Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Installing Google Play edition on A&T m8?

OP robjbw

21st June 2014, 12:43 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
119 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
Hi. I have a AT&T HTC One m8 with an unlocked bootloader and s-off. Question I have is: To be able to use the Google Play Edition ROM, do I have to convert my AT&T m8 to that or can I just install the Rom like any other ROM in with a custom recovery? Thanks

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
21st June 2014, 12:50 AM   |  #2  
an0ther's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 216
 
594 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Just install the Rom. No need to convert.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to an0ther For This Useful Post: [ View ]
23rd June 2014, 05:39 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Mobile, AL
Thanks Meter: 56
 
320 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
Changing to GPE is easy, going back, not so much.
23rd June 2014, 06:21 PM   |  #4  
an0ther's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 216
 
594 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by hack14u

Changing to GPE is easy, going back, not so much.

That is only of he converts. Flashing a Rom will not make a difference.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
26th June 2014, 06:26 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Mobile, AL
Thanks Meter: 56
 
320 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
More
I have converted, and I WISH there was a way to go back. I HAVE TRIED everything and nothing works.
26th June 2014, 04:29 PM   |  #6  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,360
 
7,739 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by hack14u

I have converted, and I WISH there was a way to go back. I HAVE TRIED everything and nothing works.

Obviously you have not "tried everything" based on the thread you created: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2795256

A pet peeve of mine when folks on here say they have "tried everything". Not only is this virtually guaranteed to be false; but it also doesn't actually tell us what you did try (making it difficult to offer any help).
18th July 2014, 11:06 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
So we don't have to convert to GPE in order to use the GPE custom Rom right?

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
18th July 2014, 03:20 PM   |  #8  
redpoint73's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,360
 
7,739 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4thosenjesuschrist

So we don't have to convert to GPE in order to use the GPE custom Rom right?

No, you do not need to do the full conversion, as was already answered in Post #2 above.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes