Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Enabling App ops M8

OP Bhodi

16th July 2014, 11:33 AM   |  #11  
fulishone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybones

It's actually much more simple, I am in bed but tmw I'll post the edit needed. It's adding a string and adding some code to the security setting header .xml
(Feel free to compare against mine until I post the edits)




Edit:

These two edit's will have it show up in settings > security (although, you can put it in any header .xml you choose, really)

Add this to (go to the bottom of the .xml and add it there) res/values/strings.xml

Code:
<string name="app_ops_settings_summary">Manage app permissions</string>
(feel free to change this to your liking, "Manage app ops" Manage App Permissions", etc)

Add this to res/xml/security_settings_misc.xml

Code:
<Preference android:title="@string/app_ops_settings" android:key="app_ops_summary" android:summary="@string/app_ops_settings_summary" android:fragment="com.android.settings.applications.AppOpsSummary" />

Did that on my M7 and couldn't access Settings-Security anymore afterwards. Kept getting Prozess stopped
16th July 2014, 01:56 PM   |  #12  
andybones's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Upstate NY
Thanks Meter: 9,388
 
9,627 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fulishone

Did that on my M7 and couldn't access Settings-Security anymore afterwards. Kept getting Prozess stopped

no fault of my own..
this is for the M8.
The Following User Says Thank You to andybones For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th July 2014, 03:08 PM   |  #13  
fulishone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybones

no fault of my own..
this is for the M8.

Is the procedure different for the M7?
16th July 2014, 03:49 PM   |  #14  
andybones's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Upstate NY
Thanks Meter: 9,388
 
9,627 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fulishone

Is the procedure different for the M7?

Yes, means you messed up somewhere..
upload it here I'll edit it for you, all i ask is you thank my post.
The Following User Says Thank You to andybones For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th July 2014, 03:59 PM   |  #15  
fulishone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybones

Yes, means you messed up somewhere..
upload it here I'll edit it for you, all i ask is you thank my post.

Hi andybones, thank you for the effort. Attached you will find the file. Would it be possible to make AppsOps show in Settings directly underneath Apps?

Best regards
Attached Files
File Type: apk Settings.apk - [Click for QR Code] (6.80 MB, 3 views)
16th July 2014, 09:39 PM   |  #16  
andybones's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Upstate NY
Thanks Meter: 9,388
 
9,627 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by fulishone

Hi andybones, thank you for the effort. Attached you will find the file. Would it be possible to make AppsOps show in Settings directly underneath Apps?

Best regards

Sorry, the procure is the same for M7/M8, I don't know why I said they weren't.
You were most likely doing the part that is quoted above, but you also need to add text into res/strings.xml for the text that shows up.
I don't see "Apps" in Settings, do you mean in the Settings Menu under "App manager"? It's possible, yes - but far more work than this simple MOD.
This should work fine, install how ever your feel fit.
I suggest in a flashable.zip flashed in custom recovery.
AppOps should now be found in Settings > Security.

Also it seems but no smali in the code, that you are running an odex stock ROM?
This could be the issue if it doesn't work. but it should work just fine.
Attached Files
File Type: apk Settings.apk - [Click for QR Code] (7.25 MB, 8 views)
Last edited by andybones; 16th July 2014 at 09:41 PM.
17th July 2014, 11:29 AM   |  #17  
fulishone's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 65
 
230 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by andybones

Sorry, the procure is the same for M7/M8, I don't know why I said they weren't.
You were most likely doing the part that is quoted above, but you also need to add text into res/strings.xml for the text that shows up.
I don't see "Apps" in Settings, do you mean in the Settings Menu under "App manager"? It's possible, yes - but far more work than this simple MOD.
This should work fine, install how ever your feel fit.
I suggest in a flashable.zip flashed in custom recovery.
AppOps should now be found in Settings > Security.

Also it seems but no smali in the code, that you are running an odex stock ROM?
This could be the issue if it doesn't work. but it should work just fine.

Yes, I suppose something went wrong when trying to deodex the rom. Was my first try and I am not sure I did everything correctly. Any advise?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes