Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Lean Mean Battery Power Saving App Review

We talk a lot about battery topics here at XDA TV. We talk about everything from Power Banks to USB … more

Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Galaxy S5 3G to LTE Hand Off Issues

OP atg284

19th April 2014, 10:43 PM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
104 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
I don't have this issue, however on one occasion at work I lost 4g signal which is usually at 2 bars, and it sat there and didnt connect to 4g again until I did airplane mode, then it came back fine. But this is the one and only time I have had the issue.
21st April 2014, 06:43 PM   |  #12  
evilbeef54's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 80
 
301 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2008
this is a sprint issue

you need to wait until they finialy decide to update their towers to handle the new triband phones, they claim they will be done with all the updates by the middle of the summer, i got sick out their sub-par coverage and took all my lines over to verizon... no regrets

details about their issues are here, it is a long read but good:

http://s4gru.com/index.php?%2Fblog%2...-technology%2F
12th June 2014, 02:15 AM   |  #13  
Junior Member
Flag Long Island, NY
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2007
More
Unhappy S5 LTE Hand-off Loss of Signal
I'm a Sprint customer on Long Island, New York and I've been having the issues as well. I had to deactivate the S5 because it would lose data and even phone service sporadically without any warning. Sprint's solution is to go into Airplane mode for 5 minutes then back, but that's 5 minutes without service after noticing that the service is gone (and losing how many calls/messages). My girlfriend has one too and probably misses about half her calls (and texts come in late constantly) What happens in an emergency? I recently blogged about this. Isn't Sprint opening themselves up to liability by selling the phones while these issues are known internally?
22nd July 2014, 10:27 AM   |  #14  
Anders6's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Brøndby Strand
Thanks Meter: 2
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Im in Denmark too, and i have the problem with Telenor, but did not have the problem with Telia, unfortunately i have to stay with telenor, work phone
Quote:
Originally Posted by CalInTheZone

Think it's an issue with your provider, I've tried LTE/3G with four different providers here in Denmark without any problems.

22nd July 2014, 11:13 AM   |  #15  
fffft's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 621
 
1,978 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by atg284

Does anyone NOT have an issue with their phone going from 3G to LTE then back again. A lot of people


You didn't do a forum search or you would already know that it doesn't affect everyone. There are myriad threads about this and the concensus is that it is carrier dependent.

Open a support ticket with your carrier. Also, the 4.4.3 update is said to address this bug, so that is something that you might want to look into.

.
22nd July 2014, 11:35 AM   |  #16  
Anders6's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag Brøndby Strand
Thanks Meter: 2
 
19 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Thumbs up
Just a little update, put on download booster, and after that no problems whit disconnect from network, will see later when i leave home to see what happens then.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes