FORUMS

Xposed 3.0 Alpha 3 Released

A new alpha for the Xposed framework is out and brings several bug fixes. You’ll only need to flash … more

XDA Recap: This Week In Android (Apr 18 – 25)

Here in the digital XDA newsroom, we spend our days pouring over an average of … more

Sunday Debate: Custom ROMs vs. Modular Tweaks

Join us in a fun Sunday Debate on Mods and ROMs. Come with your opinions and feel free to … more

AOSP 5.1 Lollipop for Nexus Q

Google Nexus Q is an intriguing device released with Android 4.0 Ice Cream Sandwich. It was abandoned by … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

New radio in latest OTA?

29th May 2014, 12:58 PM |#1  
1BadHEMI's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Pasadena
Thanks Meter: 89
 
More
Has anyone else had pretty piss poor reception with the new radio? Ever since updating, mine and my wife's phones get poor signal. Where we use to get awesome signal, now there is either weak or none.

I also notice a lot of times where it shows I have full service, LTE status is shown, but when accessing data it just sits there doing nothing.

Anyone else noticing this?

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
 
 
29th May 2014, 01:50 PM |#2  
Jdom58's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag South Florida
Thanks Meter: 246
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1BadHEMI

Has anyone else had pretty piss poor reception with the new radio? Ever since updating, mine and my wife's phones get poor signal. Where we use to get awesome signal, now there is either weak or none.

I also notice a lot of times where it shows I have full service, LTE status is shown, but when accessing data it just sits there doing nothing.

Anyone else noticing this?

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

It's been the other way around for me, I was getting horrible results with the 1.14 radio to the point where people would have intermittent transmission from me and would complain that my voice kept cutting out even with 4 full signal bars and I heard them just fine. The 1.16 radio has fixed that problem for me 100%.
1st June 2014, 11:20 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
More
Is it possible to downgrade just the radio?
For me, I noticed that my phone constantly drops my data, it goes from 5 bars LTE to just 5 bars, no LTE logo (therefore no data) then an x in place of LTE with 5 bars, then 3G, H and back to LTE.

I'm s-off and rather go back to old radio or firmware.
5th June 2014, 01:32 AM |#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nysoprano

Is it possible to downgrade just the radio?
For me, I noticed that my phone constantly drops my data, it goes from 5 bars LTE to just 5 bars, no LTE logo (therefore no data) then an x in place of LTE with 5 bars, then 3G, H and back to LTE.

I'm s-off and rather go back to old radio or firmware.

To the best of my understanding, as long as you're s-off and have a flashable version of the radio then yeah, you should be able to do so.
9th June 2014, 05:33 PM |#5  
tbgreen89's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 25
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1BadHEMI

Has anyone else had pretty piss poor reception with the new radio? Ever since updating, mine and my wife's phones get poor signal. Where we use to get awesome signal, now there is either weak or none.

I also notice a lot of times where it shows I have full service, LTE status is shown, but when accessing data it just sits there doing nothing.

Anyone else noticing this?

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk

Same here. But it's been not so good on both versions. Mine likes to switch from 2g, 4g and lte for no reason all the time. Even in places where I know I have strong lte reception. Also same here with the data not working even though it shows I have service. But I am getting a replacement device today cause my current one the power button broke. So I'm gonna go activate the new one and see if T-Mobile will replace the SIM card as well.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
18th June 2014, 06:06 PM |#6  
deepsouth06's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag McAllen, Tx
Thanks Meter: 28
 
More
What is the news radio number.
18th June 2014, 07:10 PM |#7  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter: 33
 
More
Since you are S-OFF, try the GPE radio, I get much better results with it.
22nd July 2014, 04:12 AM |#8  
treIII's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 503
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir-Fix-a-Lot

Since you are S-OFF, try the GPE radio, I get much better results with it.

Where would I get this radio? And are you speaking of using it on a sense based rom?

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Xparent Blue Tapatalk 2
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes