Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Chromecast Apps that Cause Force Close on G3 ROMs

OP kashk5

30th June 2014, 05:49 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
118 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2006
On the G3 ROMs, when you are casting to the Chromecast, some apps are causing a Force Close when you pull down on the notification bar. I've compiled a list to indicate which apps will result in a Force Close, and which ones will work as normal.

Apps That Work Without Any Problems

AllCast
Photos
  • Casting photos works
  • No problem when pulling down notification bar
Videos
  • Sound is garbled on videos taken with camera; will have to test other videos
  • No problem when pulling down notification bar

Dayframe
  • Casting photos works
  • No problem when pulling down notification bar

Dehumanize Your Friends
  • Casting game works
  • No problem when pulling down notification bar

Netflix
  • Casting videos works
  • No problem when pulling down notification bar

Google+ Photos
  • Casting online photos works
  • No problem when pulling down notification bar

Plex
  • Casting videos works
  • No problem when pulling down notification bar

Apps That Result in a Force Close

Google Play Music
  • Casting online music works
  • Force close when pulling down notification bar

PocketCasts
  • Casting podcasts works
  • Force close when pulling down notification bar

YouTube
  • Casting videos works
  • Force close when pulling down notification bar

Of course, this is not an exhaustive list. Please let me know if you've tested other apps and I'll update this post.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to kashk5 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th June 2014, 06:18 PM   |  #2  
Ahlbrink's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
13 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Interestingly the force closes happen in this Rom and the cloudy pro Rom, but not in stock. In a lot Samsung device are fc too. Any idea?

Gesendet von meinem LG-D802 mit Tapatalk
30th June 2014, 06:46 PM   |  #3  
farhanito's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 223
 
868 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Cloudyflex also suffers the same issue.

Just to be clear, it's SystemUI.apk that is FC-ing. Endless FC loops. Only reboot can help.

Back to topic,
LocalCast app - > FC
Yatse - > works fine


EDIT

so apparently casting pictures won't trigger the FC, but videos and music will..
Somebody at Google+ managed to get a logcat about this problem

Quote:

The following were the error i got in the logcat.
java.lang.RuntimeException: Error receiving broadcast Intent { act=android.media.VOLUME_CHANGED_ACTION flg=0x10 (has extras) } in com.android.systemui.statusbar
I don't know whether it is relevant to ask in this community. But any help is much appreciated.*

Any ideas?
Last edited by farhanito; 30th June 2014 at 07:20 PM.
30th June 2014, 11:47 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 30
 
217 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by farhanito

Cloudyflex also suffers the same issue.

Just to be clear, it's SystemUI.apk that is FC-ing. Endless FC loops. Only reboot can help.

Back to topic,
LocalCast app - > FC
Yatse - > works fine


EDIT

so apparently casting pictures won't trigger the FC, but videos and music will..
Somebody at Google+ managed to get a logcat about this problem



Any ideas?

Hopefully Optimus can figure it out as I use localcast a lot on my phone.
4th July 2014, 01:13 PM   |  #5  
farhanito's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 223
 
868 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Decided to go back to stock G2 KitKat. No issues with chromecast.
6th July 2014, 01:34 AM   |  #6  
angel7501@live.com's Avatar
Senior Member
San Juan, PR
Thanks Meter: 92
 
228 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
Add to the list of apps that dont work "Web Video Caster". Plays the videos but as soon as you pull the notifications, Systemui goes in an FC craze
12th July 2014, 09:11 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
2 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by farhanito

Decided to go back to stock G2 KitKat. No issues with chromecast.

Hi farhanito.just a short question.how to go back to stock g2 from cloudy g3? Thx.
12th July 2014, 09:43 AM   |  #8  
farhanito's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jakarta
Thanks Meter: 223
 
868 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Four-Color-Pen

Hi farhanito.just a short question.how to go back to stock g2 from cloudy g3? Thx.

Actually I'm using Bruce's ROM, which is based on stock.

Anyway, there's already a fix for this issue now.. needs xposed framework though

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=54082320
Last edited by farhanito; 12th July 2014 at 09:46 AM.
22nd July 2014, 09:00 PM   |  #9  
Member
Flag Velika Gorica
Thanks Meter: 0
 
74 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
Donate to Me
More
I have this issue on the stock V10a-EUR firmware. Can somebody with the same firmware confirm? Now V10e is out maybe it solves this issue.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes