Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,728,429 Members 54,293 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum
Announcement from BeansTown106: Insecure Modules / Selinux Permissive FTW

★ [ROM/ROOT][N900VVRUCNC4][4.4.2] Stock Root DeOdex [06/18/14] NC2/NC4/DevEd COMPATIBLE ★ Insecure Modules/Selinux Permissive ON NC4 Bootloader!! ★

Tip us?
 
screwedbyexisten
Old
#261  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Dec 2009
Hey guys,
just curious if I will lose the ability to go back to MJE by flashing this? I couldn't find a direct answer to that.

thanks!
James
 
bmwh0r3
Old
#262  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 120
Posts: 343
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: pa
Quote:
Originally Posted by screwedbyexisten View Post
Hey guys,
just curious if I will lose the ability to go back to MJE by flashing this? I couldn't find a direct answer to that.

thanks!
James
You can go back to mje as long as you don't take the ota(keeping the nc2 kernal). The nc2 kernal is what allows us to revert to mje.

Sent from what an iPhone wishes it could be.
The Following User Says Thank You to bmwh0r3 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
LeftyGR
Old
#263  
LeftyGR's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 550
Posts: 975
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bloomington, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by bmwh0r3 View Post
You can go back to mje as long as you don't take the ota(keeping the nc2 kernal). The nc2 kernal is what allows us to revert to mje.

Sent from what an iPhone wishes it could be.
Close! The nc2 bootloader is not incremented from mje's, which is what allows us to revert. You can rock the nc4 kernel, if you really want to. Just can't roll back bootloaders from nc4, which prevents going back to nc2 or any jb rom.
I will not apologize for art.

 
screwedbyexisten
Old
(Last edited by screwedbyexisten; Today at 02:06 AM.)
#264  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Dec 2009
Is there any major reason we would want to go to the NC4 kernel?

screwedbyexisten

Sent from my SM-N900V using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
jrbxx7
Old
(Last edited by jrbxx7; Today at 02:03 AM.)
#265  
jrbxx7's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1030
Posts: 1,810
Join Date: Nov 2011

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by screwedbyexisten View Post
Is there any major reason we would want to go to the NC4 kernel?

James

Sent from my SM-N900V using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
No even the nc4 (bootloader) users have to flash the nc2 kernel for custom roms to boot. They didn't blacklist the kernal so it can be flashed on nc4. However once the nc4 bootloader is flashed then u r stuck on nc4 bootloader. With nc2 bootloader u can go back to mje. So if ur on mje or nc2 stay away from nc4 bootloader.... nc4 rom base and modem are ok to use

TaPpEd from my XpOsEd 4.4.2 NIII
 
LeftyGR
Old
#266  
LeftyGR's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 550
Posts: 975
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bloomington, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by screwedbyexisten View Post
Is there any major reason we would want to go to the NC4 kernel?

James

Sent from my SM-N900V using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
Eh. Everyone has differing results with kernels and their devices. I personally run the mje kernel on a stock nc4 based rom, because I get better overall signal with it @ home and work over the others...
I will not apologize for art.

 
kvirus11
Old
#267  
kvirus11's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 197
Posts: 359
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Somewhere in Time, MI
OK guys,

I hate to beat a dead horse, but I am frustratingly stuck...

I'm trying to update to the n4 modem and I'm lost...step 5 and coming from n2

Do you use Odin on the pc or flash from download mode in boot options on twrp in SS?

I rarely use odin period so I think I'm over analyzing this...

Any quick advice?
 
LeftyGR
Old
#268  
LeftyGR's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 550
Posts: 975
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Bloomington, IL
Quote:
Originally Posted by kvirus11 View Post
OK guys,

I hate to beat a dead horse, but I am frustratingly stuck...

I'm trying to update to the n4 modem and I'm lost...step 5 and coming from n2

Do you use Odin on the pc or flash from download mode in boot options on twrp in SS?

I rarely use odin period so I think I'm over analyzing this...

Any quick advice?
The modem package is flashed in odin. Just put into the same slot as you would full firmware. Oh, once you download it you'll have to upzip it. The file inside the .zip is what odin installs.
I will not apologize for art.

The Following User Says Thank You to LeftyGR For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kvirus11
Old
(Last edited by kvirus11; Today at 03:50 AM.)
#269  
kvirus11's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 197
Posts: 359
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Somewhere in Time, MI
Quote:
Originally Posted by LeftyGR View Post
The modem package is flashed in odin. Just put into the same slot as you would full firmware. Oh, once you download it you'll have to upzip it. The file inside the .zip is what odin installs.
I guess I got confused with step 5. I never flash any of this connected to the pc so all the odin install I assumed was done via twrp while in safestrap.

So I need to re-install odin on my pc

Growl


Thanks for the insight.


Ok so I downloaded the tar for the update and its not unzipable...

Now I'm back to lost...

I got iy...forgot it had to go in AP slot and let it run..

Sorry guys.

The Following User Says Thank You to kvirus11 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes