Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,737,173 Members 41,647 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

OTA updates variables

Tip us?
 
nkk71
Old
#21  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2710
Posts: 5,481
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by -marco- View Post
ok i just realized that it's not installing any update !
everytime it just reboots and notifies there is a new update, but it's always the same!!! What's going on?!?!
is it entering stock recovery, then turning into a red triangle? (or what is actually happening?)
 
-marco-
Old
#22  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 102
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
is it entering stock recovery, then turning into a red triangle? (or what is actually happening?)
- downloads the update
- i press install
- it reboots
- shows the loading bar of the installation
- at some point it shows the red triangle
- reboots and the system is not updated.
 
nkk71
Old
#23  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2710
Posts: 5,481
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by -marco- View Post
- downloads the update
- i press install
- it reboots
- shows the loading bar of the installation
- at some point it shows the red triangle
- reboots and the system is not updated.
when in stock recovery press POWER + VOLUP (you need to try a couple times to get the timing right), for it to show the "progress" and which assert is failing.... seems something isn't 100% stock in your current setup
The Following User Says Thank You to nkk71 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
-marco-
Old
#24  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 102
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
when in stock recovery press POWER + VOLUP (you need to try a couple times to get the timing right), for it to show the "progress" and which assert is failing.... seems something isn't 100% stock in your current setup
nothing, it bricked somehow.
i went to restore the nandroid completely and crashed the system.

now im trying to reflash the previous rom and maybe tomorrow i may start from scratch.
 
nkk71
Old
#25  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2710
Posts: 5,481
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by -marco- View Post
nothing, it bricked somehow.
i went to restore the nandroid completely and crashed the system.

now im trying to reflash the previous rom and maybe tomorrow i may start from scratch.
as long as you have bootloader and recovery you're not bricked.

Good Luck
 
-marco-
Old
(Last edited by -marco-; 5th June 2014 at 08:39 AM.)
#26  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 102
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Singapore
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
as long as you have bootloader and recovery you're not bricked.

Good Luck
I dont understand how's it possible that my SDCARD part was completely wiped with everything in it....
is there an app that can scrape the internal sd card and restore whatever can be saved from the DCIM folder ?
 
abhyuditjain
Old
#27  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 13
Join Date: Oct 2013
You know OTA doesn't work after unlocking bootloader as it deletes certain apps like flashlight, calculator etc. It checks md5.

Sent from my HTC One using Tapatalk
 
wxiao
Old
#28  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 7
Join Date: Jul 2013
Can I ask a related question? If my phone is already running the latest custom ROM with 4.4.2 and sense 6, etc, what is the benefit of doing the OTA update? Or is there?
 
MsDosExe
Old
(Last edited by MsDosExe; 23rd July 2014 at 07:33 AM.)
#29  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 12
Join Date: Dec 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
is it entering stock recovery, then turning into a red triangle? (or what is actually happening?)
I'm trying to update to 6.07.1540.1 and everytime exactly this happens to me (not going into stock recovery, but TWPR recovery) and nothing updates.
I updated to 5.11.1540.9 previously, stock rom and no custom kernel neither.

Any help would be appreciated.
 
Polarbert
Old
#30  
Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 98
Join Date: May 2012
Location: San Diego
Quote:
Originally Posted by wxiao View Post
Can I ask a related question? If my phone is already running the latest custom ROM with 4.4.2 and sense 6, etc, what is the benefit of doing the OTA update? Or is there?
As far as I know, the OTA official update from the carrier would update things like the firmware and bootloader if need be. You have to do those things manually on a custom ROM, as they don't do that by default.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes