Micromax Takes OnePlus to Court! Android Wear Receives Lollipop – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop is available officially for the Moto 360! … more

Google Invites Selected Devs to Buy Project Tango Development Kit

Just about a month ago, the curious Project Tango development kit was … more

YU Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

GPS SatNav Failure

OP gavinfabl

17th April 2014, 04:42 AM   |  #11  
gavinfabl's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dartmoor
Thanks Meter: 478
 
1,805 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brava27

I didn't know people who prefer not to root actually use XDA.

I'm not adversed to anythng BUT I have just bought a 500 plus phone. I would rather not void a warranty yet.... also some of my apps won't work on a rooted device.
17th April 2014, 08:01 AM   |  #12  
Account currently disabled
Flag Dhaka
Thanks Meter: 23
 
384 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
I have no problem on my phone. all is ok.
17th April 2014, 12:08 PM   |  #13  
Senior Member
Flag Hampton
Thanks Meter: 1,213
 
2,310 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
Donate to Me
More
GPS has been the best I've ever experienced on a smartphone. Locks quickly and accurately and the only device ever to get a decent lock inside my concrete flat.

However, yesterday the GPS failed completely whilst driving with clear view of the sky. A reboot fixed it and it was then rock solid again.

That's the only time it's done it in about a week since owning it with about 20 hours driving with it.

I'm hoping that means it's a software issue somewhere.


Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
Last edited by stuart0001; 17th April 2014 at 12:10 PM.
15th June 2014, 05:10 PM   |  #14  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2006
Service
Quote:
Originally Posted by gavinfabl

I have found the first real issue with the M8.

The GPS fails during navigation and cannot get proper lock. That meant it kept trying to recalculate routes etc...

My friends have also had same issue.

Location settings were set on the best option too. Full mobile signal and internet as well.

I can confirm that my GPS nav has been broken for about a month or more, using Waze and Google Maps

The latest System update released on 6/15/2014 has resolved the issue
15th June 2014, 05:16 PM   |  #15  
gavinfabl's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Dartmoor
Thanks Meter: 478
 
1,805 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eniac

I can confirm that my GPS nav has been broken for about a month or more, using Waze and Google Maps

The latest System update released on 6/15/2014 has resolved the issue

Thanks for update. That's good news.
15th June 2014, 09:40 PM   |  #16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 48
 
302 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by grentuu

Using with Co-Pilot Premium and works great. Locks on quickly and stays on. No problems at all.

Yep gonna agree works perfect with copilot. Also better than sygic imo. I also wouldn't bother with Google navigation. Better to use an offline satnav app.
16th June 2014, 08:41 AM   |  #17  
xda890's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 52
 
652 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2007
More
I have this problem too... Doesn't seem to matter which app one are using, it also happens with my golf app... And the only way to fix it, is to reboot the phone.. This is really annoying...
It seems to be related to bluetooth use... If I use BT to play music/listen to audiobook at the same time as I use the navigation app, then I have this problem.. If I turn off the BT, then the problem does not seem to appear... I am saying seem to, because it seems to be random when this occurs so not 100% sure that turning off BT fixes the problem but so far I have not had this problem when BT is off..
I also thought this was fixed in the latest update but yesterday it happend again....
19th July 2014, 08:54 PM   |  #18  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by gavinfabl

Thanks for update. That's good news.

Do you still have GPS issues?

My G-900F cannot find any satellites at all. Think it might be a hardware problem I have
23rd July 2014, 06:20 AM   |  #19  
Senior Member
New Braunfels, TX
Thanks Meter: 38
 
220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2006
Yes, I have the issue on my replacement phone. I have to reboot in order to use GPS...
23rd July 2014, 10:26 AM   |  #20  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
25 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by jeffreycentex

Yes, I have the issue on my replacement phone. I have to reboot in order to use GPS...

I contacted samsung & was told to take it to a service centre. They had to send it back direct to samsung for repair, will take 10 working days

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes