Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,810,537 Members 49,494 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

photon q unlocking have got questions

Tip us?
 
Morecrabs
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jan 2014
Default photon q unlocking have got questions

id like to say iI solved both issues from the previous thread, battery had a small tear in the ribbon causing intermittent connection issues so here's the questions
1. I plan on doing the sim card mod to this unit and was wondering how the mod functioned in the states and what software/boot loader unlocking and or carrier unlocking can be done to accomplish this?

2. I attempted to unlock the boot loader last night and the Motorola website claims the unit is not unlockable the phone is from sprint and it is a photon q late, anyone else have unlocking issues?

3. I am no stranger to hardware modding, but am a ccomparative noob when it comes to boot loader unlocker and or carrier unlocking so advice in this area would be helpful as well, are they different or the same thing?
i
 
brandontowey
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 57
Posts: 156
Join Date: Mar 2009
Quote:
2. I attempted to unlock the boot loader last night and the Motorola website claims the unit is not unlockable the phone is from sprint and it is a photon q late, anyone else have unlocking issues?
This is the only thing I can legitimately comment on. I just unlocked my replacement Photon and it took about 7 times of entering the adb id code into the Motorola site to actually get it right. :

- The fact that there are around 22 0's in a row doesn't help, double check your entry a few
- omit anything that isn't a single letter, number, etc (can't remember if they use symbols). The [info] or I think [bootloader] before each line, any spaces, etc.
- save your id and the email with your unlock code. Not sure if you'll need it but you never know
 
niko99
Old
#3  
niko99's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 137
Posts: 310
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morecrabs View Post
2. I attempted to unlock the boot loader last night and the Motorola website claims the unit is not unlockable the phone is from sprint and it is a photon q late, anyone else have unlocking issues?
i got that same before, i ty many times and allways without success, but there is a motorola unlocking tool http://phandroid.com/2013/04/09/moto...ader-unlock-2/ (download link on the bottom)

you must have root , unknow surces checked on and phone in debuging mode after you press run.bat from unziped file

regards
Using a own Droid 3 rom called DROM
http://forum.android.com.pl/showthread.php?t=158868
 
Morecrabs
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jan 2014
ok so i was able to acheive root, Fixed the bump shutoffs and fixed the fastboot dropping out issues, and actually managed to unlock the bootloader but now im planning on doing the Cornholio's sim card mod and want to know what software should be flashed b4 i mod the sim slot to flush out the old sprint garabage, also i noticed Cornholio mentioned that the "NV" needed editing to make the unit useable on GSM in the USA networks soo any further info would be very helpful
 
Morecrabs
Old
(Last edited by Morecrabs; 30th January 2014 at 04:25 AM.)
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 5
Posts: 28
Join Date: Jan 2014
ok so i messed something up, got cmrcovery installed, an attempted to flash a custom rom, and well, it didnt work, it aborted half way though the installation and left me kinda cold, I can boot into CWM recovery but thats about it soo since this is my first attempt at all this I could use alil direction on how to correct this lil fubar anyone got any Advice?

Edit So phones now fixxed and booting again, Have Cwm version 6013 got the Stable version of cwm and the rom installed correctly and booted So heres the Question Of the Day, how Do i Edit the NV to get this sucker Usable On USA GSM NEtworks?
 
Ryant-182
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Dec 2013
Same question! i have the hard mod and software mod done but it need to NV edit so that i can have it work on gsm networks with at&t.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Morecrabs View Post
ok so i messed something up, got cmrcovery installed, an attempted to flash a custom rom, and well, it didnt work, it aborted half way though the installation and left me kinda cold, I can boot into CWM recovery but thats about it soo since this is my first attempt at all this I could use alil direction on how to correct this lil fubar anyone got any Advice?

Edit So phones now fixxed and booting again, Have Cwm version 6013 got the Stable version of cwm and the rom installed correctly and booted So heres the Question Of the Day, how Do i Edit the NV to get this sucker Usable On USA GSM NEtworks?
 
arrrghhh
Old
#7  
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3,534
Posts: 11,187
Join Date: Feb 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryant-182 View Post
Same question! i have the hard mod and software mod done but it need to NV edit so that i can have it work on gsm networks with at&t.
You created a thread specifically for this question, which I answered. Why are you posting the same question in other threads?
 
Ryant-182
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 12
Join Date: Dec 2013
the answere you gave me was for a different phone, after looking around alot of people were saying it would not work on photon and would brick the phone, I wanted to look around and get other people's advice. Thank you for the answer, if i cant find any other option i will try that method regurdless of risk.
Quote:
Originally Posted by arrrghhh View Post
You created a thread specifically for this question, which I answered. Why are you posting the same question in other threads?
 
kabaldan
Old
#9  
kabaldan's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3,241
Posts: 1,388
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Prague

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ryant-182 View Post
the answere you gave me was for a different phone, after looking around alot of people were saying it would not work on photon and would brick the phone, I wanted to look around and get other people's advice. Thank you for the answer, if i cant find any other option i will try that method regurdless of risk.
If someone says that NV item 8322 edit does not work to enable US GSM network usage on Photon 4G (MB855 - NVIDIA Tegra 2 based device), then he's right.

But in the case of Photon Q 4G LTE (XT897 - Qualcomm MSM8960 based device), which is relevant in this forum, the NV item 8322 edit indeed works.
It has been already confirmed by numerous posts in here.
All Motorola MSM8960 devices introduced in 2012 are very similar and the NV item 8322 edit is proved to be the way to unlock the access to US GSM networks on all US carrier specific moto_msm8960 models. Photon Q is no exception in this regard.
The Following User Says Thank You to kabaldan For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Skrilax_CZ
Old
#10  
Skrilax_CZ's Avatar
Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 1,345
Posts: 898
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Prague

 
DONATE TO ME
You also need to use fsg.mbn from Atrix HD, older 4.1.1. Otherwise it will not work. Then in QPST you have to disable automated switch to CDMA. Tested personally & working.
PRIVATE MESSAGES regarding firmwares / support will NOT BE ANSWERED!

Motorola Photon Q
Bootloader: 10.9B
Firmware: CM 11.0

Motorola Droid MAXX
Bootloader: 30.B0
Firmware: Stock 4.4

Acer Iconia A500
Bootloader: V9 0.03.14-MUL (dualboot + recovery + extfs boot + bootmenu)
Android: TegraOwnders JB-MR1 v13
LUbuntu: 13.04


2nd-init for Locked Bootloaders

Acer Iconia A500 / A501 Patched Bootloader Thread

Motorola Phones Stock Firmwares

You may donate me if you like my work.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes