.bat from z1cRoot_v1

Quote:
Originally Posted by zxz0O0 View Post
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2642081

Also, in the first post of Easy Root Tool thread no tr.apk is mentioned.
I'm attaching the screenshots of the error...please take a look..Thanks for the reply though..
Attached Files
File Type: zip ErrorScreenshots.zip - [Click for QR Code] (797.0 KB, 14 views)
See that *THANKS* button on the left..ya ryt there...HIT IT
 
kushal_neov
Old
(Last edited by kushal_neov; 30th June 2014 at 04:02 PM.)
#5  
kushal_neov's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 42
Posts: 133
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Delhi
Default Stuck again...Keeps waiting for the fone to be connected

Quote:
Originally Posted by zxz0O0 View Post
You should download Easy Root Tool v8 attachment (latest version)
It seemed to be working when the disaster struck...It keeps waiting for the device...I tried connecting it in mass storage and media transfer modes but of no use

EDIT:
Really sorry..forgot to install adb drivers..Rooted the fone without a hitch now..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Waiting for device.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	49.5 KB
ID:	2825609  
See that *THANKS* button on the left..ya ryt there...HIT IT
 
Klucznik1
Old
(Last edited by Klucznik1; 16th July 2014 at 02:40 PM.)
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jul 2014
Default Is everything wiped after root?

Hi Guys,

I need clarification/cofirmation here as I am in a spot of bother... Let's say that my Z1C was accidentally restored to factory settings and in the process I lost all contacts and messages.
I have now set out to try and retrieve them. After checking some software, which according to the developers, is capable of doing that it turns out that I should most certainly root the phone, otherwise the program(s) will not be able to search for this data (this information is virtually on every program's website).
Since my phone is still on warranty (and will be for some considerable time to come) I am not that eager to go all the way and unlock the bootloader. So my objective is to have root access with the bootloader locked. Now, I had a long read of the thread started by Darkimmortal on how to root Z1C without unlocking bootloader forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=2634196 and before I download gigabytes and take the plunge the milion dollar question is

DO I WIPE THE WHOLE PHONE IN THIS PROCESS?

I know that in the OP it says
Quote:
Take a full backup, as all phone memory INCLUDING INTERNAL SD will be wiped.
but then we have a catch22 situation - need root to recover data, rooting will wipe all data

So basically is there a way to root the phone without loosing the data I am after?
 
Iruwen
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 60
Posts: 215
Join Date: Dec 2012
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2784900
This doesn't wipe anything.
 
Klucznik1
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jul 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by Iruwen View Post
I was hoping there is a solution, thanks Iruwen! I'm onto it...
 
som3a14
Old
#9  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Jul 2013
Would the fastroot solution work for FW version 14.2.A.1.114?? I don't want to upgrade to KK and I don't know if the fastroot will work with this JB firmware.
 
ruleggr
Old
(Last edited by ruleggr; 17th July 2014 at 01:16 AM.)
#10  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jun 2014
This work for us:http://forum.xda-developers.com/xper...ot-z1-t2807092 This was the easiest root tool i ever used!!!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Flyme OS Finds Its Way to the Google Nexus 5

Flyme OS is a heavily modified Android variantdeveloped by the Meizu team for their MX … more

MultiROM Makes Its Way to the LG G2

Over the last few weeks, we’ve seen quite a fewflagship (and former flagship) devicesget to … more

Jair Player with a Major Update–Here’s What’s New!

Back in May, we talked a bit aboutJair Player, a nice looking music … more