Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,809,465 Members 37,218 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Spell Checker

Tip us?
 
1221ross1221
Old
#1  
1221ross1221's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 5
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Adelaide
Default [Q] Spell Checker

Hello i was wondering if anyone would be able to help me enable spell checker on the s5. (not autocorrect or predictive text on the keyboard).

I know other people have been able to do it on previous versions of the galaxy and also on the note, By editing Secsettings.apk & framework2.jar, such as in this following link: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=34856343
Now i am not sure if it would be as simple as this, but i am sure someone on here would be able to enable the spell checker on our s5. If this is all it involves i am able to compile and decompile these two things and edit them myself, but i am pretty sure these files have changed due to the new 4.4.2 touchwiz on the s5.
If it was possible to create a flashable zip file that would edit the certain files or apps needed, that would be helpful and lot easier for a lot of people out there. But i am not sure if that's possible.

I am sure im not the only out there that would like this feature on our new s5, so you would be helping a few of us out.

anyone that would be able to give me some insight or would be able to do this, it would be much appreciated. cheers.
The Following User Says Thank You to 1221ross1221 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Rulesless
Old
(Last edited by Rulesless; 17th July 2014 at 08:33 PM.) Reason: Details added
#2  
Rulesless's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 9
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Bari
Thumbs up [SOLVED]

With this guide http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...2543967&page=4 and this one http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2251719 I modified framework2.jar (in system/framework folder)
SecSettings.apk is in system/priv-app for S5.
Do not forget to set the correct permissions of files after copy in system memory.
Menu was enabled, but no RED UNDERLINE appear for errors (with google keyboard installed and all options checked).
The Mod is in this way useless!

It fully run only in ART runtime. (Why??)

.
The Following User Says Thank You to Rulesless For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Rulesless
Old
#3  
Rulesless's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 9
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Bari
Have you tried?

.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes